We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R/R over night stay!”
Review of Rydges Geelong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Geelong
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“R/R over night stay!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had an overnight stay to enjoy a dinner together. Location is good, its quiet the rooms are clean but dated and tired. The staff are helpful and attentive. I dont get the on site car park charge. That's ridiculous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JVanStav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear JVanStav.

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate all feedback as it with this we can better serve our guests.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Phil O'Brien
General Manager
Mercure Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    570
    338
    113
    37
See reviews for
359
440
95
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in May on business. Not a bad place, room was clean and spacious. Some parts of the hotel felt quite tired and dated, other parts seemed newer.
Food in the restaurant was quite nice and breakfast I thought was also quite good too.
I find having to pay for parking a little saucy if going by the location, I can sort of understand charging in the city centre of major cities but not in smaller towns/cities. Staff were very friendly in all areas of the hotel.
The bar area is a big let down, reminded me of a hostel feel when I was backpacking many years ago. Not a nice bar for a big hotel.
The reason I would give it an average oppose to a very good is well the price you pay to stay isnt exactly cheap so you should expect this standard as minimum. All in all not a bad place to stay as a passer through, not sure id overly love it as a holiday destination (both hotel and city)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear TheTravellingAnt.

Thank you for your recent stay and the feedback.

You comments will assist us in ensuring we are continually developing and improving the hotel services.

Please let me know directly if I can assist with your accommodation in the future.

Sincerely,

Phil O'Brien

General Manager
Mercure Geelong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business and had a no fuss stay. Room was quite large and comfortable. Bathroom was also fine. Check in and check out was efficient. Breakfast was pretty fair value for a hotel at $19 although the machine coffee was terrible...I didn't finish mine. Car parking was do it yourself and at $18/night in an open park not great value... I'd probably park on the street next time. Location worked well for me and room rate was good after capital city prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA_JA_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is very good and has a great location. Even though it is a little tired and should be refurbished in the next few years the room and beds are large and comfortable.The meals i the dining room very good quality and value the service however was a bit slow. Overall would recommened this hotel for a stay and there are plenty of attraction nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wenmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

got an amazing deal on a lastminute website. i choose the mystery hotel. i had wanted to book this hotel direct, but their price was way to high. so i wasnt expecting to get them as my mystery hotel - bonus! rooms were very spacious. parking was easy. bathroom was small but great. but if i had booked direct it would have been an over the top price.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the contruction site (building works going on next door. plus ask for a roo...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank teddybear7888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Besides the hotel itself being a little outdated, the rooms were nice and spacious and the staff were lovely!
The only bad points about the hotel werenot being able to figure out how to turn the air on in our room and the gym equipment being a little outdated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SarahLouise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great service at this hotel. When our TV wouldn't work the girl from the front desk was up in minutes and knew how to reconnect everything as previous guest had pulled out all TV cords. I think that was excellent on her part. Very convenient to the Geelong Football ground as within walking distance which is what I wanted

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
724 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.9 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#4 of 17 in Geelong
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Geelong

Property: Rydges Geelong
Address: Gheringhap St & Myers St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Mercure Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 138 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing