We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Rydges Geelong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Geelong
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Moama, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed for a week & nice service. Bit ran down but clean & nice. Service in restaurant was very slow but very nice people - only 4 of us & 2 other people one night & still we had to ask after 15 mins for a drink & to order our meals as no one came back after seating us. Reasonable pricing, would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    573
    340
    113
    38
See reviews for
364
441
97
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you want something that is reasonably priced and close to everything the Mercure is good. The hotel is old and the renovated rooms are modern but basic. It would be great if there were a couple of hooks in bathroom to hang things up and a light over the wash basin would be great when putting on makeup/shaving. The staff are friendly and helpful. Room service breakfast was good value.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy56Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a local, and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is very central with a secure car park.
The staff are accommodating and only too eager to please.
A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank patsy_hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A pleasant environment in a location very convenient for the central shopping area. Parking is expensive. If staying Saturday afternoon and Sunday as we were, I'd recommend parking on the street.
We weren't able to get food at 11.45 am so we went into town for lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jayar910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong-Mercure, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Jayar910.

Many thanks for your review.

While it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay, I apologise that we let you down in a couple of areas. While breakfast finishes at 11am we certainly have 24 hour dining options available and I apologise that we didn’t communicate this well. Your feedback will certainly assist us in improving the service we provide.

Thanks again and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Flew into Avalon late and looked for a place to stay that was reasonably priced before heading off on the Great Ocean Road. Checked in late and the staff at the desk were great. Quick and efficient. The hotel is older and I expected the rooms to be older, but they'd done pretty good to cover up the age. The rooms were large and had everything you need for a stay. The TV had poor reception, so that would be the only thing that would need improving. As I stayed overnight, I didn't use the facilities, but I would stay there again if I was in the area. Checkin/out was a breeze and there was plenty of parking available around the hotel. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Leanne_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had to stay at the Mercure Geelong for a Business trip and was surprised by what this little hotel. As previous reviews have stated the hotel is a little older than some, however it has been well maintained and is clean and central. The bonus from this is that the rooms are exceptionally larger than most hotels offer and are well fit out. The carpet was a little old, and you could tell the building itself was old but the room in general is very comfortable. The bed in my room was very comfortable and I got a good nights sleep before checking out early the next morning. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't recommend drinking at the hotel's bar though as its a little overpriced and there are some pubs near by with a better atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose and higher level room with views over Geelong and the bay if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

When you first sight the Mecure Geelong your heart might sink a little at the tired outside but please overlook a few cracks in the wall because we had a room with a really really comfy bed new bathroom tiles and fittings a complimentry nespresso machine the restaurant meals and staff were superb. We stayed an extra night because we were so relaxed and comfortable and made to feel really welcome. Easy walking distance to town Basin esplande etc. Recommend to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ozvisitor749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
732 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.9 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#4 of 17 in Geelong
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Geelong

Property: Rydges Geelong
Address: Gheringhap St & Myers St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Mercure Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 138 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing