We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Geelong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges Geelong
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Mercure Hotel, Geelong was a delight to stay in. From the moment we checked in with the very friendly and efficient Reception Lady to the checkout from the very efficient and pleasant reception Lady.
We had a couple of drinks from the bar and the young lady on duty was a great person, person.
The Hotel itself was great, the unit was spacious and well equipped. The location was central enough for all the many great resteaurants in Geelong to walk to. I would most certainly enjoy staying there again and will most certainly be recommending this property anyone contemplating staying in Geelong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lassie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREGEELONGGM, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear lassie30

Many thanks for your review.

The team in the hotel strive to ensure all guests have a wonderful stay and take great pride when comments such as yours are received.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    562
    329
    108
    36
See reviews for
354
431
94
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a very spacious queen room located on 6th floor, with views over the city centre. Modern bathroom. The hotel has a range of facilities, including restaurant, bar and room service 24 hours. Parking can be hard to get, if you get there early enough there are a few free spots in the hotel area, if not, you can pay $18 to be in an alternate car park, also on the hotel grounds, but it is outside and the only added security is a short boom gate. Street parking is mainly 2 hour zones mid week but there are a few all day spots just outside the hotel, if you are lucky enough to get one. The hotel is situated on the edge of the city centre, 10-15 minutes walk to main centre, 15-25 minutes to seafront. Easy walk downhill, but the way back is a bit steeper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

we got a great mystery deal on wotif.com so instead of paying $175 we paid $105. great result! it is which next to some building works being done (hence the low price). this hotel looks awful from the outside but the rooms are pretty decent. very large, modern. receptionist was fantastic. breakfast not so. dont worry about the facade...its actually ok inside. the pool area needs to be ripped apart in my opinion. its awful!

Room Tip: ask for a room high up overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastern_guy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Another great stay in Geelong. Central to family for visiting, a short walk into the city and shopping and peaceful rooms with all the mod cons.
I pre booked on the accor website as I have membership, be the girls at reception were slightly confused why i had paid a bond for my accomodation. I found on check out that after using the mini bar and having breakfast, i only needed to pay $3 extra on top of what I'd already paid. Slightly confusing. Did I pay to much for my advance purchase room price or what??? Still bamboozled. Maybe Accor need to fix their booking system.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel and overall was pleased. My room on the third floor was spacious, the breakfast was delicious and reception staff were stretched but pleasant.
My only complaint is the outrageous expense of the Wi-fi. In order to watch a program on ABC iview, I had to request more download capacity than the standard $10 for two hours. I expected to pay an extra $10 or so. I was stunned to be told that my Internet bill was $76. I used it for 2 hours, not two months.
The receptionist told me that the hotel had no control over the cost because the service is out-sourced to an external provider. I refused to pay $76 and she offered to split the cost. Still outrageous but Something. We both wanted to avoid a lengthy scene at the busy check-out time.
This is outright robbery. Please provide free Internet access as most hotels and every corner cafe do these days.
Air-conditioning very noisy. Needs an overhaul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREGEELONGGM, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Katie O.

Thank you for your visit to the Mercure Geelong.

While it was nice to read that overall you were happy with your stay, I apologise that you were concerned with your experience with the internet.

Internet in certainly a fast moving and changing landscape and while we are not in a position to change our current arrangements, feedback such as yours will assist us with the decision making process in the future.

I am happy to advise that many guests enjoy the convenience of the free 30 minute internet we offer in the lobby and restaurant.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Central spot, easy walk from the train station which is why we picked it. Room was spacious and clean, pretty basic but they had given us a top floor room with a view to the Bay which was great! We had only paid for a basic room without the Bay view so they may have been a bit quiet but the upgrade was very much appreciated. When checking out received helpful and friendly directions from the front desk person so both in and out I was pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here one night whilst in Geelong for a wedding. The rooms were spacious and clean. A little on the expensive side though. I booked a triple room, so you would think they would assume there were 3 people staying, but no, we had to pay an extra $44 for the third person. Plus $18 each for two cars. . Together with the $182 for the night, it's an expensive overnight stay, particularly as we are talking about Geelong. I've stayed at much cheaper, better quality hotels in the Melbourne CBD. We had to ask for extra towels (2 towels in a triple room?). Also ran out of teabags and had to get some from friends who were also staying there. However, the reception staff were pleasant, it was quiet, beds comfortable, showers hot. Probably wouldn't stay again, would try to find somewhere cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCUREGEELONGGM, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Shazzcatz.

Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong and updating your experience in Trip Advisor.

While it is great to read the positive comments about your stay, I was concerned to read your thoughts about pricing. I am happy advise however that we do have specials and packages available at various times throughout the year and please call anytime for an update on the current offers.

Thanks again Shazzcatz and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Phil O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#6 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Geelong

Property: Rydges Geelong
Address: Gheringhap St & Myers St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Mercure Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 137 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Rydges Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing