We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful, in a sincere manner”
Review of Novotel Geelong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Geelong
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Staff were friendly, attentive, and helpful, in a sincere manner”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the first hotel I have stayed at where I can honestly say the staff made the difference between an ordinary stay and a good stay. They were friendly, attentive, and helpful, in a sincere manner.

The “whynot shower index” gives a five star (or should that be a five shower head) rating. How refreshing it is to have a decent shower with loads of hot water.

On the negative side, it took forever to make a booking. Their web was out of action (I tried over a number of days). In the end, I had to do a telephone reservation through their international call centre. While the bed is covered with a lovely thick doona; dear management, in the middle of an Australian summer, a thinner blanket would be far more appropriate (or place one in the cupboard please). The charge for car parking is a bit excessive (this is the middle of Geelong, not Sydney, right?) The bar fridge gurgled (annoying loud) all through the night. And, while on the bar fridge, it was crammed solid (we couldn’t get some of our supplies in).

The room was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Buffet breakfast was reasonable value. I thought it was a little bit on the expensive side (but I paid retail rather than business rates). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyN0tMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly thank you for staying with us. I really appreciate you taking the time to post your review, especially relating to the staff making a "difference between an ordinary stay and a good stay".

Due to the nature of feedback provided I have shared your review with my Executive Committee discussing with interest your comments regarding your experience which will assist us improving our service and product offerings.

Wishing you and your family a fantastic 2013

Warm Regards

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    291
    161
    47
    46
See reviews for
119
288
29
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bressanone, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you do not mind driving a bit and enjoy a calm walk along the water in the evening instead of staying in Melbourne go to Geelong.
The Four Points Sheraton is right on the beach road, everything you need is within walking distance and parking is reasonably priced.
People are friendly and breakfast is great.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have a more or less obstructed view of the sea shore. Hence it does not really matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzmoedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.

We agree with your assessment that Geelong is a great and relaxing place to get away within an hour from Melbourne. Our location on the Waterfront is the best place to stay!

Wishing you and your family a fantastic 2013


Warm Regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is terrific, access to great restaurants and attractions on the waterfront and a short stroll into the centre of town. We were however a little dissapointed with our executive room especially given the price tag. The air conditioner never seemed to get overly cool and it was too noisy to open the door out onto the balcony which overlooked the neigbouring hotel. The room felt a bit tired and dated. Valet parking was included in the room price which was convienent given the lack of street parking however a hassle if you wanted to get something out of the car- we were travelling from interstate and had quite a bit of belongings in the car.Overall loved the location but the experience was not what we fully expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly thank you so much for staying with us. I really appreciate you taking the time to post your review.

Based on your feedback we commit to working hard with our teams to review and improve our product offerings and overcome our operational shortfalls in the area you have highlighted.

Wishing you and your family a fantastic 2013.

Warm Regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was unexpectedly good. The receptionist welcomed me by name - a nice touch, I was the last of their arrivals. The room was really nice. Dinner was lovely - ocean trout with a salad. Unfortunately it wasn't quite cooked through but they remedied that quickly. I will defintely stay here again when I go back to Geelong.

Room Tip: I had a partial sea view which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.

I have read your wonderful comments to my team and personally thanked them for their warm and welcoming attention to you during your stay.

I look forward to one day welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Geelong when you next visit us.

Wishing you and your family a fantastic 2013.

Warm Regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was so disappointed by the experience. I found the room to be over priced, the male front desk staff member was unhelpful and rude, the air conditioning was not working and the balcony door could not be opened as it was too noisy outside. I paid extra for an ocean view and a balcony and I got a view over the next building's roof top and the noise of the rooftop generator. The bathroom was not clean and the bath was really small. I may have gotten unlucky and been given the worst "executive" room in the place but I will never stay there again. The only nice thing I have to say is that the location is lovely, which is a shame because I have enjoyed other 4 points by Sheraton but this one lets the name down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.

The Executive Committee has since met read and discussed with interest your comments regarding your experience.

Rest assured your comments are not wasted as our overall commitment is to consistently achieve high product offerings and high service levels in all areas and it is only through such honest and constructive feedback as yours that I can continue to grow the skills of my team and operational performance of the hotel.

Wishing you and your family a fantastic 2013.

Warm Regards

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geelong hotels

Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location of the Four Points is one of the best you could wish for in Geelong Waterfront, just minutes walk to many restaurants, the big wheel and the promenade. On arrival, the front desk staff were lovely and helpful.

Valet parking was $25, pricey but with luggage we were struggling to find somewhere to park.

The room (balcony side view) was spacious, airy and had the best views (from the 7th floor) with a nice balcony and floor to ceiling glass windows with great views, that we could have hoped for; but that was as far as it went in terms of comfort.

The sheets and pillowcases seemed overstarched and rough to touch so you felt like you were sleeping on a cheesegrater (the pillowcases were worse than the sheets); and the aircon was impossible to balance.

On arrival we set the aircon temp to 18 deg, but the actual room temp didn't get below 23.6deg even though we left the aircon on "full" all afternoon; then at night time, it fell to 19 deg, so we turned the fan down from "full" to "low" and by the time we awoke in the morning, the room was showing 24.7 deg, so we turned it back on to "full". not that the room temp got below 23.6 deg before we checked out..

You dare not turn the aircon fan off or you just get really hot, yet if you leave it on, you then get a strong draught blowing on you.

All I can say is what a shame! We could not believe our luck in terms of location and room views, but from then on it kind of went downhill for us....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.

The Executive Committee has since met read and discussed with interest your comments regarding your experience

Based on your feedback we commit to working harder with our teams to review and improve our product offerings and overcome our operational shortfall in the area you have highlighted.

Please know your experience is very much out of the ordinary for us. For various reasons we have decided to change our linen supplier which took effect in late December and we are currently spending $100K on improvements to our airconditioning system which will address the items you raised.

Wishing you and your family a fantastic 2013

Warm Regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and l recently stayed here for a weekend. Its a great location out the back across road is Westfield Shopping Centre, and out front is a beautiful waterfront, with great eats and bars we had a lovely stay, bed king size very comfy, breakfast the next morning is buffett very nice. The valid car parking was a little pricey at $ 25 per night, but everything else was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniewVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSG, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Geelong, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Firstly thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.

I have read your wonderful comments to my team and personally thanked them for their warm and welcoming attention to you during your stay. We agree with your assessment as our location being Geelong's best!

Wishing you and your family a fantastic 2013.

Warm Regards,

Bryan Dennis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
1,265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.9 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#4 of 17 in Geelong
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geelong

Property: Novotel Geelong
Address: 10-14 Eastern Beach Rd, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Geelong)
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the waterfront with amazing views across the bay, Novotel Geelong is situated within Geelong's Central Business District, close to shopping centres and local attractions. It is within an hour by car from Melbourne and 20 minutes from Avalon Airport. The hotel features 109 guest rooms, a restaurant, bar, function rooms, indoor pool, steam room, fitness centre and free WiFi. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Geelong
Four Points By Sheraton Geelong Hotel Geelong
Sheraton Geelong
Four Points Geelong
Geelong Four Points
Geelong Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing