We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value even in peak season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked this hotel for family. Good value a little noisy upto 10pm due to kids in pool but after that fine. Spacious clean room witha ll facilities good indoor pool and yummy room service brekky try the pancakes.Plenty of parking good value and close to take away in Mercer St and waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGorgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting comments on your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Geelong Motor Inn.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in the serviced apartments which were clean and very nice .The bathroom was excellent as was the rest of the apartment . The only downfall was the fire alarm went off at 7:30 in the morning but at least it worked. The staff were great and would stay again with a convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefloods2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Owner

Thank you for sharing with others the experience of your visit. We are pleased to read that you found our apartments suitable for your requirements. Please accept our sincere apologies for the early sounding of our internal warning system. Please rest assured that this was an isolated occurence and there was no associated incident with the alert.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a day at the beach it was great to relax in a spacious apartment. Kids loved the indoor pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Plus a great meal at the hotel nearby. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tdkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are delighted to read that our rooms and facilities were ideal for your family. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the nearby Telegraph Hotel of which we consistently receive many positive and glowing comments about their menu and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Geelong.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Room was huge, very clean and well equipped. Superb bathroom. We had a great nights sleep and were very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. We would stay again without any concerns.
No problems here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornbeefhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed a satisfying visit and found our rooms and services to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Geelong.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Needed a place to stay for the one night after visiting family in Geelong for the Christmas break and, as usual, consulted TA for some advice. We normally stay at the Chifley or Mercure but were interested in trying somewhere new so after reading some of the reviews here we were keen on our stay at the Geelong Motor Inn.

It is a little difficult to locate. Coming from Melbourne is ok but if you come from Geelong city you need to go to the traffic lights and do a U turn to get back to the Motor Inn.

Booking in was ok however bear in mind that there is only the one person doing registration so if you have luggage you might need to do several trips.

Now to get to the crux of the poor review.....

The BED!!!!

The queen size bed sagged noticably into the middle. I sleep on my side and without any exageration I had to hold on to the side of the bed to stop myself rolling over and ending up in the middle of the bed. So after 3 hours of no sleep I moved to the single bed which was luckily made up (which I found a bit suspicious).
There is no-one on reception after hours so I couldn't request a fix and the hotel was booked out so there was no other room to move to even if there was someone I could alert.

On checking out I mentioned my sleepless night to the manager (Carl?) who was very dismissive. I assume that since he had a 'sold out' night he wasn't too concerned about a casual guest. Very disappointing for someone on the front desk.

Of course I cannot vouch for the beds in the other rooms so take pot luck but if you have any concerns don't expect them to be addressed by management.

Oh well lesson learnt and back to the Mercure for our future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your visit. As mentioned at the time of your check-out, we were not aware of any preexisting issue with the Queen bed in your room. The room you were allocated was a twin room, hence the additional single bed. We sincerely regret that you did not experience a comfortable nights rest.

Please be assured that service and assistance is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

We genuinely care for each and all of our guests and strive to ensure their comfort and enjoyment at all times. I sincerely regret to read that you have departed feeling otherwise on this occasion.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Reasonable overnight stay motel, location not great but the rooms are spacious, reasonably well equipped and very clean. The town centre is not too far away but not within walking distance. There are plenty of fast food outlets and shops within a short drive. Rooms are furnished for eating in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrasanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for making comments on your stay experience. We are pleased to read that our accommodation rooms were satisfying to you and hope to welcome you back again.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I too experienced disappointment when first seeing this motel. It looks a bit tired out the front. I also booked for some other people and they thought the same thing. That is where the disappointment ends. The rooms here are very large, as are the bathrooms. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Staff very helpful and friendly. Free wifi a bonus. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No lift so if stairs are a problem ask for ground floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooyal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your impressions and experiences with other on-line readers. We are delighted that you were pleasantly surprised with the layout and furnishings of our rooms. We feel inspired that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.1 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#9 of 19 in Geelong
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#6 of 19 in Geelong
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#3 of 19 in Geelong
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#2 of 19 in Geelong
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments

Address: 30 Keera St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range: $94 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Geelong
Geelong Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing