We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location but very poor service. Small ensuite, no free wifi, extremely noisy and manager with bad attitude. Staff have changed since we had previously stayed here. Tried to alter a booking over the phone prior to arriving - took four calls to succeed in changing our dates because the staff couldn't do it. Very noisy restaurant staff cleaning up when you are trying to sleep. Very disappointed with whole dismal experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    25
    13
    20
See reviews for
18
29
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This has been by far the worst place I have stayed at in the last few years. It is self(?)-rated as a 4 star place, but it does not deserve more than 1. And that only, because probably doesn't leak when it rains. The entire place is run down and grubby, and it reminds me of country motels some 30 years ago. You will be better off sleeping in the park next door ...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarcophilus_harrisii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geelong hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed there for one night before flying out in Avalon. Worst night ever!!

The air-con was deafening that if you want to sleep you have to turn it off and suffer Melbourne's freezing Winter.

Ask the desk to ring me in my room to discuss early check-out. After still haven't heard anything from the desk for one hour, I realised the phone plug was missing from the cable so could not be connected into the phone line socket.

The front door had no door-stop so there was a hole in the hole made by the door-knob. The toilet had a window so high up in the wall that's impossible for normal height person (1.8m) to close so you had to suffer the freezing cold while you use the toilet.

The heating bulb in the bathroom had only 3 out of the four working. The owner and assistant (I am assuming) were rude and unhelpful as if I am asking them for a favour for me to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here on a trip from Adelaide to Melbourne, it served its purpose as a stop over. The exterior and car park are definitely NOT 4*standard, they are run down and scruffy. The room was dark and quite noisy, however it had envy thing we needed for a stop over. I would not stay here for more than one night. The positives were their and the location, easy walking distance to shops and sea front. The reception staff were not good, one member used extremely bad language in front of us as we waited to check out.

Room Tip: Do not get a room hear the stairs or entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this Motel last night, first mistake of the day! The air conditioner is out of the ark (and on observation they were the same in every room) it actually sounded like a jack hammer, impossible to sleep with it operating. The room soon became stuffy with it off but we didn't have a choice, it was horrendous! Couldn't open the windows because of street noise. Then.... when the fridge motor kicked in it sounded like a street cleaning vehicle. It doesn't stop there the bed was as hard as a board. The only upside is it was clean & we had a roof over our head. We couldn't sleep, got up very sore & tired. Couldn't wait to pack up & move on.

Room Tip: Rooms away from this Motel would be more suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly and as request when I made the booking bedding configuration was given.
The room was nothing fancy but beds were comfy enough. Decor was outdated but considering , carpets could have done with a good clean but for a basic one night stay I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrayzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stopped off in Geelong for the night, before starting the Great Ocean Road journey. This motel was just fine. The room was small but modern and clean, and close to the beach and the town. Unfortunately, we had a ground floor room adjacent to the kitchen of the Fishbowl Restaurant. There was a lot of noise and crashing of pots and pans until about 11 p.m. Apart from this, it was a pleasant, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.6 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
#16 of 17 in Geelong
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Eastern Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Eastern Sands

Property: Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
Address: 1 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Eastern Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Eastern Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Geelong
Geelong Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing