We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here on a trip from Adelaide to Melbourne, it served its purpose as a stop over. The exterior and car park are definitely NOT 4*standard, they are run down and scruffy. The room was dark and quite noisy, however it had envy thing we needed for a stop over. I would not stay here for more than one night. The positives were their and the location, easy walking distance to shops and sea front. The reception staff were not good, one member used extremely bad language in front of us as we waited to check out.

Room Tip: Do not get a room hear the stairs or entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    24
    13
    20
See reviews for
17
28
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this Motel last night, first mistake of the day! The air conditioner is out of the ark (and on observation they were the same in every room) it actually sounded like a jack hammer, impossible to sleep with it operating. The room soon became stuffy with it off but we didn't have a choice, it was horrendous! Couldn't open the windows because of street noise. Then.... when the fridge motor kicked in it sounded like a street cleaning vehicle. It doesn't stop there the bed was as hard as a board. The only upside is it was clean & we had a roof over our head. We couldn't sleep, got up very sore & tired. Couldn't wait to pack up & move on.

Room Tip: Rooms away from this Motel would be more suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly and as request when I made the booking bedding configuration was given.
The room was nothing fancy but beds were comfy enough. Decor was outdated but considering , carpets could have done with a good clean but for a basic one night stay I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrayzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stopped off in Geelong for the night, before starting the Great Ocean Road journey. This motel was just fine. The room was small but modern and clean, and close to the beach and the town. Unfortunately, we had a ground floor room adjacent to the kitchen of the Fishbowl Restaurant. There was a lot of noise and crashing of pots and pans until about 11 p.m. Apart from this, it was a pleasant, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The room was old, but very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The location was quiet, and heard no noise at night. The location was walking distance to shops. they had a great eat spot next door, so that was perfect. Would stay there again, and being upgraded to the deluxe room was perfect for us. the view was great. did try Foxtel and it would not work, so this i did not follow up, as we were only staying one night.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after taking my daughter down to her university in Geelong and simply wanted somewhere to lay our heads. That's what we got. The room was clean but had the World's noisiest air conditioner/heater which wasn't installed very well and had gaps around it through which frigid gales coursed through meaning you either had to rug-up under the doona or wear ear-plugs to stave off the noise.

Even if you did choose the freezing option the noise of drunken revelry and olympic standard boganism exhibited by some of the other guests was, while moderately amusing, also more than a bit tiresome.

As others have observed staff were conspicuous by their absence in the morning, unlike the two delightful, matching, pools of pink vomit outside the office! Outstanding!

We travel a lot. We've stayed at many worse places and there was nothing really wrong with the room itself or it's level of cleanliness but the heater was a bore and the screeching pest-fest was tiresome. I think we'll try somewhere else next time....

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I picked this hotel as it was only a 100m walk to my appointment the next day. This hotel is 400m from the bay and a 100m from the centre of Geelong. The greeting at made you feel very welcomed and the check-in process was painless.

I booked a Deluxe Bay View Room and found the accommodation more than adequate for my needs with a very comfortable bed and a window that opened so that I could have fresh air rather than air con if I chose. The room also had a microwave plus tea/coffee making facilities.

My dinner at the in-house restaurant the "Fish Bowl" was absolutely 5 Star and one of the best I have had anywhere. It also has a great selection of local wines some of which you can buy by the glass. As a staying guest at the hotel, I was also given a 25% discount on the total bill.

The only down side is that you need to carry bags up external stairs which was fine for me however could be a problem if not so mobile.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel if travelling to Geelong.

Room Tip: The Bay View Rooms give you a glimpse of the Bay past the trees and the Ferris Wheel is very colourf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.6 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
#16 of 17 in Geelong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Eastern Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Eastern Sands

Property: Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
Address: 1 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Eastern Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Eastern Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Geelong
Geelong Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing