We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The only thing this place has going for it is its location, near the waterfront in Geelong. But Geelong's not that big, and there are no views here, so I recommend staying elsewhere and walking to the waterfront. I wish I had read these reviews before booking. The rooms are bare minimum standard. They advertise that the rooms are newly refurbished, and I am guessing that was in the '80s. However, my big complaint is that they could not find my booking, which was for $130 a night, and so they charged me $190 (even though I had a printed confirmation of the booking made more than one month in advance), and told me I was lucky they had a room left for me. Convoluted definition of customer service. I felt lucky that I had not booked more than 2 nights. I have taken this up directly with Choice Hotels, and expect to be reimbursed, but it was quite clear to me that there was no point in arguing with the receptionist. I think I recognize him from other reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was the first hotel we visited on our trip back to Geelong. We wanted something in the CBD. We were told that there were no rooms until after 6pm, but because of the late check in we would get a bay view room at a discount of $145. The man who told us this, was obviously not the manager and acted like a salesman. Giving us a discount at the fishbowl restaurant and saying it was the best hotel etc etc. He was very pushy and we went and looked at two other hotels and then decided the price was too good to pass up for 'such a good room'.
When we got back after 6, the manager advised us that he couldn't give us a bay view room, and so we got a room with a queen and two singles which was unnecessary for a couple. The price was cut to $130, but we were also told that the normal price for bay view rooms was $145 anyway and not a discount anyway.
We ate in the fish bowl restaurant and with the 25% voucher (that they give everyone) it was value for money but I would not stay at this establishment again. Internet was expensive, and there are no spa rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

we booked this motel through Wotif as it was advertised as four star accommodation (four star is defined as 'Exceptionally well appointed establishments with high quality furnishings and offering a high degree of comfort. High standard of presentation and guest services provided.' This place barely rates a 2.
I had requested a downstairs room as my husband has a great deal of difficulty negotiating stairs, however after being 'greeted' by someone who I can only suppose was the manager who talked through a mouthful of food as he was eating his dinner, I was given the keys to an upstairs room. I said that I had requested a downstairs room but was very rudely told that they cant guarantee requests and it was my responsibility to ring the hotel to ensure my request. given that I had made the booking 5 days beforehand, they had plenty of time to consider my request and if they had not been able to fulfil it they could have called me to give me the opportunity to do something else, particularly as this is a disability issue (my husband has a form of muscular dystrophy). It was only when I asked if there was someone who hadnt booked in yet that I could swap with, that they looked - they offered a swap for an extra $40. This hotel is overpriced anyway and I was pretty cranky by this stage - having to pay close to $200 a night for a highly overrated hotel annoyed me further and I declined. When I was assisting my husband up the stairs (20+) steps, a member of staff who had been privy to my conversation with the manager came out to have a look (I can only presume to see if I had been truthful about our situation) but in spite of seeing the obviously slow progress did not offer to help and went back inside.
A simple request for a person with a disability, and their attitude was that it was somehow my fault they didnt meet it!!!!!
The whole place looks like it needs a good scrub, there were boxes of what looked like electric blankets at the top of the stairs, the bed sagged badly in the middle, the decor is very dated and the microwave was filfthy.
We have always used Wotif to book hotels/motels/apartments and never had any issues, including our requests for downstairs rooms - other establishments obviously read these requests.
yes, the location is good, but the staff are rude and uncaring, and the place is highly overrated. Dont bother - book in at the Best Western Geelong Motor Inn where the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and the rooms are much cleaner, smarter and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander_99255314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

On the eastern edge of the Geelong 'central business district' this place has a nice outlook over the gardens that run down to the yacht club. We chose this place over our usual preference, the Haymarket, because this time we travelled with 17YO daughter and the motel offers rooms with three beds. We needed only to sleep here, not spend any time in the place, and it was perfectly satisfactory with a nice view and generous size room. We had a very pleasant walk to Kardinia Park for the footy game, ate a very good dinner at Bistrot@310 afterwards, and then strolled back to the motel. The only drawback to this place is that being a Saturday night and part of a hotel there was a bit of noise when patrons left the pub - woke us up a couple of times but it wasn't a big deal. Waking up properly to the view of Geelong harbor the next morning was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Basic accommodation, but great value for the great location if it's Geelong central your there for. Genuine walking distance to Eastern Beach, the marina, water front recreational area and is located at the very edge of the city centre. Didn't go to the onsite restaurant, but it looked nice and was well attended for dinner. Friendly staff. Clean, basic room. Older CRT TV, and effective but a little noisy heater/aircon. Coffee facilities with a toaster and microwave. Smallish bathroom, but clean with a great shower (no bath). We had a quiet stay even through we overlooked the road.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the sea, could be a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crusty181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I had to attend a conference and drove down the day before to see the room. The management was very friendly and recommended room 17 for quiet and view. Everything was perfect. I awoke to a spendid view and was within a comfortable jaunt to beaches, running tracks, stores and University. I had a delux room and was very happy. I would return to this hotel and room 17 should there be another conference in Geelong. Oh for eating I liked the mussel man for his mussels and paella down on the beach....cheers....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This hotel is 400m from town centre and ocean. Good clean basic accomadation for price. Don't past up eating at their Restaurant "Fish Bowl" absolutely 5 Star. Great selection of local wines. Best part if you stay and dine they will give you 25% of total bill.The greeting at reception made you feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#11 of 19 in Geelong
98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.3 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#3 of 19 in Geelong
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#1 of 19 in Geelong
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
2.1 mi away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#6 of 19 in Geelong
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Eastern Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Eastern Sands

Address: 1 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range: $104 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Eastern Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Eastern Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Geelong
Geelong Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing