We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room in poor condition” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterfront Apartments
New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Room in poor condition”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The one bedroom apartment we were assigned was poorly maintained. It had an odd, musty smell, somewhat reminiscent of student lodgings (the apartment manager denies any smell). The carpet was dirty (with an odd smell in parts), even though the apartment manager claimed they had been very recently cleaned (and recently replaced). Toilet paper was down to a quarter of a roll, with no replacement rolls provided. The TV did not work, and the remote was missing a vital plastic piece. The venetian blind cords provided a strangling deathtrap for infants. The cordless phone was completely uncharged, making a phone call impossible.
We did not want to spend the night here after seeing the state of this room, so left as soon as we could. We were refused a refund. Ended up at the 'Four Points by Sheraton Geelong' in a room that was vastly superior.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie C, Manager at The Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
As new Management with The Waterfront Apartments Geelong, we are sorry to hear of your negative experience when you last stayed. Since taking over the Management in September 2013, we have changed many of the previous policies and procedures which had occured.
Our Staff, Greg and Kerrie, now greet all Guests onsite at the Apartment Complex, show them to their underground secure car park and up to The Apartment.
We hope you return to Geelong in the future, and should you wish to stay at The Waterfront Apartments, please do not hesitate to contact either Greg or Kerrie on 03 5222 1370 or email: info@stayingeelong.com and they will ensure that you will not experience the same treatment as last time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
14
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights over the weekend. We read the instructions on the booking website regarding the off site office for key pick up. We managed to find our way there after going round in a few circles only to find it is unattended. We rang the number on the door and was relieved to know that the staff was on her way back.
Upon checking into the apartment, it has a stunning view of the pier from where we are staying. However, several things in the apartment didn't work, including ceiling lights and bedside lamps as well as an air filter cover that was dangling from the ceiling. The carpets were stained as were the couch. When we rang the service mobile number, we were asked if we were bothered by what were not working as the mobile number was for emergencies!!!
It was such a great disappointment how poorly maintained the apartments were.
Even if you are looking for a good location or great view, we would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flycanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie C, Manager at The Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
As new Management with The Waterfront Apartments Geelong, we are sorry to hear of your negative experience when you last stayed. Since taking over the Management in September 2013, we have changed many of the previous policies and procedures which had occured.
Our Staff, Greg and Kerrie, now greet all Guests onsite at the Apartment Complex, show them to their underground secure car park and up to The Apartment.
We hope you return to Geelong in the future, and should you wish to stay at The Waterfront Apartments, please do not hesitate to contact either Greg or Kerrie on 03 5222 1370 or email: info@stayingeelong.com and they will ensure that you will not experience the same treatment as last time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Vic Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Centrally located and across the road from east beach these apartments are ideal. 100 metres to the Westfield shopping centre (includes Coles supermarket) and along the East beach restaurant strip. Our room had a partial view of the bay and wsa very spacious and welllaid out (2 bedrooms)
We stayed for two nights over a busy weekend.
Staff were very helpful checking in. They even made the effort to find an additional car park (free) for one of my children who was staying with us.
Only negative was that we were on the 5th floor apartment near Brougham Street and the apartment's air-conditioning unit was located at ground level and was very loud. Particularly if you were out on the balcony. not very good planning!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with view over east beach away. Apartments off Brougham street are affected by AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently stayed in a one bedroom executive apartment for 5 nights on the 7th floor .One bedroom apartments apparently do not have bayside views but are offered as city views which includes views of the shopping complex car park directly across the road. The apartment was spacious and comfortable but showing signs of wear and tear. We were pleased that we had a small rental car as the car parking space allocated was extremely small and tight making reversing and exiting the basement car park a challenge. Entry gate parking #2. We normally drive a large 4wd so we are familiar with tight, narrow, car park spaces. On checkin we were issued a garage/lift remote that had not been calibrated for our apartment and were unable to access the complex until the remote had been recali brated by the caretaker. The queen bed was comfortable and the room feels larger because of a glass wall separating the room from the lounge,kitchen area. External Door slamming of neighbouring apartments at all hours was particularly noisy. There are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops nearby and access to scenic walkways to Eastern beach and around to Rippleside. Shopping - both supermarket and retail shops all within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mez238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My family from interstate recently stayed here for a family get together. We found the customer service from booking to check in excellent. The apartments are very well located, clean and spacious. We had a gorgeous corner suite overlooking Fishmen's basin. The staff could have not been more helpful on our check in. However, dont expect you are checking in at a 24 hour desk. These are private apartments and you check in via the agent. But this is very simple and they have a lovely office close by, like many places on the Gold Coast. The car park is secure and easy to reach by many lifts. Its not complicated. Some spots are a little sqeezy, but if you cant park in them you should really not be in charge of a motorised vehicle. The room was lovely, with good linen and very clean. My extended family were very happy and had a lovely stay. Very cheap for such a lovely apartment in a magnificant location. Will stay again no hesitation. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for five nights. The apartment was quite spacious with a well equipped kitchen. The double bed was comfy and the whole apartment was very clean. Its in a great location, in between Westfield and the bay with lots of great restaurants to choose from. We did not have a car so cannot comment on the car park. We weren't disturbed by any outside noise and didn't require the use of the air conditioner. The only downside was the smell. The entry for three apartments is enclosed in a small hallway with a heavy door. The smell of smoke from one of the apartments was always overwhelming. The actual apartment also had a strange odour, combined with the smoke smell. We opened the back sliding door (no screens) and the smell either eased or we got used to it only to return the next day from being out to confront the smell again. At one point the neighbours were out the back cooking a BBQ and smoking so we shut the door and soldiered on! Everything was great except for that smell!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DeGios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the complicated, inconvenient way of collecting the keys (having to first go to a dingy office tucked away in a back street, virtually impossible to find), to the all too small carpark (my car would not fit), to the maze of underground concrete pathways to hidden lifts, the whole experience bordered on the ridiculous.
Nothing worked in the apartment - the venetian blind was broken, the besdide lamp did not work, neither did the clock radio. The microwave was splattered with food remnants - the room stunk.
The cultery and crockery and glassware was filthy. The pillows were so hard and old they were vintage.
My 'Waterfront'Apartment was actually on a busy arterial road overlooking not the ocean, but a multi storey carpark. To add insult to injury, I was stuck in the carpark for half an hour until another resident let me out as my remote for the garage door was broken (and stuck up with sticky tape).
The list of instructions included taking out your own rubbish upon departure!!!
A nightmare from start to finish, with staff who could not give a hoot and a room that resembled a school camp.
Overpriced, under serviced. Avoid this place at all cost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennafer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie C, Manager at The Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
As new Management with The Waterfront Apartments Geelong, we are sorry to hear of your negative experience when you last stayed. Since taking over the Management in September 2013, we have changed many of the previous policies and procedures which had occured.
Our Staff, Greg and Kerrie, now greet all Guests onsite at the Apartment Complex, show them to their underground secure car park and up to The Apartment.
We hope you return to Geelong in the future, and should you wish to stay at The Waterfront Apartments, please do not hesitate to contact either Greg or Kerrie on 03 5222 1370 or email: info@stayingeelong.com and they will ensure that you will not experience the same treatment as last time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.6 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#6 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
1.9 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Apartments

Property: The Waterfront Apartments
Address: Cnr Eastern Beach Road & Yarra Street, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considering a stay in Geelong at The Waterfront Apartments with our management team at "STAY IN GEELONG". We believe we have one of the best properties to stay on the waterfront. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will find the Waterfront Apartments Complex conveniently located beside the Novatel Hotel on the corner of Eastern Beach Road & Yarra St Geelong. Surrounded by cafes, restaurants and other waterfront attractions, The Waterfront Apartments Geelong and Townhouse are located within the CBD, and the wonderful Geelong Waterfront and Eastern Beach. All apartments are beautifully appointed with quality fixtures & fittings and can accommodate from 1 - 6 persons. Apartments are available on a two nightly, weekly or monthly basis and can be serviced at your request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing