We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable regional fare”

Black Salt Restaurant
Reserve with
Black Salt Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 457 Restaurants in Geelong
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perched on Geelong's magnificent foreshore Black Salt Restaurant enjoys stunning views of Corio Bay and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy fine local wine, beer and food whilst taking in the view. Perfect for couples, families or entertaining clients. Open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
475 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Passable regional fare”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked two days ahead and asked for a table at the front to enjoy a view of the bay - one of the few restaurants in Geelong with something approximating a scenic vista. "No, all the tables are take" I was told and ushered to a table three back from the window.

That performance was not enhanced when the waitress first words on attending us were "How youse going tonight?" One has to remember that in a town that is moving from industrial to industry that requires more of the grey matter the education levels are low at the moment. Nonetheless, managers really can do better with some basic conversation skills training.

The service did not get much better. The wrong wine was brought out - an example of a lack of listneing to the order.

As for the food the steak was beautiful; soft and tasty - could not be better. The mushroom risotto was soso and it was served with goat's cheese; not sure the saltiness of this cheese complemented the subtleness of the pocini flavour? Nothing to remeber about this dish.

We drank a bottle of Yalumba's Running with the Bulls tempranillo ($45)

We went to Pako Street for coffee elsewhere - a mistake even on a Friday night after 1.30 as most places are closed or closing. A carry over from an earlier time which new out of town restauranteers are learning there is hay to be made whilst other competitors go to sleep.

PS: there was a vacant window table all night?? Give the staff some lessons in basic patron management. They are the front of house who make the lasting impression.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Webster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Webster27

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Black Salt.
As you acknowledged in your review, our location does mean we enjoy a fabulous scenic vista. Although the water is visible from all seats in the restaurant, naturally, most everyone who books, requests prime seating in the front of the room, closest to the water. Obviously it is not possible to accommodate all such requests. With many bookings made weeks ahead and celebration of special occasions taken into consideration, it can be difficult to assign fair priority.

On the evening in question, the table which remained vacant was in fact reserved for an 8pm booking who were celebrating a very special occasion. On their arrival, they chose instead, to dine in the lounge side of the alfresco area, leaving the table vacant. As you had arrived early, around 6pm, it would obviously have been disruptive to move you at this time.

We take on board your comments in relation to staff and will refer to them in training sessions with our team to ensure continuous improvement in our overall product.

I am delighted you enjoyed the steak and hope that next time you can find a dish more suited to your taste than the risotto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    113
    53
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautiful views”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family surprised me with a birthday dinner at Black Salt. The view of the sun setting over the boats on Corio Bay was just beautiful. The food was delicious and everyone was very happy with their choices - fish, pork ribs, steaks (cooked exactly to personal preference), and chicken. A birthday cake, made and decorated by my daughters was taken to the restaurant earlier in the day and, after the meal, was brought out to the table with candles lit. The waitress joined in singing Happy Birthday, then offered to take some family photos for us. The cake was taken away to be cut and was attractively served with a dollop cream decorated with a slice of strawberry, and a fresh mint leaf. Unfortunately, due to an unexpectedly large number of "walk-ins" on this midweek evening, the restaurant found itself understaffed, which led to slow service at times. However the manager apologised and explained at the end of the evening, and to compensate did not include the normal "cakeage" fee in the bill. All in all we had a very pleasant evening, and my birthday dinner was very special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bughead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Bughead

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Black Salt restaurant. I am delighted your birthday celebration was such a success! As you mentioned, a cake-age fee does normally apply. I am glad our staff saw fit to compensate for service impacts by removing this charge on this occasion. I am pleased your birthday was a memorable event and we hope to welcome you back to Black Salt again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely venue on Geelong's waterfront”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This restaurant serves wonderful meals. The staff are super friendly and attentive. We have been here twice and have enjoyed each visit very much.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillDLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear JillDLara

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of Black Salt restaurant. I am delighted you have enjoyed all elements of your visits and that you are becoming a regular diner with us! I do hope to meet you on your next visit to Black Salt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Could not fault what they had on offer.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Entree menu for dinner could be a bit more variable. Could have the soufflé as an entree and maybe a chicken dish. Menu could explain the meals a bit more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear vigar

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Black Salt restaurant. We have taken on board your comments in regard to our menu descriptions and you will see this reflected in our new lunch menu and upcoming dinner menu. We hope to see you back at Black Salt soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“25th anniversary”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a beautiful meal had water views service was excellent the waitress was so helpful chatted to us and made us feel special

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Jackie C

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Black Salt restaurant. We are delighted you enjoyed a memorable celebration and that you were made to feel special by the staff. This is the dining experience we aim for all of our patrons to enjoy and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Salt Restaurant also viewed

Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Black Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing