We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Kohinoor

Kohinoor
Ranked #82 of 491 Restaurants in Geelong
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Took some friends here that had never been to anIndian Restaurantin Geelong and they were pleasantly surprised. They loved the quality of the food and the great prices. Ambiance was lacking, and perhapsit needs a bit of a facelift but the food was lovely (andit all came out at the same time as per our request). Being a BYO restaurant adds a few points asit makesit a more affordable evening that one can perhaps do more often. Staff were pleasant and courteous, accepting our Entertainment Voucher without batting an eyelid............ We will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank milla08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

For me dining out is as much about the service as it is the food. Especially when it comes to Indian, when my partner cooks amazingly well. Unfortunately, poor service throughout the evening left many of us in the group feeling indifferent. Incorrect orders, absent dishes, food arriving at all different times (where others were left to watch the rest of the group eat their own dishes before they got cold), waiters leaning right across us to serve, when there was plenty of space to come around the other side, very loud music in the background making it difficult to hear our own conversations, yet alone the waiters taking our orders. But even more disappointing was when this feedback was given to the management, it clearly fell on deaf ears. There's a lot of other Indian restaurants in Geelong. Perhaps it's worth considering an alternative to the Kohinoor if you're looking for more than just good food?...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kaiser-Sosai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It can be a hit and miss affair with the Indian restaurants in Geelong. They all tend to have lovely food however the service can be so varied, ranging from what you would expect to just plain poor. Sadly a recent trip in April 2013 to the Kohinoor in Geelong was just that. The waiters didn't pay attention and that meant we didn't receive food when expected, meat dishes served to the vegetarians and even a curry that we hadn't ordered. When we disputed the incorrect order and requested our correct curry (for our guests), the waiter challenged us that we'd made the mistake. We had ordered using the item # on their menu, so that seemed plain wrong. The waiter then claimed (stated?) that their menus weren't all the same, some having different item numbers for different dishes--seemed odd? The music was too loud and probably didn't help the waiters very much to be fair. Suffice to say, there are a variety of Indian restaurants in Geelong and this one is unlikely to receive our business again based on the lack of interest in acknowledging their faults.

Pete

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Four of us visited the Kohinoor restaurant 13/04/2013 and we were all very pleased. The menu range was big, prices were amazingly cheap and the taste and quality of the food was outstanding. The service was O.K. ambience was nice. A very busy restaurant but you don't have to be a genius to understand why.
If you like Indian cuisine, then this is the place !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank casimir_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

After booking for our calibration of the renewal of our vows over 3 months ago the booking Is canceled it seems now they have another large booking for people who will be spending more money loyal customers mean nothing I will never eat here or recommend it to anyone ever no we have to find another venue in five days

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paulwoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohinoor also viewed

Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Kohinoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing