We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Oscar W's Wharfside - CLOSED

Oscar W's Wharfside
Price range: $40 - $40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is our third visit to Oscars Echuca. We have found the food to be excellent on all three occasions with different menus also on each visit. The staff that waited on our table on our last visit in January 2014 were excellent and always found time to joke with us although the restaurant was quiet busy. The prices were average for that type of dining. The only downside was the flies but hey we live in Australia and flies are everywhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lil_les789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    32
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible use of a great location.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Has been an annual ritual to go to oscars with the family each xmas holidays. Each year has gotten progressively worse with this year being the last straw. Worst steak I have ever had, all other meals were sparse and below average, then came the rude staff and ridiculous prices. So bad went to ice cream store for desert and vowed never to return. Looking forward to finding somewhere new in 2014.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimboes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
“Nice setting poor food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Oscar w has a great setting, good service but the food certainly does not match the price tag,
We had two fish meals (the side of mash tasted better than the fish and it cost extra ) One beer and a bottle of mineral water for a cost in excess of $100.00 !
Sorry but won't go back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZakCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

On a visit from interstate, to the town I grew up in, I suggested getting together with old schoolfriends for drinks at Oscars. Despite not being a busy night, the service was slow and inattentive. Some drinks were made incorrectly. Others, the post-mix was flat. The errors were corrected but my drink with post-mix was simply re-made the same and delivered to the table, again dead flat! When I returned it in protest, service from the head barman went further downhill. For a quality restaurant to not have another alternative to postmix is poor and lacking in service to the customers. After a third failef drink, the barman then became quite rude to me and the whole table noted. The fingerfood we ordered was ordinary. Overall, I quite resented paying the bill at the end. The experience was a let-down and I felt offended. We moved on to other venues. I won't return. I do not accept being punished for exercising my right to return a faulty product, and certainly do not expect to have to do it repeatedly!! Very poor.

Helpful?
1 Thank KateForan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So, so”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We've been to Oscar W's a few times over the years and it has usually been very good. The setting is exceptional and the staff are always friendly and professional. This time, though, my food was very disappointing. I would have told the waiter that I was not impressed but, not surprisingly, I was never asked. It wasn't all bad, but surely that's not good enough. My husband had the steak and was happy enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar W's Wharfside also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing