We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist Attraction”

Port of Echuca Discovery Centre
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Echuca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Port of Echuca is a living monument to the 1870's when it was Australia's largest inland port and indeed the third largest port in Australia outside Sydney and Melbourne. Authentic steam driven paddlesteamers depart daily from the Echuca Wharf which originally extended 333 metres in length in the 1880's and has been recently been reconstructed.Home of the TV series "All the Rivers Run", the Port of Echuca will provide you with a glimpse of what live was really like in the late 1800's. With the new Discovery Centre now open, it is indeed an attraction not to be missed.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Tourist Attraction”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Port of Echuca been renovated and along the espy there are many retail shops boasting the history of Port of Echuca.

It's free of charge to stroll around the Port. My favourites spots were the shop the allow free cycles. (must be quick because they only have 4 bikes), The candy store that still serve the mouth watering fudge, been in business since old days and the craftsman shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mathindri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    222
    54
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Echuca Port and paddlesteamers”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A cruise on the Murray in a genuine paddle steamer is a great experience. You can choose an hour cruise or a longer one with a lovely dinner served on board. If you are a genuine steam buff, check your boats before you book as some a diesel powered. After the boat ride you can book a tour of the wharf precinct. This is a great idea as the guide we had was very knowledgeable about the history of steamers on the Murray, and Darling Rivers. The pass gives you free entry to the wharf after the tour finishes and there are many interactive things to explore.
The wharf area is being upgraded to make it more tourist friendly so some areas were closed to us.
The TV series "All the Rivers Run" with John Waters and Sigrid Thornton was filmed here. To facilitate this and make the wharf compatible with the era of the show, all power lines had to be put underground. Another interesting feature is the kerbside of Red River Gum, rather than the usual concrete.
A restaurant in the precinct boasts a Michelin hat, but we did not visit it.
All in all a very enjoyable and interesting time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAGGAN0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historic site”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Interesting to see the historic port of Echuca, taking in a bit of the old pioneer spirit. And seeing the location where "All the rivers run" was shot, with the autentic paddlesteamers. A visit is recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maddawg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonabara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Town to Explore would stay here again”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our favorite place were the Paddle steamers we had lunch and it was the best experience.So relaxing and great food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Knightvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paddle steamers”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had to climb many stairs to go on the paddle steamer- I have back problems. The ride on the steamer was fantastic - we really enjoyed ourselves so much that we were back before we knew it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Echuca Discovery Centre also viewed

 

Been to Port of Echuca Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing