We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable trip, delicious food”

Port of Echuca Discovery Centre
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Echuca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Port of Echuca is a living monument to the 1870's when it was Australia's largest inland port and indeed the third largest port in Australia outside Sydney and Melbourne. Authentic steam driven paddlesteamers depart daily from the Echuca Wharf which originally extended 333 metres in length in the 1880's and has been recently been reconstructed.Home of the TV series "All the Rivers Run", the Port of Echuca will provide you with a glimpse of what live was really like in the late 1800's. With the new Discovery Centre now open, it is indeed an attraction not to be missed.
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“enjoyable trip, delicious food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

we enjoyed a delicious lunch while steaming on the Murray River on a paddle steamer. we had been shopping all morning so this was a lovely way to relax for 1 1/2 hours

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wisteria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    223
    54
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for family”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

an interesting place with lots to do, see, eat and drink! The full tour ticket with the paddlesteamer ride is worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Step back in history for a great time”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a lovely piece of old world Victoria. We spent some quality time walking around and then had a paddle steamer. Plus an added bonus was the beautiful warm weather.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully preserved history”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been a fan of the old Port of Echuca since I first visited it about 20 years ago. On my recent visit I was very pleased to see that the restoration continues and that the attraction still captires the romantic images and feel of this Murray River town's colonial past.
The highlight of our visitwas a river cruise on the restored Pevensey paddle steamer which is still powered by live steam after around 100 years!
The ride in the old stage coach was fun, if a little short.
Echuca is well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“always fantastic”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We came from Echuca many years ago. Swimming in the Murray River brings back wonderful memories for us. The Murray in its present dirty state is very sad; as children swimming the Murray we drank the water when we swam; wouldn;t do it now!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Echuca Discovery Centre also viewed

 

Been to Port of Echuca Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing