We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”
Review of Echuca Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Echuca Gardens
Ranked #7 of 13 Echuca B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is to be recommended a true value experience with great location . Just a short walk to cafés ,hotels, main shopping area. After morning and afternoon walks you can jrelax in a quirky style of accommodation from cottages to hostels with the wagons in there as well, we have rebooked after our first weekend as Echuca is a great getaway , there is all ways some function on from sports to boating to music and car festivals.
The shopping strip is different from your normal run of the mill places with interesting items to be purchased

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Echuca Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed in a Gypsy wagon in February 2014. Was a little warm for this Tasmanian but air con worked well.
Kym the owner could not have been more helpful and the fact that is was quiet and private made, it a very enjoyable experience, particularly as I was travelling alone.
Great bed and plenty of power points. I could recharge laptop, ereader and mobile phone and still use the electric jug without retrieving my trusty powerboard from the car.
Careful attention had been paid to layout of the kitchen which had everything I needed.
Great bed and everything was very clean and what I think were homemade biscuits were just too tempting.
Will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We generally try and stay in different hotels when we travel rather than your bland hotel room. We stayed in a Gypsy wagon for one night, communication with Kim was good to book and he made us feel welcome and was very helpful on arrival. The wagons are very cute, well decorated (to theme) and clean, they contain every thing you need for a short stay, tv, everything you need to cook a small meal if wanted, towels, etc. ideal if you don't want to spend too much time in the wagon, they are small inside, I can't imagine the would be comfortable for a person on the bigger or taller side. However if you are just wanting somewhere interesting to sleep, these are perfect. Easy 15 min walk to cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was our second year at Echuca Gardens for the Riverboats Festival, and we'll be back next year for sure. The location is ideal; far enough away from town to be private, but only a pleasant 5 min. walk through the bush has you in the heart of Echuca and all it's charms.
Kym is very accomodating and always up for a chat. He has done a great job on the cottage, recently upgrading the kitchen and bathrooms and is a cosy place for a group of friends to spend the weekend. The rates a very reasonable and if you are travelling to Echuca, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed at Echuca Gardens for the weekend of Riverboats Music Festival and absolutely loved it.
The rooms are beautifully decorated in cool kitsch native Aus theme which I loved and are very generously sized. The rooms and bathrooms were incredibly clean - very impressive.
Kim is so helpful both in booking and also while staying. He had so much local knowledge and was so helpful to us while staying.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelaclaremart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights, everything was perfect. Kym the owner was helpful and has really made a great venue, nice garden to sit in, everything was neat and well looked after, location was great, easy walk into town and the Port to paddle steamers. The gypsy caravan was not only unique, but everything was provided for a cosy weekend for a couple, we just had our overnight bag. Décor was great, bed comfy, plenty of crockery and decent sized glasses for the bottle of wine we brought. We didn't eat in, but there was a microwave and toaster if we wanted. A nice Hotel round the corner for a decent pub meal was great. In the morning, Tea, coffee, sugar and yummy Anzac/oat biscuits which were either homemade or from a nice bakery, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We made a last minute decision to obtain accommodation at Echuca Gardens so we didn't arrive until 6pm and had to leave at 9am but I wish we'd stayed for longer - we loved it!

Upon arrival we were greeted so warmly by the host who showed us two accommodation choices we were able to pick between - the cottage or the guest house. They were both fantastic! Very clean facilities and comfortable accommodation; plus the surrounding gardens are luscious and welcoming.

We chose the cottage as we didn't require as much space as the guest house provides. There is a small kitchen with all the utensils/crockery necessary. Two bedrooms - both with air conditioning, ensuites and balconies; and one bedroom with a sitting room with TV. We sat and had a drink on the master room balcony with planter boxes around, a roof to shield us from the sunshine, it was so lovely! And there were additional chairs provided - they'd thought of everything!!

On looking through the Guest House, I was blown away by the accommodation provided - the kitchen and loungeroom were huge and had every amenity you could want; we wanted to bring all our friends back there!

The host, Kym, was friendly, helpful and informative. He gave us great local advice on what to see and do and restaurant options - which we took up and were not disappointed!

The best part was the price!! It was soooo reasonable, something you don't see much anymore! We stayed over the Southern 80 weekend when accommodation is at a premium but the cost was still what I consider cheap :-)

The only thing we found is that it's not overly close to the CBD, although its still close to some nearby facilities and things to see.

In all, exceptional accommodation withi great facilities, a friendly host and very reasonable prices. We've already booked my next stay and cannot wait!!

Room Tip: Depending on the size you want, but the manager was very helpful and informative about what suits be...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherree_3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Echuca
0.6 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#2 of 18 in Echuca
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Echuca
Quest Echuca
#1 of 12 in Echuca
545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Echuca Holiday Park
Echuca Holiday Park
#2 of 12 in Echuca
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Discovery Parks – Echuca
1.0 mi away
Moama Central Motel
Moama Central Motel
#4 of 11 in Moama
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nirebo Motel
Nirebo Motel
#9 of 18 in Echuca
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echuca Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echuca Gardens

Address: 103 Mitchell St, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Echuca
Price Range: $58 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Echuca Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected and featured on Getaway, Echuca Gardens is an outstanding combination of self contained accommodation located in Echuca on the Murray River. Choose between the gypsy wagons (1-2 persons), guesthouse (3-5 persons) or the 150 year old fully restored timber cutters cottage (6-10 persons). Each are surrounded by magnificent private water gardens and historic murals painted by the resident host.The property is centrally located, at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac adjoining 600ha of state forest, the Murray River, historic port and town centre are all within walking distance. Note - the wagons measure 2.5 x 8.5 meters and all units are located in a back garden with parking out front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Echuca Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echuca Gardens Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing