We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How high can you reach!”
Review of Rivergum Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rivergum Motel
Ranked #3 of 13 Echuca B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed one night in a small family room which had 2 bedrooms. We paid $99 with no meals. Rooms were clean but problem with the rooms. The mattress on the queen size bed in the main bed/living room was sagging on one side with a "hill" to climb to get on to the middle of the bed. Bedside table on only one side of the bed with one lamp - too bad if you both wanted to read! One of the single beds in the other bedroom was comfortable but no bedside table or lamps and only one weak light overhead. It was very cold the night we stayed but the switch to turn the airconditioner on was located near the ceiling cornice, next to the airconditioner! Most people would need to balance up on a chair, as I did to turn it on. Would move closer into town and all of the facilities, eateries etc. next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivergumEchuca, Owner at Rivergum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

$99 dollars for a family room with 2 rooms which sleep 4 and you would like a free breakfast for all of you .Wow ! You never popped into the office and mentioned anything about the beds ? We have never had a complaint about the air-conditioner switch ! the key is to just ask as if you are too short one of our staff could turn it on for you. Thats your choice if you want to stay in the centre of town which is about a 3 min drive but i assure you the price will be much higher and i find it hard to believe free breakfast would be included in a family room for $99. Happy travelling Dean & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this motel. The room was a bit old but the beds were very comfortable, shower hot and the cooked breakfast included in the room cost of $77 was delicious.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful to the point of giving us a dessert out of their own fridge when we mentioned that the chinese restaurant down the road didn't have any on the menu.
I would definitely recommend this motel for value for money and friendliness and made our stay in Echuca even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisteria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivergumEchuca, Owner at Rivergum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

lol yes i do remember giving you and your friend a dessert. We try to go out of our way for our guests thanks for your comments regard Dean & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for one night in Feb 2013, Motel is older, rooms look about 1970s. We paid $77 for a Friday night stay which included a cooked breakfast. The managers/owners were very friendly and helpful. Although the motel is old the room was very clean and comfortable. We purchased take away Chinese food from restaurant across the road which was possibly the tastiest I have had. The motel has a pool, tennis court, playground and BBQ area which were all available for use. The only fault I could say is the air conditioner - very old, filter dirty and it was struggling to cool the room. Overall though for $77 including a lovely cooked breakfast it was great value .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBF053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivergumEchuca, Owner at Rivergum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Thanks for your comments we take all of them in we have done many refurbishments to our motel since your stay. Hope to see you again regards Dean & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had to make a quick trip to Echuca Victoria, as I had a funeral to attend. I searched and booked via Wotif.com and got a great deal of $77 plus breakfast. Even though the Motel is 3 Star and older, it is very clean and comfortable. The Staff are lovely and were very helpful as I needed a florist and directions to particular places. Nothing was too much for them. I recommend if you are looking for budget accommodation, it's definitely well worth the stay.

Room Tip: I stayed at the back of the Motel in the non-smoking and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivergumEchuca, Owner at Rivergum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

We have done many renovations since your stay and hope to see you again . Regards Dean & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Far from being luxury accomodation as the sign out the front claims - the rooms are old and very tired and have ancient old fashion box-in-a-wall air conditioners which could not cope summer heat. The room was like an oven. Even with the air-conditioner on for many hours it never cooled down. There was no way my young family would have been able to sleep there.
When we decided to leave, the female owner was unconcerned, rude, obnoxious and deducted a "cleaning fee" from the refund because, as she said, "I have to cover my expenses". Clearly customer service was the last thing on her mind! I will never ever stay there again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivergumEchuca, Owner at Rivergum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

I remember your stay it was when we had a heat wave in victoria and it was like 44 degrees ! We moved you twice into different rooms and tried our best but that was not good enough. I suggest not holidaying in extreme weather conditions as it doesnt matter where you stay it is very hot unless you are prepared to jump in the pool like the majority of guests and cool down. My wife and staff are absolutely wonderful people with a customer service rating of 9.3 on booking.com as we speak. I find your comments very hard to believe. You used two family rooms and the facility's for half the day and you expect that for free. We charged you a small cleaning fee and refunded your accommodation which most companys
would have not. Have a look at the new signs on your way past next time regards Dean & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

have just come back from echuca and stayed at the echuca river gum motor inn.the owners are so very warm and accomodating.we payed 77dollars a night and was given the choice of a cooked breakfast or a continental inclusive of the $77.The owners cannot do enought to make your stay pleasant, and if you go up by train they will pick you up from the station,as well free travel to and from all the clubs in town. Iwill certainly be returning there in the near future. Thankyou Karen for a most enjoyable stay. The rooms are looking a bit tired but they are in the processs of redocorating the rooms, so don;t let that put you off.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skankyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivergumEchuca, Owner at Rivergum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Thanks and yes we are getting there its customers like you that just make you feel appreciated and knowing we try our best thanks Dean & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We booked at this motel originally for 2 nights but ended up staying another night. Our room was perfect for what we wanted. We had a baby so just needed somewhere clean as a base while we visited friends camping on the Murray. The room was spacious enough for us to have the portacot up. Everyone was extremely friendly. The bed was comfortable, shower worked great. Was on the highway so was easy for us to get to the river and back without going into town.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikollay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivergumEchuca, Owner at Rivergum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Thanks we appreciate Dean & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Echuca
0.2 mi away
All Rivers Motor Inn
All Rivers Motor Inn
#16 of 18 in Echuca
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Coach Motor Inn
Old Coach Motor Inn
#7 of 18 in Echuca
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pevensey Motor Lodge
Pevensey Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Echuca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Moama Central Motel
Moama Central Motel
#7 of 11 in Moama
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
High Street Motel
High Street Motel
#8 of 18 in Echuca
47 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nirebo Motel
Nirebo Motel
#9 of 18 in Echuca
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivergum Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivergum Motel

Address: 85/97 - 103 Northern Hwy, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Echuca
Price Range: $71 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivergum Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome everyone to our Motel for a pleasant and affordable stay.We pride ourselves on customer service and make everyone feel at home for what ever reason there stay . Nothing is a problem just ask ! "Arrive as a guest leave as a friend " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rivergum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivergum Motel Echuca, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing