We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirebo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nirebo Motel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

First time in Echuca and we stayed at Nirebo and we could not have found a better location. It is very close to the port,shopsand cafe's. The rooms were very clean and did not smell. The pool was a hit with my kids due to the hot weather it became very usefull. Kids forgot there ds and chargers in the room and an hour after leaving we got a call from Nirebo that they found these in the room. Lucky for me the manager of nirebo was coming to melbourne the next day and met up with him and returned my kids item. From my experience I would also say that managment and staff are very honest people which for me is comforting to know when I go back to Nirebo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NireboMgr, Owner at Nirebo Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Frank V

Thanks for the review. its great that everyone enjoyed there stay and that the kids will continue to enjoy their DS's. I am please to say with some confidence that all of the staff are very honest and you would believe what some people leave behind.

All the best for the New Year and i look forward to seeing you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    89
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
34
86
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our first stay here, in town for a family wedding so our extended family all stayed here, & found it very clean, spacious (room 15 was ours), comfortable bed, & all amenities provided. A microwave, kettle, toaster, crockery, cutlery all provided, so could easily bring your own breakfast goodies & prepare in the room, if you want to save a bit more. The only possible drawback (& it's my husband's gripe with almost all motels/hotels these days) - instead of sheets & blankets, a doona was provided, which he always finds way too hot for sleeping comfort. Otherwise, a lovely room, with a 2 seater sofa in the spacious living area, as well as a table & 4 chairs. Iron & ironing board in the closet if you need one, hairdryer, large screen TV etc etc. (Didn't use or see the fitness centre & spa to rate these.)

Room Tip: Room 15 on the ground floor (at the far end from Reception) was very spacious. Car park available ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NireboMgr, Owner at Nirebo Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Cheryl P

What a lovely review - thank you. If someone could design a nice bed spread then I would happily return to the good old blanket. When we took over the motel the beds had blankets and the bed spreads were nice but really did not do it for me. So to create that modern look we had to move to doonas - AAA will also take points away from a property that has bed spreads these days. So what can you do.

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of the amenties but am at a loss to know where our fitness centre is or where you read about it. If you feel inclined can you drop me a line so that i can investigate this?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've stayed at the Nirebo on several occasions, and plan to do so again soon. It's very close to the Port, historic and usual touristy places, so we walked everywhere, including across to Moama. On our last visit (using V/Line train+bus for a change, instead of our car), we found that the pickup/dropoff point was just 5 minutes away. Being light sleepers, having a back room eliminated street noise. Our rooms have been clean, well-maintained, comfortable, quiet, and the bathroom area modernised and roomy. Good value for money. Would have liked a microwave, but made do with the toaster. Staff were friendly and helpful. Don't be misled by the "ordinary" exterior.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NireboMgr, Owner at Nirebo Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi GeoffB65

Always nice to see people return. Given our central location it nice that ours rooms are still quiet. If you had of asked we could have provided a microwave - so next time ask.

All the best for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Nirebo Motel has a bit of a gloomy exterior, but the rooms have been recently renovated and are clean and fresh. The best aspect of this motel is its proximity to the Port of Echuca and all the restaurants and shops in the historic portion of town. I stayed on the Mebourne Cup public holiday and as a result there was no breakfast service which I thought was a bit strange. This was in keeping with the rest of the town which essentially closed up for the holiday. Luckily, I could cross the border to Moama in NSW where all the restaurants and cafes were open. Otherwise the Nirebo is a good option for those wanting to spend a couple of days in Echuca.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NireboMgr, Owner at Nirebo Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Mark S

Thanks for the review. I am working on a plan for the exterior - I just need to get the new color scheme approved by council. The rooms are only part way through being refurbished so the next time you come you should see more of a change.

All the best for the New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location is great... Near shops and touristy area. eg: restaurants, boat cruises etc. Motel room had a comfortable double bed and a single... Air con was quite. Shower was great and big... plenty of room. Water pressure good too. We stayed in room 4.. Had a kettle and hair dryer .Room was cleaned daily. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NireboMgr, Owner at Nirebo Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Maris55

Thank you for your review. Its great we can get the fundamentals right. It even better when they will see you come back again. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having been visiting Echuca on a regular basis for the past 25 years, I decided to give the Nirebo Motel a try this time around. Stayed in one of the petite rooms (Room 8). Yes, it's small, but is adequate for a single person or a couple. I only use rooms to shower & sleep, so it's ideal having the option of a smaller, cheaper room. Bed & pillows were comfortable - no sagging mattress. Huge shower! The room was clean & the free wi-fi internet was a surprisingly nice bonus. Management were extremely accommodating & allowed me to leave my car parked on the premises when I arrived early & again when I wanted to stay & continue to enjoy Echuca on the day I was returning home. This may not be the case if someone else is moving into the room the same day, but I struck it lucky! All in all, a very pleasant experience. Yes,I will certainly be staying here again when I return to Echuca. Thanks, Rodney!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NireboMgr, Manager at Nirebo Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Anne363

Thanks for the review it is appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The petite Double room is a fuss free option if all you are going to do is catch some sleep in it. We always try and do our best to accomodate requests particularily parking - given our proximity to everything Echuca has to offer.

Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Read all reviews on this forum re this hotel, decided to give it a go. Arrived early and was warmly greeted by manager. Booked a "Petite" Double so not expecting anything to much. Pleasantly surprised, small room but clean and tidy with all you need. Very comfortable bed and pillows great location and free wi fi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raylene11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NireboMgr, Owner at Nirebo Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Raylene11

I have been a bit slack over the festive season in getting back to people but thank you for taking the time toi review our motel. The Petite Double room is by far one of our most popular room types because it is affordable and comfortable. I am also one of the firm believers that you should not have to pay for internet when staying at a motel - hence the reason ours is free.

All the best for the New Year and i hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Echuca hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#2 of 18 in Echuca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Settlement
Comfort Inn Settlement
#11 of 18 in Echuca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#3 of 18 in Echuca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Georgian Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Pevensey Motor Lodge
Pevensey Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Echuca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirebo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirebo Motel

Property: Nirebo Motel
Address: 251 Hare St, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Echuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirebo Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to the historic port area and fronting the Murray River the Nirebo Motel is your ideal destination. Echuca offers so may things to see and do - you can stroll back into history by exploring Australia's largest inland port, take a trip on one of the world renowned paddle-steamers or absorb the culture by browsing through the many churches, museums and historically significant buildings. The bustling city offers a wide variety of well known restaurants - Oscar Ws (Modern Contemporary), Niks (Greek) and Antonios (Italian) are just a few within easy walking distance. For those that need to buy a gift before returning home or just like to poke around the shops then you will not be disappointed with the variety and quality Echuca has to offer. The motel has frontages on both main streets: High and Hare Streets. The reception is located on the Hare Street entrance. The building is double brick and all 42 rooms have been meticulously maintained to a 4 star standard and have reverse cycle air conditioning, Austar, cable and Wifi internet and mini fridges. There is a restaurant onsite that offers breakfast only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nirebo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirebo Motel Echuca, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing