We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished king suite recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Port of Echuca
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Certificate of Excellence
Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Refurbished king suite recommended”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor king suite and were most impressed. Bathroom obviously had been refurbished with bath and separate shower. Big room, bed was extremely comfortable. As per other reviews, good walking distance from the main street and the Port. We did not eat at the property but chose to walk a little way to a Greek Taverna (which was good). Room was very clean as is expected of a Mercure property. We have stayed at this property before and found the rooms at the front of the building (upstairs) to be quite dated. Hence us taking the more expensive king room ground floo this timer. However, it seems as though the property is undergoing refurbishment. Recommend this particular room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Nelliebob

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We always love hearing how much our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and it certainly seems that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Superior King Rooms. Our location is perfect for seeing everything Echuca has to offer without ever needing the car. We are going through a refurbishment to bring all our rooms up to this standard. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.


Kind regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    178
    71
    16
    9
See reviews for
71
230
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

An aging establishment in a great location for accessing the major attractions of Echuca. The comfortable rooms clearly had been recently refurbished with updated bathrooms, new carpeting, paint-work and fit-out, but the color scheme of white walls and dark brown furniture is rather bland. In one of the two rooms we occupied, the queen bed was too soft - fortunately, the room's second bed, a single, was firm. Overall, the rooms offered good value.
The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful, but the hotel appeared to be understaffed. One person on the reception desk during busy periods led to lengthy delays for guests. Two staff manned the bar and dining-room, working these areas as best as they could (no criticism of the effort they put in). The kitchen was something of a disaster on the one night we ate there; food was very slow in arriving and of mediocre quality (we later discovered that a new chef was on duty). There are several places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter-at-the-grove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Peter-at-the-grove

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests about their time with us. We will certainly take on board your comments about the decor of the rooms and I am glad that you found the rooms to be good value. We are currently looking into our staffing levels. I am sorry to see that you you didn't enjoy your dinner - we have a new menu available now and have addressed the issues with wait times and quality of the food. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.


Kind regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel like they cared. Nice and clean room. The happy hour at the bar was great. To be able to chat with the owner over a beer was excellent. You don't see that anyone. I'll be back for sure on my next trip. A special thanks to Marg who made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Jaxon B

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We always love hearing how much our guests have enjoyed their stay and the service provided. I will pass on your special thanks to Marg I am sure she will appreciate it. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.


Kind regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this property in late August, en route to Mildura.

The reception staff were very friendly (and have since helped us sort out the recovery of a pair of hiking boots mistakenly left behind).

The property is quite large, well presented and very clean. It is a short, pleasant walk from the port precinct. I understand from other reviews that some of the rooms have lovely new bathrooms with rain showers, while others still have the original bathrooms. While we were provided with quite a large room, it came with a dated bathroom, so we appear to have lucked out in that regard.

Our room was very clean and perfectly functional, however I do need to mention that there were a couple of aspects of this bathroom which I wouldn’t consider up to standard of an Accor property. Firstly, the side of our spa bath appeared to be broken, leaving the inside motor exposed, and secondly, there was a large slash across the bathroom vanity mirror (almost as though someone had vandalized it with a razor) which was quite unpleasant.

While I understand that the bathroom upgrades are ongoing, the issues with the bathroom in room 51 really do need to be fixed in the short term (and the room probably shouldn’t be rented out to guests in the meantime). All in all, a pleasant stay made better by hospitable staff. Just avoid room 51 for the bathroom!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruffleQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi TruffleQueen

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We always appreciated hearing from our guests about their stay with us. I am delighted that you found our reception staff very friendly and they were able to help you retrieve your hiking boots. We are in the middle of renovating our rooms so the next time you phone to book please feel free to request an upgraded room.

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the mirror and the spa. It is comments like these that allow us fix problems that can sometimes fall through the cracks. Maintenance will certainly be taking care of these problems promptly.

We look forward to you staying with us again and hopefully this time you will be able to enjoy a refurbished room.


Kind regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed two nights booked off the internet. The photo of the room is not the one we got. Our room was clean with amenities but older and out dated. There was no where to sit and watch TV had to lay on the bed. The bed was too soft and the large spa which was in the room was nice but noisy while partner watched the footy. The bar and restaurant was not open on Friday night which was disappointing as l will book motels that have their own bar and restaurants (it states open in the pamphlet)
Had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant the next day and it was lovely. Staff were nice.
It is walking distance to shops, cafes and the port.
Would stay again but would request the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front were noisy on Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi KIMC001

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We always love hearing from our guests. I am sorry that the room you were given was not the one on the internet you saw - we are in the process of updating all our photos to prevent this from happening. I will pass on your comments about the lack of a lounge, the bed and the spa to the owner. Our restaurant is now once again open on Friday nights and I am glad to see that you enjoyed both your breakfast and dinner on the Saturday. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The staff were very helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean, the only downer was the pillows were too hard for my liking. The restaraunt had a wide choice, especially gluten free.
It was very close to the town centre and the port so we walked everywhere
Our family will be staying here again next time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Margaret345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Margaret345

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us as you obviously did. Our restaurant does have a wonderful variety of gluten free options and our staff members always pride themselves in providing the best possible service. We look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future.


Kind Regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Echuca hotels
0.3 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#3 of 18 in Echuca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa
0.4 mi away
CocknBull Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Settlement
Comfort Inn Settlement
#9 of 18 in Echuca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Georgian Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Pevensey Motor Lodge
Pevensey Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Echuca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Port of Echuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Port of Echuca

Property: Mercure Port of Echuca
Address: 465 High St, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Echuca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Echuca
#5 Business Hotel in Echuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Port of Echuca 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Port of Echuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Port Of Echuca Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing