We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Echuca delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Port of Echuca
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Echuca delight”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from Echuca having stayed ~ Frid and Sat. Night I feel justified in giving my opinion to any who may wish to read. We had an anniversary weekend and headed to SUNNY ECHUCA .... And yes we had sunshine !
We found Mecure - Port of Echuca ~ Spotless, roomy, fresh and refurbished!!!!
Had read couple of reviews by people who may have been a bit of hard work and difficult to please, but totally the reverse of what we found.
Staff members Helen, Gail, and others were very pleasant, chatty! Informative and taking pride in what can sometimes be a difficult job. Our room was refreshed virtually minutes after we left to go too breakfast in the Resturant - Sat. Morning!!
On our return from a delicious brekky we popped back to our room, collecting my bag ect , heading out for a day of sightseeing and being given lots of info by Helen ~ we set off for a great day!
Our accomadation was not noisy! extremely quiet, hubby and I usually are early risers but managed to really relax and enjoy the serenity and have a little sleep in.
The gardens are looking good for this time of year, too chilly to go poolside however I could see it would be very inviting , if it was summer! Well done to these ladies we met, we would highly recommend and actually I did, to a workmate today who now will be booking in, with his wife and another couple.... who have decided to check out the Music weekend in July! Thank you for a lovely stay and we will definitely be coming back again! Thank you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PheobeVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi PhoebeVictoria

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback about us. We take great pride in the level of service provided to guests and it is always lovely to hear from people who have obviously enjoyed themselves. Thank you for recommending us to your work colleague and we will be looking forward to their stay with us over the music weekend in July and also your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    184
    74
    18
    9
See reviews for
75
237
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very family friendly stay. We were travelling with two kids and the room had a queen and a single bed. we requested a rollaway bed and it was quickly arranged without any charges.
Service was very good and reception staff provided information for the local festival ( some steal engine festival) which was happening during the weekend. Without them mentioning we would not have known it and we really had a great time there.
Bathrooms need some renovation however the rooms are quite big and accomodating. Location is good with walking distance to McDoanlds, subway, and local market. May be one km walk and you can catch the ferries.
Overall, a great place to relax and enjoy the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank mayank150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Mayank150

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed the steam rally. Being located near the centre of Echuca we are in the perfect location for sightseeing and enjoying the shopping and markets Echuca provides.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great to see Mercure in Echuca, the room was great and the service fantastic, special mention to the receptionist Aimee, she has a great future in hospitality with her enthusiasm and friendly assistance.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank dennismcilwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Dennismcilwain

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your room and service and I will pass on your message to Aimee I am sure she will be pleased you remembered her.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were very disappointed ,room heater was badly damaged and thermostat was not working.It was so hot we had to leave the bathroom exhaust fan on all night. There seemed to be what looked like blood splatter on wall under vanity. The room was dirty and the brick walls were covered with dust. No meals were available Sunday night , wich was not mentioned when booked ,so couldn't use our A card. Generally very poor and not up to Accor standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank WIllowQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi WillowQueensland

We are always disappointed to hear that our reviewers didn’t enjoy their stay. I would like to take this opportunity to address some of the problems that you had while staying here. I have spoken to the housekeepers about the “blood splatter” on the wall under the vanity and this is actually drops of varnish rather than blood. They take great pride in the cleanliness of the rooms. I apologise that you were not told that the restaurant was not open on Sunday evenings and this has been addressed with reception staff.

We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in Echuca and give us another chance to prove what wonderful place this is to stay.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We didn't pre-book, and as Accor members, we were happy to see that Mercure have taken over the motel.
Accommodation - We were in one of the newly refurbished King rooms at the front of the property, on the main road, and stayed for two nights. The room was immaculate, and spacious - housekeeping very good all round. (Two very minor issues - there were only 2 coathangers in the wardrobe, and there needs to be a hook on the back of the bathroom door).
Restaurant - Buffet breakfast was not extensive, but fresh and plentiful.
Dinner menu - again not a huge choice, but something for everyone - the lamb rump and the scotch fillet steak were excellent main course; so were the coconut prawns and duck shanks entrees. No room left for desserts! Wine list - good choices at reasonable prices.
Staff - all very helpful, friendly and efficient.
Verdict - very good, and improved out of sight from the last time we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, as the whole property has not been updated as yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Mariner2

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here as we take great pride in the services that we provide. I will discuss with housekeeping your concerns with the coat hangers and the possibilities of putting a hook in the bathroom door.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked in for a Friday night, then decided to stay for Saturday also as we liked the central location of the motel. The room we had was a refurbished Superior King. Could not fault it. The room was clean & spacious, with a comfy KS bed, and a full size sofa in the room. The bathroom was also good, and there was a separate sink and bench with kettle & toaster. Our room faced the main road, so yes, traffic noise is high, but that is to be expected when adjacent to a busy road (we closed the windows, which then blocked the noise). The girl at reception was very friendly & helpful, even coming over to our room to fix our TV - great service. Would certainly stay here again when visiting Echuca.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelle16, Food & Beverage Supervisor at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Jasmine745

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed one of our refurbished Superior King rooms and the level of service that you were provided with.

We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lisa
Mercure Port of Echuca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently booked a group of my team in to this place never again the number of threatening phone calls I received from management was pathetic. One of the girls had a medical condition and was taken away in an ambulance even whilst the medical team were trying to get the girl into the ambulance the management at this motel were threatening and more worried about blood on the carpet than the girls health. Not once did they ask about her health. The only thing they were interested in was money. For your information the girl way admitted to hospital was given two blood transfusions and underwent a 4 hour operation thanks for asking you pathetic Non humans. They also over charged me for there standard room a so called 4 star room was 170 a night and when we arrived we were placed in 3.5 star rooms at the same price. Would I recommend this place the answer is NO

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager865, Manager at Mercure Port of Echuca, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
while we appreciate all feedback from our guests, we feel we are being misrepresented in this situation.
Our concern first and foremost was for the girl in the room. We contacted the ambulance for her and have followed up with her room mate regarding her condition. This group were nothing but trouble while staying here, after numerous documented complaints from fellow guests they were asked to quieten down on several occasions.. they showed no concern for the comfort of other guests staying on the property. It has cost 2 thousand dollars to repair the room after their stay. We were abused when we contacted this guest and are considering further action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Echuca hotels
0.4 mi away
CocknBull Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#2 of 18 in Echuca
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Settlement
Comfort Inn Settlement
#10 of 18 in Echuca
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echuca Philadephia Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
The Georgian Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Port of Echuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Port of Echuca

Property: Mercure Port of Echuca
Address: 465 High St, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Echuca
#5 Business Hotel in Echuca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Echuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Port of Echuca 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Port of Echuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Port Of Echuca Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing