We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Coach Motor Inn Echuca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Coach Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Royal Coach Motor Inn Echuca”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little old fashioned and could do with an update ( especially the Bathroom ) but the bed was comfortable and the overall cleanliness was good.
For the type of holiday we were on it was very adequate and we were out and about so much we did not spend a lot of time in it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnomack62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    12
    10
    0
See reviews for
28
43
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the old coach motor inn for 1 night in the 2 bedroom unit while visiting echuca to attend a wedding. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean and spacious the unit was for the price (nothing else available in echuca for the price!). The owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful and even offered us a lift to the wedding we attended. We would definitely stay here again next time we visit echuca.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lauzz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great value and perfect for a base to explore echuca. Such friendly hosts, who were only too happy to help us with any questions or advice. The motel itself is very satisfactory, and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SticksK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked in here at the last minute sight unseen because we just needed somewhere to crash after a function in town. The 'family room' seemed like good value for the 3 of us. Based on the cost, we didn't expect too much. Sadly, it failed to meet even our modest expectations. Immediately on arrival I had to shoulder open the jammed door to our 'family' room which was a standard size room with 3 beds shoe horned into it. The advertised 'living area' was a table and 2 chairs pushed against one wall reducing the space even more. I don't know what colour the plush pile carpets were when they were laid back in 1970 something, but they are now filthy and stained. Everywhere we looked, we could see they were cost cutting at the expense of even modest quality. There was no iron in the room and there is no phone in the room to contact reception to ask for one. The lighting throughout was dim, dingy and inadequate. To get any decent light in the bathroom you have to have the heater light on. The clock was unplugged, the lamps were unplugged, The towels old and tiny, the soaps tiny, the toilet paper provided is individual sheets (since when?). What was probably an average motel in its day is now just past it. If it wasn't for the popularity of Echuca itself, this place wouldn't survive. We didn't dare try breakfast. It couldn't possibly have been good enough to get us back there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Owner at Old Coach Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Doug,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that you found the room not to your liking. We are very surprised to read your comments about the room and would like to respond in kind to your thoughts:

A standard size motel room - an average motel sized room is 6 squares our family is over 9 squares so well over the standard size of a motel room. Our guests often give us excellent feedback regarding the size of our family rooms.

Standard features on a family room - to help you better understand when next staying in a family room the majority will come with the beds in the same room. If you do not want this you will need to upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment and that way you will have seperate beds in seperate rooms.
In regards to your living area there is a table and two chairs plus you forgot in your review to mention the other two chairs and desk area that is in the room. To be classed as a spacious area there must be a minimum of 4 square metres of free floor space which this rooms has.

Lighting in the bathroom - the bathroom has one normal light, one light attached to the xl tastic and two heat lamps which also light the bathroom. For future reference the majority of 3.5 star motels will not have xl tastics in bathrooms which we included in this room for extra comfort for our guests.

Carpet - in regards to the carpet the majority of our guests prefer having a higher standard quality carpet. In regards to it being laid in the 70's the rooms are less than 10 years old and the carpet is less than 3. The carpet was steam cleaned just over a month ago and vacummed daily and upon inspection this morning we failed to see where your comments were accurate about the state of the carpet.

Soaps/Towels - we are not sure what motels you have previously stayed at to recieve soaps that are larger than the ones we provide because we are yet to find a larger soap that is packaged, unless you were provided with unpackaged soap which we would not do due to hygiene issues. In regards to our towels again the motels you must have been staying in must be supplying extra large towels as ours are standard size. Just for reference our towels were purchased under 6 months ago.

Breakfast - as you will see in other customers reviews our breakfasts are very much enjoyed and yes we do have customers coming back just because we supply a great large cooked breakfast. Upon check in you declined breakfast even before you went in the room so a bit unsure why you wouldn't dare try our breakfasts.

Our Business - if you compare us with other 3.5 star motels we rank higher than most in Echuca. Our prices (which you mentioned) are one of the best value motels in Echuca. We are rapt that you seem to like Echuca and yes we do rely on the popularity of our great city to keep our business running as we are a tourism town but reading other guests reviews you will see are going above and beyond to meet the majority of our customers expectations.

Your modest expectations - unfortunately these have not been met which as mentioned we are very surprised with. To be able to accommodate your family for $135 on a saturday night, in a spacious room at 3.5 stars would meet the modest expectations of most guests. In our two years of running this motel we havent had one guest complain about this room so if this does not meet your requirements you may need to consider upgrading to 4-5 star room in future.

Thank you for your comments and we do value our customers feedback and do take it on board however we feel in regards to your review your modest expectations of a motel room are more in line with a 4.5-5 star room with which we have never pretended to be or never advertised to be.

For other guests looking to book our family room or any of our rooms we can assure you that you will be pleasantly surprised as to the rooms we have on offer and the excellent value for money you will get when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The rooms are relatively inexpensive, clean and comfortable, and the hosts Sean & Amber Goggin are friendly and very helpful with advice on best places to eat and visit. They also ordered the courtesy bus to take out for dinner. Rooms closer to the highway may be a bit noisy but we were about four units back and had no noise problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAGGAN0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I think previous reviewers have been a bit harsh on this one. Nice family running an aged but very clean, efficient and friendly place to stay. The room was clean, everything worked, the wifi was free and worked fine (considering the rural location - the pocket wifi I brought didn't work at all so their wifi was a lifesaver) the pool was immaculate and breakfast was very well cooked, hot and fresh. For $80 a night it was a winner in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I think the majority of tripadvisor reviewers must have stayed in a different motel to me. This is the worst place I have stayed in. It is in desperate need of a facelift. The sink was cracked, the shower screen broken, the kettle was on the blink and even the bedside clock was noisy and on its last legs. No wonder the clock was switched off when we got there. The motel is on a very busy highway and it was incredibly noisy. Our next door neighbours were also heavy smokers and smoke constantly drifted into our unit.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Echuca hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#2 of 18 in Echuca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Settlement
Comfort Inn Settlement
#9 of 18 in Echuca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Echuca Philadephia Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Georgian Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Pevensey Motor Lodge
Pevensey Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Echuca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Coach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coach Motor Inn

Property: Old Coach Motor Inn
Address: 288 Ogilvie Ave, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Echuca
#5 Family Hotel in Echuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Coach Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Coach Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Coach Motor Inn Echuca, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing