We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad, would stay again.”
Review of Paddlewheel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paddlewheel Motel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“not bad, would stay again.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way home to melbourne. We were shown two rooms, the standard being really small and the superior much better. They offered superior at no extra cost as I was unable to manage smaller room due to being on crutches. The room was large and suited our needs. The only bit of feedback would be that the bathroom was very small. and the ceiling sloped making it feeling closed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here recently with a colleague overnight for business purposes - we had a two room apartment. The main room was large but also had the living area and kitchen, whereas the second room was smaller with two single beds. I can see that it would be perfect for a family stay. Comfortable enough, and the heating worked well. Like all hotels in Echuca, it's located on a busy road, but during the night there wasn't much traffic noise except for passing trucks. I would probably consider staying here again if I was on holiday rather than a work trip, as it was good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone_a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khancoban, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed overnight after spending a cold day on a motorcycle.
Got into the room and turned on the window rattler air-con. Man, was that thing noisy. The room was freezing cold so I left it on while I went out to get something to eat.
I got back a half hour later and the room was still cold, so I reluctantly cranked it up to deafening, I mean high, in an attempt to get warm. This didn't work.
I tried to watch a movie on sky but the TV would only allow me to turn it up to 50 on the volume button which couldn't be heard over the wall rattler (now on low)(not because it was warm).
Oh great.
I tried sleeping with the air con on but it was too noisy. I had the electric blanket on, but that was on a timer and I woke again feeling cold. I look outside in the middle of the night and everything is dark. So now I have concerns about my motorcycle in the dark with no security lighting what-so-ever.
I turn on the electric blanket and the wall rattler and try and get back to sleep. Too late. I can't get back to sleep. I spend the next couple of hour cursing the Motel while trying to get back to sleep.
Well, I couldn't wait to get out of Echuca after this.
So I'm looking for a positive.
Well, the main room appeared to be clean. The toilet had a large spiderweb in it and the vent in the window was blocked with who knows how many years of gunk, so I can't say that was clean.
To summarise.
Cold.
Noisy.
Dark.
Questionable vehicle security.

Would I stay again. NO.

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redphase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at the paddle-wheel motel for the weekend. Room was described as a superior double but it was similar to many i had stayed in elsewhere. The accommodation is in the form of a U-shape with the base facing out on to the busy High street. We were housed on the upper level near the breeze way. Everything was fine and worked reasonably well. the Staff were friendly and the breakfasts reasonably priced. However, the noise from High street was loud and the emergency town fire alarm is located not too far away.
The parking spots were tight and it was difficult to get in or out of your vehicle when adjacent spots were occupied.

Room Tip: Select a downstairs room towards the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanalderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay at a reasonable price. The rooms are large and very clean. Close to all amenities and attractions. Very helpful staff. Recommended and would stay again......... .............................

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szombaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall excellent stay with the children close to the town centre, the pool was not heated on the day and we were looking forward to an after dinner swim or spa a last minute upgrade was welcomed and we enjoyed a spa, I recommend the spa room. Price was reasonable and the staff where lovely

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyReviewKP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a lovely, friendly and helpful front desk. Bookings, local adventures, and advice about where to eat drink and which paddle steamer to go on. The room was comfortable and everything worked. Breakfast arrived when it should and they used REAL milk.....

Our room was an older style but it was clean, functional and spacious. Well insulated and at a reasonable price. We WILL stay there again. Wendy is a treasure and the location allowed you to walk to the old port, supermarket, pictures and everything else...leave the car and walk around....
Thanks for a pleasant stay. W and K

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Echuca hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#2 of 18 in Echuca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Settlement
Comfort Inn Settlement
#9 of 18 in Echuca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CocknBull Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#3 of 18 in Echuca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Georgian Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddlewheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddlewheel Motel

Property: Paddlewheel Motel
Address: 385 High St, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paddlewheel Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy stroll to Historic Port, Family, spa suites, superior & standard suites - interconnecting rooms available. Queen/king beds,a/c, free AUSTAR, electric blankets, toaster, tea/coffee, guest laundry, solar heated pool, spa, BBQ. B/fast & evening meals to rooms (Mon-Sat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Paddlewheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddlewheel Motel Echuca, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing