We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic venue, even better than expected!”
other travelers have booked this property
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Entrance To Barbret Lake Lounge with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Entrance To Barbret Lake
Lounge with log burner
Cosy lounge area
Kitchen
Main bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Shower room
Lake view
View from cabin doors
View from front gate end
Children's playground
Play Caravan
Children's play caravan
BBQ and Firepit area
Relax by the solar heated pool
30lb 40oz carp
37lb 11oz caught May 2018
26lb 5oz carp
8lb Tench
Caught October 2017
Caught June 2017
37lb 12oz Carp caught November 2017
Caught March 2017
Baby Catfish at 24lb 3oz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Retiers, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter K
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, even better than expected!”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 10 day break at Barbret Lake and can honestly say it was thoroughly enjoyable. There was certainly plenty to do, both on the immaculately presented location, and in the near vicinity. On site, there was everything required and much more, the cabin had all we needed and the BBQ provided tasty evening meals. Our own private swimming pool was a real bonus and a treat.

I must add that Barbret Lake is a paradise for those with children although all those wonderful facilities were not needed by us. The fishing was of a very high quality for an exclusive lake, and many happy hours were spent gazing at all the wildlife (including kingfishers) whilst waiting for that "special bite". We have stayed in several similar French properties; Barbret exceeded them all and then some!

There are several towns with interesting chateaus that are well worth visiting within a half hour drive, with excellent (and very reasonably priced) restaurants in each.

Kim and Barry are excellent hosts and I cannot imagine anyone having anything but a brilliant holiday at their wonderful oasis.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality.
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael22...
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Barbret Lake Fantastic Venue.”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Well where does one start with this fantastic venue!

The host's Barry and Kim are fabulous and aim to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, nothing appears to much trouble.

The venue is awesome, all you could ask for. Barry has spent tireless hours in making the lake as fisherman friendly as possible, whilst also keeping the appearance and surroundings as nature intended.
There is no weed and apart from the lilies, it is snag free. The fish in the lake are stunning and in perfect condition. I've fished for many years and can see how passionate Barry is about the fish's wellbeing, again a testament to an owner who understands what's required for the well being of the lakes stock.

The accommodation is of a high standard, the log cabin has everything you could ask for.
The sleeping accommodation is laid out with 2 rooms, one with 2 singles and the other with bunk beds. The beds were clean and aired on our arrival and to say they were comfy would be an understatement. There is also a bed settee in the lounge area which could accommodate further guests if required. The kitchen area is clean and well equipped with cooker, fridge, microwave and all cooking utensils required. Again all the items were clean and ready to use on our arrival along with tea towels and cleaning aids.

The bathroom has toilet hand basin and shower again clean and in top condition, please note towels are provided, however if you intend using the swimming pool you must bring your own towels.

The lounge area has 2 comfortable wing backed arm chairs with a small wood burning stove along with the bed sofa. There is Sky TV along with a range of books to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, in addition free WIFI.
The lounge is so so perfect with its double doors which gave uninterrupted views over the lake and overall a comfy place to chill out.

The outside area is stunning, it has a elevated swimming pool, hot tub and a fabulous play area if you are bringing children along, with a caravan which the hosts have designed as a play area for the kids. Barry and Kim are in the process of adding further attractions to keep the kids occupied table tennis and other items to follow. There is a further caravan should additional guests wish to stay and Barry and Kim will provide details to any enquires you may have.

Me being me, didn't read the website prior to travelling,d myself and my friend opted to bring our own food and sundries. However on arrival we noted that not only will they provide meal's as in cooked breakfast and dinners they also supplies drinks and anything else you require, so again make enquiries at time of booking, I'm fairly certain the food and other items will be on the same standard as the rest of the site.

The fishing
Alas due to work commitments, I only was able to stay at the venue for 4 days, to say I was gutted when leaving would be an understatement. Whilst the fishing was a challenge at times, the lake produces if you put the effort in. Barry was always available and willing to assist and advise when required . I had numerous fish and to note 3 immaculate fish which ranged in the mid twenties along with some bream and tench. Barry is able to supply boilies and a range of particle baits and pellets should you require them, again just ask and they will provide.

Point to note! Rosie the Miniature Yorkie will make her daily visits to ensure the fishing goes well, a dear little dog who is a fisher mans dream dog, I wanted to bring her home with me.

Thank You
Barry and Kim you made our stay memorable to say the least, I didn't say a big goodbye as I will be returning so as they say in Essex

Laters !! Mick

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fishing
Liked least: Nothing it was all fabulous
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyStar...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place, amazing people, amazing experience!!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having not been on a holiday like this before I was a little bit wary, but can honestly say I had a lovely holiday and to my suprise I actually enjoyed fishing!!! My partner had been before with his friends and loved it so much he wanted to go back !!
We caught a few big fish and the lake and fish are kept immaculate.
Barry and Kim are the perfect hosts and the food is pretty tasty too!!!!
Thankyou both for a fantastic holiday , see you again next year!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs_Dallo...
Quimper, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable family moments”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We took a few days "off" and came to Barbret Lake with 2 of our children (6 &15 yrs old) : on our way back home, we couldn't help congratulate ourselves for this choice !

We spent such a good and relaxing time ! Our hosts were so kind and friendly, so helpful for the fishing ! Kim made a fantastic breakfast for us !!
The accommodation is very well equipped and comfortable : everything is nice and clean. Wifi is very powerful and we could bring the connected devices in front of the house : so so fun !

The place offers many possibilities for each of us : a big area for the children to play, nice walk around the lake, 8 mn from "La roche aux fées" an historic site...

As for the fishing (of course !), there's many species of fishes in the lake and we fast got hooked in spite of the fact that we were beginners. This is a great location to observe nature too.

Barbret is very closed to Retiers were you can find shops and services : we would have traveled this distance on bicycle if we had known. That's our idea for our next visit !

Thanks to Kim and Barry for sharing such a nice place.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L
Lochmaben, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My granson and I wanted to fish in France for some decent Carp, but didn't want any of the big commercial places. We saw Barrys advert and it all fell into place from there on. The place setting is outstanding as are the fish stocks, all fish that were caught in our week with Barry and Kim were in perfect condition, I am pleased to say we both broke our pb and by quite a bit, the accomodation is all you need, spotless and clean, all that you need and if you haven't got it Barry and Kim will get it. The local town is only 4 minutes away and has a superb supermarket, Overall the place is a Carp fishermans utopia, a dream that you can only wish for, we had fun and the friendliness of our hosts was second to none, as I said during a very dramatic catch(which can be viewed on video at Kims facebook page) WE WILL BE BACK !!!!!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, fishing and company of the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky b
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family fishing experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found this holiday by chance on the internet and had no idea what to expect.
We were pleasantly surprised at the amount and range of facilities that were available for us to use.
My husband was able to spend hours fishing peacefully down the other end of the lake while the children were entertained. They loved the park and quad bikes and spent hours playing football in the field.The chalet was comfortable and well equipped with sky TV and Wi-Fi.
The weather was nice in the daytime but chilly in the evening but thankfully the log burner and heaters kept us toasty warm in the evening and night.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Childrens facilities
Liked least: We only spent four nights there, I wish it was longer
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greaat place will be returning as soon as I csn”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week here in June with 3 mates, and was well pleased.
I've been carp fishing at a lot of lakes in France but this was the best I have ever been not only for the lake and fishing, but for the great cabin we stayed in on the lake which had everything we could want including sky sports which was superb.
The fishing was great with 2 thirty plus and numerous 20 plus carp, we had the whole lake to ourselves which is brilliant, Kim and Barry who run this are superb hosts and couldn't do enough to make our stay so good.
Iam already looking to book next year easter and summer with my wife and kids as they will love it.
Many thanks Kim and Barry see you soon.

Date of stay: June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing