We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Centre Motel
Nearby Hotels
Quest Bendigo(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Place(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Bendigo Central(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shamrock(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$103
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Resort Hotel Bendigo(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$98
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Heritage Bendigo(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welcome Stranger Motel(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$103
$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
25
25
10
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
25
10
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy nightup stairsoff street parkingwould stay here againreceptionballardunitheatingsuitcases
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 77 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just a couple of blocks away from the Hargreaves Mall this motel is central to everything. We left our car and walked everywhere which was great. Room was immaculately clean and was the bathroom was large with fabulous water pressure. We even had real milk and not that awful long life stuff! Great service from the Manager. Will definitely stay again. Highly recommended :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank maccattack26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. Your comments are greatly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed in Room #31 for one night only in late December 2013.

Bendigo City Centre Motel appears to have both, renovated and renovated rooms, which would explain the very mixed reviews and my surprise at the room’s tired 70s décor. Most pictures on Tripadvisor and on other booking sites suggested something more modern.

The room was; however, clean and functional. Air-conditioning in good working order was more than welcome as it was a hot day when we arrived. There's a fridge and flat screen TV. The walls seemed to be on the thin side – thankfully we had no immediate neighbours during our brief stay.

The ensuite bathroom too would benefit from a makeover. The shower's screen door did not close properly and it seemed to take forever for the water to heat up. Bath towels and cloth washers provided, though no handtowels.

Attendance at reception was friendly, prompt and efficient. The fresh milk provided for tea/coffee at check in was nice touch.

The motel is easy to find and centrally located, just around the corner from the arts precinct. Its location is definitely the Bendigo City Centre Motel's biggest asset.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties with climbing steps, note that about half the rooms are located on the second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank upsalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We do have quite a range of rooms at the present time as we are in the process of a very lengthy and expensive refurbishment program. The Budget rooms are the old 70's style. If you are after the best room types we recommend any in the DELUXE range. All of these have been completely refurbished and include kitchenette facilities. In time the budget rooms will undergo extensive renovation or demolition thus excluding the budget traveller from this central location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

In small print after booking it was mentioned that the 1 bed apartment was 3 blocks away from the motel.( away from centre of town)
The apartment was refurbished inside but not outside, nowhere to sit at all outside, looking at concrete and an ugly building.
Thought it was expensive at $170 a night

Room Tip: ask if you are staying onsite
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackbirdflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My four children and I had an extremely comfortable and enjoyable stay in this Motel. The bedrooms were spacious, had everything a large family needs, and the Motel is ideally situated in the centre of Bendigo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

False advertising, the rooms look nothing like they are shown on website, worst motel I have EVER stayed at!! Don't advertise luxury rooms and give customers disgusting, old, run down, noisy, smelly rubbish and ask a high premium. No wonder you wanted your payment up front before we had seen the room. Buyer beware!! Keep away!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2435kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

This review unfortunately does not come as a surprise to us. The guests did not mention once to us that they were not satisfied with their stay, but a phone call 2 days later revealed their disappointment. Their booking was taken on the day over the phone and we offered them two alternatives. They could stay in one of our Budget Style Rooms or in one of our Standard Rooms. They were informed that our Budget Style Rooms are not advertised on our website on any photos and that only Standard and Deluxe Rooms are shown. They were given the choice a few times prior to arrival to change the booking to one of our Standard Rooms, but chose not to. Our Budget Style Rooms are older style, that's why they are cheaper, but definitely clean, neat and tidy. But the guests did not want to spend more than $140 and stayed with 3 people (+baby) in a Twin Share Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews