We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #10 of 17 Bendigo B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the initial reservations, we were treated with professional respect and courtesy. The Owner is delightful and very helpful and informative. We stayed in the Motel's Barnard Place Apartments, which, although they look less appetizing from outside, are amazingly new inside, finished to a high standard, especially the bathroom. Everything was clean and new and well planned out.. I would definitely recommend this as a quiet place to stay as it is only a few minutes walk from the city centre and a few metres away from restaurants etc.Further up the hill it is well worth walking to see all the amazing historic houses that Bendigo has to offer too. We had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for Barnard place apartments
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozzichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for City Centre Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed with 5 girlfriends (four from interstate and myself and one other from Bendigo) as it was my 30th birthday at a local venue. We are all in our late 20's to mid 30's and have travelled to many places together, but I was really disappointed with the stern lecture type check-in we were given. We were advised there was a requirement to pay a $600 cash deposit (not even credit card), but on check-in we sorted this out and agreed that my credit card would suffice. We were told that the room we stayed in had a history of issues with parties and noise, and that if we were told to "keep it down" it literally meant "get out". Not only this, it was after we said that two of us were locals that we were then told "it's the locals that cause all of the issues". I was deeply offended by the way we were treated, especially by someone in my own town. Fair enough you need to advise of the basic rules, but you need to have manners and treat guests with respect. On the plus side, the room was lovely and clean, spacious and homely, and very central to everything. Sadly, based on how we were treated, I wouldn't stay here again with my friends when they visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danni1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Firstly, this is operated by the owner which is always a good sign. They have been very helpful towards our needs and as soon as you walk into reception, you know you are going to receive good service.
I have stayed at a lot of properties and most could learn a lot from Simon (manager) in regards to customer relations. It doesn't take much to be social and make guests feel at home.

The rooms are VERY spacious. Some contain a spa and I believe most contain a balcony. They are very clean and are fairly quiet. They contain an LCD TV (medium-large), small fridge/freezer, fast internet (Jimojo. You have to pay but it's reasonable) and upon request they might be able to offer a microwave.

I think properties like this one should be used as an example and a reminder of how a motel should be operated. I hope they don't change and continue offering the high level of service they offer today.

Thank-you Simon and partner! It's no wonder you are getting so many positive reviews.

Room Tip: Ask reception to see a room if you are unsure. They will be more than happy to help you out. Some...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottWooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Front Office Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very rewarding to know we are working in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A family member suffered a medical emergency and I was supporting him at Bendigo Hospital 'til 11:30 pm on a Friday night. My wife rang nine other motels in Bendigo to find accommodation for me without success; one of them answered the ‘phone then hung up without speaking when asked about accommodation.

The manager of the City Centre not only answered the phone at this late hour, but he stayed up ‘til I arrived, and then offered a risotto and a couple of beers at 12:45 am! After a very long day it was very much appreciated.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the location very central to the centre of town and we will definitely be back. Should be rated much higher on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug11Australia, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We try to meet the needs of all our guests and appreciate that some people do require special things in times of need. We are more than willing to strive to provide a comfortable stay for each individual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very friendly, spotless, quiet and just the best location. We'll be back again and again. The renovated room was very spacious, well aired and stayed cool on a fairly hot weekend. This one is a treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROGER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Recently stayed at this motel again, and we have stayed there several times. Excellent rooms, great location and a manager who really looks after his guests. Recently heard that the manager asked a small very roudy guests to leave after they refused to tone down the noise in the early hours - good on him, should be more of it!!. This probably explains some of the nasty comments on this website made by one group of guests (guess who?). Good to hear that this motel manager really looks after his guests!!! I travel often and recommend this motel highly, it is among my favourite motels in country Victoria.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are VERY roomy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willfish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location is Brilliant we didn't need the car! The bed was comfortable, the staff friendly and the price perfect. Our room was unrenovated but large clean and central. The only downside was the walls were a bit thin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#14 of 25 in Bendigo
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Deborah Motel
Central Deborah Motel
#9 of 25 in Bendigo
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 26 Forest St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Bendigo
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Centre Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing