We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Access to the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barclay On View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barclay On View
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Easy Access to the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This little motel is close to loads that Bendigo has to offer - easy walking to CBD, just over the road to the art precinct.
We were welcomed with the great news that they could accommodate my gluten free requirements for our bed and breakfast booking - always a plus!
Rooms are as you would expect for a motel - smallish but with a comfortable bed, settee, small dining table and adequate bathroom.
There are rooms on 2 levels so if you are up top you'll have to carry your luggage up the stairs but we had a ground floor room so that was OK.
We enjoyed our stay in this motel and recommend it for reasonable price and excellent location

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    78
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
42
65
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had brought a night's accommodation through a voucher deal and my brother and I found it a delight to stay. The lady who greeted us was a delight, so helpful and lovely to deal with. We had a room with a balcony which was nice. Not really much of a view but the rooms was cozy. I would recommend this inn if you are staying in Bendigo for the night. Had a car park space which we didn't use but is helpful to have and not pay extra for. The place had a gym as well as a sauna but didnt get to use them. Overall, a pretty motor inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, more peace than you would have if you were on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawks_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We bought a voucher from a special deal and spent a Saturday night here. The hotel was in a good location (a slight walk up/down hill to the main town area). The lady owner on reception was a delight, very friendly and full of information.

Our room was perfect for our stay, the bed very comfortable, a jug, tea and coffee in the room provided and DVDs available to use in the room free from a library in reception. We loved the little chairs and table on the balcony where we ate a perfectly cooked breakfast this morning. The afternoon sun hits the rooms and balcony settings but it's perfect in the morning.

The only thing we found strange was that the shower kept going hot and cold while we were in it. Other than that it was a great stay and I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you want table and chairs outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank havachatkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed one night. Paid $115 for a standard room. Was very clean, very comfortable and one of the best nights sleep I've had in a motel room. The owner/manager was a lovely lady who was very helpful in suggesting a great place to have a meal, where a great cup of coffee could be found and what to see and do in Bendigo. She even gave another bottle of milk to us at no charge when we asked (and offered to buy) a second bottle.

The room was lovely - and the bed very comfortable. Excellent shower with good pressure and lots of lovely hot water.

The motel is walking distance to the centre of Bendigo, very close to all the shops, sights, beautiful heritage buildings and parks. Would definately recommend this motel as a place to stay at and we would stay again in a flash!

I didn't use the spa/sauna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We chose to stay at Barclay on View for its position most of the other motel were on the main road/highway but Barclay is on View street as the name suggests. It is in a great position and does not have any noise problems it was close to all the best spots including some great restaurants and cultural buildings. It is an easy walk to many of the recommended historic buildings we did most in the afternoon when we arrived giving us more time in the morning to do the mine tour.

The owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us some good eating advise that saved us time and money the local pub just on the next corner had good food and was cheaper then the restaurants we ordered at the bar her advise saving more money. The rooms are nothing flash but clean and tidy with plenty of room for both of us the hot water was strong and they had a free laundry that I used to wash and dry our clothes they even supplied powder this was really helpful as we had been on the road for a few days and didn't have an oversupply of clothing.

I would recommend this hotel for its position and the friendly owners.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jules8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A nice place to stay in Bendigo. Close to cafes and restaurants and art galleries. Very friendly and helpful staff and rooms were clean. Would certainly return on next trip to Bendigo and would recommend this accommodation to others

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the second time we had visited Bendigo and stayed at this motel and it did not disappoint. As my wife and I had only 1 of our children with us we chose a a slightly larger room with a queen and 2 single beds which gave us a little bit more space and was just $20 extra.
The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom modern and shower was good. The WiFi was also free and worked well. The motel is centrally located and you can walk to most of the main attractions.
We highly recommend The Green Olive Cafe in Bath Lane for breakfast. We have no problem with the dine-in reastaurant, we just like to eat-out.
We will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Bendigo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJNZTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.7 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
1.1 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay On View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay On View

Property: Barclay On View
Address: 181 View St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay On View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all about LOCATION! Barclay on View is situated in beautiful, tree-lined View Street, in the heart of Bendigo's arts, theatre and cafe precinct, making it the perfect place to wine and dine, or simply relax and take advantage of our spa and sauna facilities. Our central location means you're only a short stroll from Queen Elizabeth Oval, The Capital Theatre, Bendigo Art Gallery, Hargreaves Mall, Bendigo Visitor Information Centre and everything else the CBD has to offer. Complimentary on-site parking and WiFi access come standard with every booking, and we also provide a guest laundry for your convenience. Our spacious courtyard area offers BBQ facilities and is the perfect place to sit back and enjoy a quiet, sunny afternoon. We offer continental or delicious cooked breakfasts every morning, with the option of in-room or dining room service. However, if you prefer to eat out, you have a great selection of cafes and restaurants only minutes away. Our friendly staff are more than happy to help you make the most of your stay. From suggestions on where to go and what to do, to making a restaurant reservation or booking a taxi, it's all part of the service. If you are travelling from Melbourne by car, turn left into View Street at Alexandra Fountain and we are located 650m on the left, opposite Queen Elizabeth Oval. If you are arriving by train, we are located 1.5km from the Bendigo Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay On View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing