We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Base to Explore Bendigo”
Review of Barclay On View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barclay On View
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Great Base to Explore Bendigo”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the second time we had visited Bendigo and stayed at this motel and it did not disappoint. As my wife and I had only 1 of our children with us we chose a a slightly larger room with a queen and 2 single beds which gave us a little bit more space and was just $20 extra.
The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom modern and shower was good. The WiFi was also free and worked well. The motel is centrally located and you can walk to most of the main attractions.
We highly recommend The Green Olive Cafe in Bath Lane for breakfast. We have no problem with the dine-in reastaurant, we just like to eat-out.
We will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Bendigo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJNZTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    79
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
42
66
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed at the Barclay on View for 1 night with a friend. We had a twin room, and the room configuration was strange - felt like it was originally purposed for a double and the single bed had been crammed in, resulting not much space for bags or a table and the TV positioned so that it could only be viewed from the double bed. Apart from that, the room was basic, smallish, slightly dated (especially the bathroom which had a very noisy fan) and clean. The staff were friendly and welcoming.
The location of the hotel is great - very quiet and less than 10 minutes walk into the Bendigo town centre with a good number of bars and restaurants on the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weetbix75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Basic motel accommodation with pleasant staff and handy location to the gallery. Room dark, but clean, although carpets are stained and paint work needs a good touch-up. Only booked here as we had a Scoopon Voucher (would never use the again, but that's a whole other story !). I would stress basic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry1Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My sister and I stayed one night after Easter to see the 'Grace Kelly' expo' (great too) Reception, Julie, was very helpful with 'where to go' internet bookings etc, close by to eateries, Rifle Hotel, excellent for a meal and relaxation!' Gillies' in town is a 'Must' for pies/cakes etc Our room was great, no complaints, good sleep, no noise, all we needed ! We will be back ! They also have a 'library' you can borrow books from at reception which is nice when you need a read before sleeping :) Thanks Julie :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Juanita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney nsw australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

What was offputting was a sign in our room saying that there would be a $300 fine if one wet the bed or vomited, and a $50 charge if you lost your key, the sauna was out of order and the spa covered up.The motel was very much in need of an overhaul . Otherwise the bed was comfortable and management polite and helpful, close to antique shops, good restaurants and galleries

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teabrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here in a family room with 2 girl friends. Referbished rooms, clean and comfortable, in a good location

Room Tip: family room has 1 double and 2 single beds for $150 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Good location for the centre. Near good food and bars. Room very clean, well stocked and well kept.

But where this motel excelled was it's customer service. Bill and Julie were very responsive to any enquiries we made, such as where where to eat, drink and visit. Julie was very helpful at ensuring we had a very pleasant stay in Bendigo, and this helped to reassure that my wife and I got the best possible experience whilst visiting. Our arrival was very late at night but we were very well looked after, and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful.

Rooms provide great value for money, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for it's customer service alone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.7 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
1.1 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay On View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay On View

Property: Barclay On View
Address: 181 View St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay On View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all about LOCATION! Barclay on View is situated in beautiful, tree-lined View Street, in the heart of Bendigo's arts, theatre and cafe precinct, making it the perfect place to wine and dine, or simply relax and take advantage of our spa and sauna facilities. Our central location means you're only a short stroll from Queen Elizabeth Oval, The Capital Theatre, Bendigo Art Gallery, Hargreaves Mall, Bendigo Visitor Information Centre and everything else the CBD has to offer. Complimentary on-site parking and WiFi access come standard with every booking, and we also provide a guest laundry for your convenience. Our spacious courtyard area offers BBQ facilities and is the perfect place to sit back and enjoy a quiet, sunny afternoon. We offer continental or delicious cooked breakfasts every morning, with the option of in-room or dining room service. However, if you prefer to eat out, you have a great selection of cafes and restaurants only minutes away. Our friendly staff are more than happy to help you make the most of your stay. From suggestions on where to go and what to do, to making a restaurant reservation or booking a taxi, it's all part of the service. If you are travelling from Melbourne by car, turn left into View Street at Alexandra Fountain and we are located 650m on the left, opposite Queen Elizabeth Oval. If you are arriving by train, we are located 1.5km from the Bendigo Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barclay On View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing