We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

After all the obvious jokes about ice makers in Art Series Hotel rooms, it was wonderful to see this little gem at the far end of Bendigo.
The staff are its very best asset: so friendly and helpful and with a fine sense of humour.
The small rooms are very functional with some amusing yet helpful touches.
I thoroughly enjoyed the whole lobby/library vibe; bright, light and spacious.
The breakfast menu needs urgent improvement: bad coffee, poor selection of meats and fruit, unfresh juices.
I'll be back and wish them every success.
They deserve it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Fogonline

Really appreciated your great comments on the staff here at The Schaller and they are pleased they made a sound impression in our bright fresh hotel. Thank you for comments on the Pantry breakfast, we wanted to keep this at a sharp price point and include coffee. The juice is local from Harcourt and we do have fresh juices available....my favourite is the "Crunch". We have jazzed a few other things up.

Fogonline......I will make sure you get a fabulous coffee on your return!!!!

A sincere thank you your review.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Fantastic quirky hotel next to the hospital in Bendigo. Wonderful colour and decor, really comfy bed, great bathroom and toiletries. Small room but it has everything you need and doesn't feel too squishy. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Alison S

Thank you so much for your great 5 star review!!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bendigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were just travelling through, but thought the opportunity to stay in an "Art Series" hotel would make it more than just an overnight stop over. It was also great value, with breakfast included. We thoroughly enjoyed all the quirkiness and added touches, from sculptures in the foyer and café, to art books and magazines in the room, glow in the dark "Schaller" signature on the wall, towel rails that looked like paint dripping on the wall. The bar and lounge area were really nice places to sit, and beautifully decorated - they could be a lounge or dining room in someone's home. We had a simple meal for dinner in the café, so we didn't have to go out on a cold wet night - it was pretty standard café meal. The breakfast the next day was also simple but very nicely done - we cooked our own eggs, had a choice of really nice breads and some prosciutto, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. Juice and a proper coffee, made from locally roasted coffee which was really good, and a nice touch to have included rather than the usual terrible filter coffee hotels have. Staff were very friendly and efficient. However major complaint was the size of the beds - too short even for me, let alone my 6'2" husband. I could cope with the small room for a night or two - but really of all the details they have put into the place a proper queen size bed should have been a minimum requirement. Disappointing as otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a small room with a short bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lawNSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Rooms are small but comfortable. Very clean and modern. Secure lighting outside at night if walking from hospital. Very handy to stay if you have family member in hospital. Staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Quirky, well manicured and well hidden. The location was described as on a corner, but watch out, it's in the grounds of the hospital. If driving past, you could miss the car park. We found it amusing that you had to exit through the hospital grounds.
Friendly staff, but the smallest rooms I've stayed in since being in London. Both of us could touch the walls whilst lying in bed. Don't hope for privacy in the bathroom, sliding doors and an exhaust system that could wake the dead during the night.
Lovely communal areas, the breakfasts let the place down, minimalist European with the high (low) light being boiled eggs? Great bread and coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoulContender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've never stayed somewhere so eclectic, maybe close is the Art Series hotel in Hobart, but this takes the cake. Yes the rooms are small but so quirky and comfortable. I came here to write and work and plenty of lovely opens places to do so. Inspirational. Great idea re the breakfast buffet, simple yet perfect! Beats those ugly bain maries you see everywhere! A personal place for me as it stands on the grounds of the old nurses accom at Bendigo hospital, which if I described as derilict I'd be embellishing. I stayed in them for 6 months while at medical school. Now to stay here in this modern chic space I can't believe the difference. Hope you have more dinner choices as you get more popular, wanted to stay in but menu options limited. Sure that will change!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl F, General Manager at Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2014

Dear Helen


What a lovely 5 star review and so pleased we made such a great impression on you with our new hotel.

We really appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bendigo again.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

It is worth trying the brand new Schaller Studio Hotel - décor is stunning, service is fine, room rate is reasonable ($145), $15 breakfast is very good BUT the beds are NOT Queen Size (are a specially made cut down version i.e. shortened) and the rooms are really small. En suite is good (fluffy towels and all the toiletries etc) but I felt claustrophobic in the room - only one chair was provided so one of us had to lie on the bed while the other had the chair - there is only a bedside table and reading lamp on one side of the bed because there is no space on the other side. The electric jug won't fit under the tap and the coffee machine has no instructions. The whole experience was like a visit to Mona in Hobart - you either love it or dislike it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#4 of 25 in Bendigo
236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#9 of 25 in Bendigo
479 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#16 of 25 in Bendigo
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo

Address: Corner Lucan and Bayne Street, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Art Series - The Schaller Studio)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range: $87 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing from the art and cultural overtones of Bendigo, The Schaller Studio is a boutique hotel inspired by Mark Schaller's working studio. With large edgy communal spaces, rooms filled with original artwork, large scale sculptures and mosaics across the landscaped gardens, guests can fully immerse themselves in the creative process. For a multifaceted art inspired experience, artisan markets will be on offer at our boutique hotel Bendigo accommodation. CARPARKING IS STRICTLY LIMITED AND NOT GUARANTEED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing