We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome informative tour!”

Central Deborah Gold Mine
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Central Deborah Gold Mine you will discover more about Bendigo's golden past at a real gold mine that operated during the gold rush boom of the 1900s. Experience what conditions were really like for miners as you are guided through hidden underground tunnels by friendly and knowledgeable guides. Descending to the depths of Bendigo, gold fever strikes visitors on the famous Mine Experience Tour (61m underground), the exciting Underground Adventure Tour (85m underground) and Australia's deepest underground mine tour, Nine Levels of Darkness (228m underground). Central Deborah Gold Mine was named Victoria's Heritage and Cultural Attraction of the Year in 2011, 2012 and 2013.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sooooo glad we decided to do this tour. We had travelled up from Ballarat and had done tours at Soverign Hill, so after doing those we were questioning whether or not to go down the Central Deborah. We decided that for us a Bendigo "experience pass" would work out well because it included the talking tram ride, Chinese Golden dragon museum, Bendigo Pottery works and the Central Deborah Gold mine tour. So with the tour included in the pass we decided to give it a go. Can't believe that we nearly didn't do this!! The tour was fantastic, Georg our guide was great, very friendly and informative. The mine was a true mine tour and NOT dressed up like a set out of a movie! The museum and gold panning after the tour were great, the kids and I loved it ! Definitely worth doing when in the beautiful city of Bendigo !!

2  Thank MrsRobinson227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Thank you for purchasing a Experience pass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"above ground"
in 45 reviews
"gold mine"
in 80 reviews
"underground adventure"
in 27 reviews
"great tour"
in 35 reviews
"level tour"
in 16 reviews
"hard hat"
in 14 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 35 reviews
"longer tour"
in 12 reviews
"minute tour"
in 11 reviews
"pastie"
in 17 reviews
"mining experience"
in 8 reviews
"second level"
in 8 reviews
"central deborah"
in 20 reviews
"sovereign hill"
in 10 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 7 reviews
"mine shaft"
in 7 reviews
"great attraction"
in 9 reviews
Filter

588 - 592 of 665 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were really impressed with the mine tour as it was the best that we have ever been to. The tour was FANTASTIC and the young lady Laura on reception was amazing help with our entire visit and organising us. Food was limited (fresh muffins and slice) but the coffee (local) was goooood! Never to fear the Beechworth Bakery was across the road for lunch.

1  Thank Bendigolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We caught a shorter tour late in the day and it was really interesting. Hard to believe this place is under a bustling big town. Our guide was interesting and informative and we had fun putting on the hats etc. Would recommend this as a place to visit for all ages.

Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The mine tour is a 'must do' when visiting Bendigo. Tour guide was fantastic. The information and history is not to be missed. do not take really young children on the tour. It goes underground and is pitch dark at one point. Also the guide demonstrates the drill-which is very very noisy.

2  Thank APP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

We love a good Must Do recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We did the last Mine Experience tour of the day on Sunday 21st April and our tour guide was Laurie. Laurie is an absolutely fantastic guide – really interesting and very funny. I haven’t enjoyed myself that much in a long time.

We chose the basic Mine Experience tour because we were with our son who has previously freaked out in a gold mine at Hill End. But he had absolutely no problem with the tour at all. In fact it was me who started to freak out just a tad when Laurie turned all the lights out. It is unbelievably dark down there.

The Central Deborah mine is the real deal. We travelled on to Ballarat and did the mine tours at Sovereign Hill and they were like Disney mines in comparison. And at Sovereign Hill they didn’t really teach you anything. I learnt everything I needed to know about mines at Central Deborah.

Since we were there late in the afternoon there was no-one else there doing the gold panning and we had the place to ourselves. We actually found a speck of gold too!

1  Thank LukeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Great to hear your comments. Enjoy the rest of your break in Bendigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Deborah Gold Mine also viewed

 
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to Central Deborah Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing