We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bendigo
from $23.26
More Info
from $13.08
More Info
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
538
169
17
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
169
17
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews above ground gold mine underground adventure hard hats level tour great tour our tour guide longer tour minute tour mining history pastie second level pastry sovereign hill mine shaft great attraction great insight
Filter
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 726 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were really impressed with the mine tour as it was the best that we have ever been to. The tour was FANTASTIC and the young lady Laura on reception was amazing help with our entire visit and organising us. Food was limited (fresh muffins and slice) but the coffee (local) was goooood! Never to fear the Beechworth Bakery was across the road for lunch.

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank Bendigolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We caught a shorter tour late in the day and it was really interesting. Hard to believe this place is under a bustling big town. Our guide was interesting and informative and we had fun putting on the hats etc. Would recommend this as a place to visit for all ages.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The mine tour is a 'must do' when visiting Bendigo. Tour guide was fantastic. The information and history is not to be missed. do not take really young children on the tour. It goes underground and is pitch dark at one point. Also the guide demonstrates the drill-which is very very noisy.

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank APP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

We love a good Must Do recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We did the last Mine Experience tour of the day on Sunday 21st April and our tour guide was Laurie. Laurie is an absolutely fantastic guide – really interesting and very funny. I haven’t enjoyed myself that much in a long time.

We chose the basic Mine Experience tour because we were with our son who has previously freaked out in a gold mine at Hill End. But he had absolutely no problem with the tour at all. In fact it was me who started to freak out just a tad when Laurie turned all the lights out. It is unbelievably dark down there.

The Central Deborah mine is the real deal. We travelled on to Ballarat and did the mine tours at Sovereign Hill and they were like Disney mines in comparison. And at Sovereign Hill they didn’t really teach you anything. I learnt everything I needed to know about mines at Central Deborah.

Since we were there late in the afternoon there was no-one else there doing the gold panning and we had the place to ourselves. We actually found a speck of gold too!

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank LukeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Great to hear your comments. Enjoy the rest of your break in Bendigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My 12 yo son and I (50 yo Mum) went to Bendigo for a weekend away. The Central Deborah Mine was top of his list of things to do. We opted for the longer mine tour which took us deeper underground. It was really good and the afternoon tea of a traditional pasty was excellent - soooo filling we couldn't think about dinner until quite late.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Suee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, General Manager at Central Deborah Gold Mine, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2016

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews