We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly different and worth a visit!”
Review of The Woodhouse

The Woodhouse
Ranked #3 of 235 Restaurants in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Step into our restaurant and watch your senses ignite. Smell the delicious smokiness of Bendigo's only Redgum char-grill and dedicated steak house, as we use our unique "cooking with wood" techniques. In the finest tradition of steakhouses across the globe we use locally sourced meat and the very best in fresh, regional produce. Enjoy in-house and regionally prepared Charcuterie, beef carpaccio, organic lamb, or local chorizo styled sausage. Try our free-range pasture-fed porterhouse or smoked Wagyu. Meat is always the star of the show.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Certainly different and worth a visit!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went as a 4, we were seated at a nice table and promptly given water and drinks orders taken. The wines and beers offered were well priced and contained some good local and craft choices.The Charcuterie and Carpaccio were a highlite, offering real variety and well presented and the waiter explained each part very comprehensively. We had Pizzas which were excellent (Beetroot and Pumpkin, Tiger Prawn and Special). We saw some huge steaks and some other well presented steaks that were popular on other tables. The place was full and i could see why. Good ambience, Good food and Good service!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bendigoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    135
    38
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have been here a few times now. Everytime we have been the food is great and service is spot on. Thier menu has a great vaierty and of course awesome desserts! Have to visit The Woodhouse, we will be back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good service on a busy night”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A last minute booking on a busy night meant we accepted a table slot 30 minutes later than our preference. The booking process was friendly and professional. Greeting and tabling was similar. Our waitress was friendly, attentive and thoughtful. She suggested entree to tide us over to mains because of the demands on the kitchen. As it turned out mains were ready soon after we completed entree and waits were not outrageous. Trio of oysters and sesame bread were both very well presented. The oysters were particularly delicious.

The Wagyu was well prepared and presented - just a little less melt in the mouth than I would have liked. My wife had the Wagyu burger and had a fruitful discussion with the waitrss which led to it being presented without the bun. An excellent suggestion as it turned out.

Overall the meal was very good. Service was thoughtful and attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Semperpronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
202 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Been to the wood house several times it has always been great the standard is subperb
Only crticism would be maybe a bit of a change in menu as if you have been severally times
It's hard to know what to pick as you pro ferry have tried most things.

Helpful?
Thank Orbeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Food was great but painfully slow with drinks and food service. And this on a Tuesday night! We were there to spend money but they really missed out on multiple rounds of drinks with the lack of attention.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodhouse also viewed

Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to The Woodhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing