We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay, but some drawbacks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bendigo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishopscourt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 18 Bendigo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Bishopscourt is a lovely old historic building with comfortable furnishings and pleasant hosts. We had an upstairs suite for $200 a night. This included a queen 4 poster bed which was comfortable, a sitting area with table, 2 wing chairs, a large screen TV with foxtel, open fire, and private bathroom with clawfoot and shower over bath. Found this a little difficult to get in and out of with arthritis although charming of course. Heating and cooling very efficient. Linen and towels good quality. No tea making or bar fridge in our suite, so had to go out to the next door communal room to use these facilities which was awkward. Lots of children around peaking out every time you opened the suite door, and making noise in the morning, not to mention leaving half eaten food on the coffee table,so not ideal for couples wanting peace and privacy. There's a garden if you go out of the house and walk around the back and it is overlooked by the family's living room. There are some self contained units in the old stables out there. Breakfast was disappointing. Basic cereals, tinned fruit, bottled juice (orange only). Lovely bread to toast and good quality tea. Basic bacon, egg and tomato (mushroom also available). Handy location. As I've said before Trip Advisor needs half stars. This one would be 3 and a half but I've given it 4 for the charming building and décor. Will try somewhere else if in Bendigo again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcourt, Owner at Bishopscourt Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Bronnykay, thankyou for your thoughtful review of our property. We value the feedback of our guests and aim to improve our service in all possible areas. We are sorry your stay was marred by the behaviour of other guests staying at our property at the time. While we do periodicly accept children at Bishopscourt, on the occasions we have had families book in, our experience has been that they have been very well supervised and superbly behaved for the duration of their stay - I realise this was not your experience, and I hope the discount voucher we provided you with at the time goes someway toward making up for your dissappointment. While our choice of breakfasts is simple (Choice of 5 cereals, choice of yogurts, French toast and berries or Bacon, eggs etc.), we go to some trouble to source local ingredients, bake our own bread, provide good quality tea's and plunger coffee's - all served on linen with silver cutlery.
The normal experience of our guests is one of peace and relaxation, and we would hope that one day in the future you may stay again to experience this.
Regards,

Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

I would recommend Bishopscourt B&B to anyone. I was so impressed by the beautiful home, room and great service that I have been inspired to write my first review. I wanted a treat, to stay in a nice room with an bath attached. I never expected a huge period room with free standing bath. It was perfect. The staff were friendly and kind. The breakfast was served in style in a lovely room overlooking the garden. A highlight of my rainy trip to Bendigo. I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foleymartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Bishopscourt after Christmas just for one night and it would have been nice to be able to stay longer. The room we had was just delightful, tastefully decorated with four poster bed and lots of space. We had an ensuite, which was also great. There was also a library and games room that we didn't have time to use. The hosts were welcoming and cooked a lovely breakfast for us. The gardens were inviting and it was a shame we didn't get the chance to look around. Compared to other places in the CBD, the price of Bishopscourt at $195 a night was pretty good (prices have recently gone up so check latest rates). If you enjoy a bit of history this is a pretty good place to stay. It is also in walking distance from the CBD and a heap of good restaurants. On-street parking is free and its not hard to get a spot right outside the property.

Room Tip: When booking you have the choice of an ensuite room or not. For the small amount extra, I'd reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed 31 Oct to 2 Nov in this delightful B&B I stayed in the Balfour room. In the house, this is the room that has the ensuite.

It is just one block from the Art Gallery, cafes and easy walking distance from the CBD, Botanical Garden, Talking Tram, the famous Roman Catholic Cathedral and many more attractions.

Bev has been very welcoming, from my initial enquiry, showing me around, cooking breakfasts with the little chatting and providing assistance.

They also have a good history of this fascinating home.

I would certainly recommend Bishopscourt and look forward to staying again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Cultured12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I recently visited Bendigo for the Grace Kelly exhibition and had the pleasure of staying at Bishopscourt B&B for three nights in their very spacious, contemporary and tastefully apppointed Bishopcourt Mews. Ample food provisions are provided and meals can be prepared in the fully equipped kitchen and enjoyed on the balcony overlooking the garden and fountain. The loft apartment is situated at the rear of "Bishopscourt" a very stately Victorian Mansion. I was able to inspect the rooms within the house and they are also beautifully appointed in keeping with era.
The location is within a short walk of the Bendigo Art Gallery and the restaurants of the arts precinct. I will be returning to this beautiful property again as it a high quality establishment and great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaliHaiBrightonSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Er is geen lift Pas op! De deur van de badkamer klemt. Beter niet helemaal sluiten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank 418MARIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo
2.5 mi away
Langley Hall B&B
Langley Hall B&B
#2 of 18 in Bendigo
72 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Grounds of the Ravenswood Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Brougham Arms Hotel
The Brougham Arms Hotel
#4 of 18 in Bendigo
50 reviews
2 mi away
All Seasons Resort Hotel Bendigo
0.7 mi away
Sandhurst Motor Inn Bendigo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopscourt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopscourt Bed and Breakfast

Address: 40 Forest St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bendigo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing