We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for a stop over”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We only stayed one night, and like in some of my reviews I mention you only get one chance to make a first impression.

When I walked in the staff were talking to a lady on the other side of the counter (I believe she worked there) and they all looked at me and went quiet. Rude I am afraid to say.

We were offered a renovated room and agreed on the price. It wasn't until we were checking out that we were told of the discount for RACV members and we couldn't find the card in a hurry.


The room itself is clean as it is new, but sterile. Terrible artwork, and for some reason three business chairs in a row by the TV. I felt like I was in a boardroom not a bedroom.

However it was warm and quiet and I loved the little box thing they slide breakfast into and pick up the tray. The lady that checked us out was friendly, she was cooking breakfast inbetween and coped well.

The location is good for walking into town or the theatre as we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    143
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
175
24
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only had time for a one night stay at this motel - more than happy with the service and location - part of a 8 day road trip and the best of all stops on the way. We had a standard room which was very good and everything worked great - location a few minutes walk to city centre and shops will stay there again only longer next time - staff very helpful just an easy stay.

Room Tip: We always like a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shep02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

great room, great service! my partner and i stayed for one night, our breakfast was on time nice and hot and tasted fantastic. The room was very clean and spacious. lovely friendly service, the lady at reception was very informative of restaurants and entertainment in the area (short distances to all) prices were very good too, will definitely be coming back again!!

Room Tip: accommodating too all , family, single, couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My review is exactly the same as the one below!! I can't believe it. To be honest the room was quite nice and clean, however, the lady at the front desk was extremely rude!! As the review before, we had turned up early just to find out when we would be able to check in as we had a wedding to go to later on. We were fully prepared to come back later when the room was ready. The lady at reception made us feel like we weren't welcome at all, she didn't give us a chance to say we were just finding out when we could check in. Her attitude was disgusting, and she went on to tell us that 'no hotel will let you in early, I don't know what you're doing here, you'll never get in early anywhere.' I had to bite my tongue not to say last time we showed up at a hotel early we were greeted kindly and even upgraded!
I think management need to seriously look at the training of their front desk staff, making people feel welcome at their hotel is a major part of their job. We were a massive inconvenience to this lady.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzieandapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCromb, Front Office Manager at Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I'm glad that you found your room clean and comfortable.
We pride ourslves on providing a friendly welcome so I am very sorry that you felt on this occassion you did not receive our normal warm welcome.

Please can you contact me with your name and date of stay so I can look into this matter further.

King regards,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Cannot fault the room in terms of cleanliness and presentation. However was disgusted by the way I was spoken to by reception. I arrived early and asked if the room was ready, being quite prepared to wait if it wasn't. At most motels if you arrive early they are quite happy to let you know that the room is not ready and can you come back later. The lady at this reception felt she needed to give a lecture on how rude it was to arrive early and let me know that she was put out and doing me a favour allowing me to check in early. The way I was spoken to was totally unnessessary when all it would have taken was a simple 'I'm sorry your room is not ready, can you come back later'. Given the many places to stay in town, I won't be going back to this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCromb, Manager at Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi PJ

Thank you for your review.
I'm glad that you found your room clean and well presented.

We strive to provide a warm and friendly welcome no matter what the time of day, so I am very sorry that you felt on this occassion you did not receive our normal warm welcome.

As I am unable to work out when you stayed with us from your review please can you contact me with your name and date of stay so I can look into this matter further.

King regards,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I don't think one could do much better than this motel. Our recently refurbished room was large, nicely appointed, well lit, had a nice size TV, and contained everything we wanted apart from a tea towel, and, perhaps, a microwave. There were plenty of teas, coffees, milks, soaps etc. The room looked out over a small park to the large Sacred Heart Cathedral, and the motel is close to the Beechworth Bakery, and easy walking distance to the city. Some rooms face onto the busy main highway, but our room was quiet. Car parking is close by although not immediately adjacent to the rooms, which would be a disadvantage in bad weather. The lady at Reception was friendly and helpful. I understand (after the event!) that some discounts are available. It would have been nice to have been advised of these. A good place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCromb, Manager at Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed the comforts of our newly renovated rooms.
We go out of our way to provide all those little extras to make your stay just that little bit more comfortable. You will be glad to know that I have now placed a tea towel in all rooms!!

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here on the way back from the Mallee to Melbourne. A very clean, comfortable and modern motel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is perfectly located to central Bendigo to all restaurants and historic features. The room rates are reasonable and if you are an RACV member you are entitled to a 15% discount i have stayed in Bendigo a number of times and this is the best Motel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room - only a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyHSale_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCromb, Manager at Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Johnny,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I'm glad you found our renovated rooms to be value for money and all our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Bendigo

Best wishes
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
1.1 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
217 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#9 of 25 in Bendigo
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#13 of 25 in Bendigo
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Address: 96-102 High St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bendigo
#3 Business Hotel in Bendigo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a corporate traveller, a couple looking for a weekend escape, or a family looking for a place to go for your next trip, look no further than BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn. Guests staying at this 3 1/2 star motel can choose from a range of immaculately presented rooms to satisfy their travelling needs. Each spacious room features comfortable queen beds, immaculate en-suites with hairdryer and complimentary toiletries, complimentary high-speed reliable wireless internet access, direct dial telephones with complimentary local calls, reverse cycle split system air-conditioning, 32" flat screen High Definition LCD televisions featuring Foxtel cable with 2 movie channels, clock radios, iron and ironing board, refrigerators and tea/coffee making facilities and more. BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn also offers a laundry and dry-cleaning service and features off-street parking, a free BBQ, and a fully-equipped Free self-service laundry. A delicious continental or cooked breakfast can be delivered to your room with a choice of breads, cereals and juices on offer. If on-site dining is not your style, then no problem! BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn is located within walking distance to many restaurants and cafes many of which can charge back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bendigo
Bendigo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing