We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice classic hotel”
Review of Hotel Shamrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shamrock
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A nice family friendly hotel. We found the staff to be really nice, the rooms are clean and the hotel has a great classic feel. It offers good value if you're staying in Bendigo. The Breakfast isn't anything special but is fine. Good idea to book nice and early as it can fill out quite quickly during the holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel872013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shamrock
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I wasn't expecting much with this place but was very pleasantly surprised! First of all, the staff are FANTASTIC! They were so friendly and professional, I have not experienced such good customer service for some time. Secondly, the rooms were lovely, very comfortable. Sure it's not a 5 star hotel, but it was very clean, comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicvtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Got a good deal on line for this hotel via Wotif. Included continental breakfast. The hotel is a heritage hotel, located in the centre of Bendigo. Rooms vary enormously (we have stayed there before) but this one, room 208, was lovely. Spacious, good bed, good bathroom, access (through window!) onto external balcony. Lovely and clean, welcoming chocolates on the bed, and small area with 2 chairs for watching tv.

Continental breakfast wasn't expansive, but it was fine. As the coffee machine wasn't working we were offered, and accepted, real coffee from the bar.

We had a lovely evening, with dinner at Bouchon ( see separate review), and great accommodation at the Shamrock.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank parnersinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Myself and several friends were in bendigo for the weekend and ventured upon the "Gold Dust Lounge" at the Hotel Shamrock. The bar was resurrected from the cellars of the ancient hotel,and there we saw some great bands and had fabulous cocktails. Wait staff were great. Music was a mixture of blues and contemporary and haven't seen musicians as good as these for years in Melbourne! Will definitely go back and stay next time with plenty of friends- great place for a party!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A grand Victorian era hotel centrally located in Bendigo but requiring some TLC. That said our room,a superior room,was large containing a queen sized and a single bed. The ensuite was commodious although water pressure was fluctuating. A sizable walk in wardrobe completed our suite. Although facing the main street our room was quiet. the highlight of our stay was our meal in the main bar. The eye fillet was an excellent piece of meat cooked to perfection and the accompanying vegetables compimented the quality of the meat. The meal was very reasonably priced. Parking is no problem in the council car park behind the hotel $6.70 overnight.
Would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masonnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A family and friends gathering saw 20 of us enjoying an evening meal in the wine room of the Balcony Restaurant at the Hotel Shamrock in Bendigo. Staff were attentive in their service and the kitchen turned out some very good food which drew favourable reports from all the diners. The desserts, in particular, tickled many a tonsil. To cap it off, the menu offered a 3 course meal with a glass of house wine for $55, the cost of a main course in many of Melbourne's or Sydney's mid-stream restaurants.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at The Shamrock Hotel. Combining work with pleasure and staying with some friends we love this hotel for ease of catching up with others. A great meeting place but a comfortable place to stay. We had no issue with the cooked breakfast and always find the staff friendly and helpful. Is a great building and always enjoy staying in the centre of Bendigo.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LEZMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.7 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#14 of 25 in Bendigo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
0.9 mi away
Sandhurst Motor Inn Bendigo
0.5 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shamrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shamrock

Address: corner Pall Mall & Williamson St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bendigo
#7 Business Hotel in Bendigo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bendigo
Price Range: $102 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shamrock 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fixture on the Bendigo social scene since 1854, this grand lady has kept her stunning looks and Victorian adornments. She's a gracious hostess - seductive or entertaining depending on her guests' moods. She carries her age proudly alongside modern luxury and personalised service.Located in the heart of Bendigo with 28 accommodation rooms, 2 different styles of dining, a TAB and sports bar as well as newly renovated Underground New York Style bar, the Hotel Shamrock has more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Shamrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Bendigo
Bendigo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing