We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the must sleep places in Australia”
Review of Hotel Shamrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shamrock
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Reviewed March 4, 2013

History .. Style...architecture....location....grub.....grog....bush friendliness ....I commend this hotel to fellow travellers wanting the experience of a traditional colonial and early twentieth century gem.. This not your twentifirst century sort of place though it does have luxuries and appointments consistent with a four plus star.. And there is none of the anonymous service that you get with the trademark internationals.. The food is not gourmand but it is country size and respectable If you get to the kitchen bar in good time.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 474 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

This restaurant (hotel on top) was very good and we would certainly return if in Bendigo again. Had an open steak sandwich with chips, big meal, very nice, particularly enjoyed the large mushroom it came with. A rump steak was ordered as medium, it arrived well done, but a minor issue the meal was enjoyed. The kids meals were really good. Fish and chips, with my daughter telling me the fish tasted fresh, good size. The kids roast of the day was excellent, as good as they come anywhere. It came with 6 vegetables, lamb and gravy, and a really decent size. It's good when you find a restaurant where the kids can eat their vegetables for the day instead of only offering fried food. Kids meals came with a drink all $8.50.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim3513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Thrilled, as a lover of Australia's old mid-nineteenth century grand hotels, to stay in the Dame Nellie Melba suite, overlooking the (old) post office corner. *Huge* room. Seriously, enormous. High ceilings, heritage fittings. Very comfortable and well furnished. Bathroom fine, a bit daggy (clean but totally aesthetically out of keeping with room. A spa bath, of all things!). Breakfast in cafe on ground floor - cooked food was excellent, cold stuff pretty standard. Service very friendly and helpful throughout hotel. A real old-fashioned country treat.

Room Tip: Loved our corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenie-esplanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Historical property in the center of Bendigo...a little noisy but great air conditioning and close to many restaurants. We were surprised that for the reasonable price there was A/C. We were expecting a little wear and tear but the old place has held up. Right across the street from major tourist sites and just a short walk from the hop/on hop/off tram system. Adequate parking in multilevel garage with direct transit into the hotel. We would recommend this place to travelers

Room Tip: This is a great place if you want to be in the center of the action in Bendigo Victoria Australia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very basic facilities including the simplest of bathrooms (circa 1970s). Lots of Saturday night noise. Basic breakfast. For the price we expected more but if you accept that it's a basic country hotel then it's fine. Have stayed at other places in Bendigo for much less which were cleaner, newer, friendlier BUT nowhere near the position of the Shamrock. If you have a car then try elsewhere if you want something above basic

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is right in the center of town making it a good base to explore the the city or conduct business. The historic grandure of the hotel has been preserved and information of visits by Royality and people of note is on display.
The rooms retain the style of an earlier age with high ceilings, but with bathrooms suitably modernised. We found them comfortable.
Staff were largely friendly and willing to help. The cafe/restaurant provided a range of meals that will cover most tastes, including a children's menu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend antique collecting in and around Bendigo.

Decided to spend the night at the Shamrock in Bendigo. The deal was good - a night in an ensuite room with breakfast thrown in. Pretty good.

But - despite the 'double glazing' that was ineffective we spent the night being constantly woken by traffic noise in the street outside, and we were two floors up. Add to that the idiot upstairs who was either tap dancing or hammering a new sole on his shoe.....you get the picture.

The bed was average, as long as you didn't mind that the rolling bias was into the middle.

So whilst it's a lovely old classic, it's not good for a restful night.

One upside - the meals in the cafe are excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.7 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#15 of 25 in Bendigo
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
0.9 mi away
Sandhurst Motor Inn Bendigo
0.5 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shamrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shamrock

Address: corner Pall Mall & Williamson St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bendigo
#7 Business Hotel in Bendigo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bendigo
Price Range: $99 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shamrock 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fixture on the Bendigo social scene since 1854, this grand lady has kept her stunning looks and Victorian adornments. She's a gracious hostess - seductive or entertaining depending on her guests' moods. She carries her age proudly alongside modern luxury and personalised service.Located in the heart of Bendigo with 28 accommodation rooms, 2 different styles of dining, a TAB and sports bar as well as newly renovated Underground New York Style bar, the Hotel Shamrock has more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Shamrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Bendigo
Bendigo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing