We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnighter in Benders !”
Review of Hotel Shamrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shamrock
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overnighter in Benders !”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had the good fortune of spending a lovely night in Bendigo at the Shamrock Hotel on Saturday 15 December. As a result of a complaint from a previous stay, we were offered a complimentary night in a lovely spa room. Comfy bed, great bathroom and huge room were all big pluses. There was a party going on downstairs which was quite loud but the room was pretty well insulated so it was not overbearing. Some drunk tried to get in the door about 11.30 but desisted after being unsuccessful. Had a lovely breakfast on the Sunday and the staff at the restaurant and bar were very agreeable. Parking was a bit of pain with access being an issue late at night. Overall the stay was fantastic and I would recommend it. Check out Sunday was streamlined although the receptionist could have been a bit friendlier but make up your own mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennieB469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    197
    83
    37
    22
See reviews for
86
204
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Atmosphere a great old pub.
Food is pretty good but not fantastic, and the service not good.
Scrambled eggs were good, bacon really oily and toast average - kind of dry and no butter. It was really disorganised though. Turns out if you order cooked breakfast you can have juice and butter from the buffet - BUT - they had run out of orange juice and the toast was pretty cold by the time we got it. We ordered coffees and everyone around us got theirs, we ate our breakfast while the table next to us got their coffes - returned a mixed up order - and drank them and left - while we were still chasing up our coffee. We finally got it after the breakfast was finished. During the breakfast I asked if the coffees were coming and the guy said they were on their way. I think he forgot because after a bit he looked over at our table and with a sharp intake of breath and a quiet mutter of something under his breath, he took a ticket over to the barrista guy.
I get that it was the holiday season and can be forgiving over it, but if you ask for a review, this was our experience on that day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Great breakfast, fairly priced great service, really enjoyed this dining experience would gladly come here again, we did not stay here for accommodation but I think next time we will stay here. The staff were great, we had a big group and it wasn't a problem to pull two tables together

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paige E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The public areas of this hotel are full of charachter and warmth. The staff are efficient and the locality is very handy. The standard room I had was very basic but the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet so I had a great sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discodonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Shamrock is lovely to visit. The service was great, food was delicious and the atmosphere superb. Well worth the stay. You won't be disappointed..The meal was wonderfully presented --certainly a touch of class that you won't find everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redvfr750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Looked forward to a drink on the magnificent balcony but was not allowed due to a private function even though it used no more than 50% of balcony area. Unable to get local news as TV's did not allow free to air television, then no local or other papers at breakfast. Advised that papers did not arrive until mid morning! Breakfast stewed filtered coffee just abysmal. Our room at the rear was above a/c cooling towers and therefore noisy, not helped by people (staff?) talking and smoking on lower fire escape at 2.00 a.m. Facilities, particularly elevator, were a bit shabby and staff not very helpful. Only pluses were central location and excellent bed. Disappointing as it really could be magnificent if there was more focus on good old fashioned customer hospitality.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The beautifully restored Hotel Shamrock has the old world charm but also the mod cons we have come to expect these days. The rooms (superior) are generous in size with their high ceilings and quaint furnishings. We only stayed one night this time but as usual staff friendly and happy to assist. Breakfast is also included and weekend late checkout appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.7 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#13 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
1.0 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shamrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shamrock

Property: Hotel Shamrock
Address: corner Pall Mall & Williamson St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bendigo
#7 Business Hotel in Bendigo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shamrock 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fixture on the Bendigo social scene since 1854, this grand lady has kept her stunning looks and Victorian adornments. She's a gracious hostess - seductive or entertaining depending on her guests' moods. She carries her age proudly alongside modern luxury and personalised service.Located in the heart of Bendigo with 28 accommodation rooms, 2 different styles of dining, a TAB and sports bar as well as newly renovated Underground New York Style bar, the Hotel Shamrock has more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shamrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Bendigo
Bendigo Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing