We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
56
26
13
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
56
26
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door safari tent yarra valley bell tent cheese platter golf buggy complimentary wine grape vines staff were exceptional both mornings walking track great weekend warmer months separate bedroom two nights split system short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 101 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Pleasantly surprised by how well appointed the bell tents were. A beautiful location to see the sunrise over the vineyards and very quiet. We enjoyed drinking wine from the estate on our deck with a cheeseboard from the restaurant. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were delicious and the wine tasting experience enjoyable!
A 10 min drive into Bendigo.
Our shared bathroom (portaloo) style was clean and only a short walk from the tent. Our bathroom did block up during our stay but our hosts dealt with it quickly and we received a bottle of while by way of apology. Service was fantastic across our whole stay and we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We were quite sad to leave after 3 night stay.

Room tip: Choose a tent overlooking the vineyard
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

We are extremely disappointed with our experience (or lack of) at Balgownie Bendigo. We were gifted a voucher for our wedding for two nights (including the deluxe package) glamping. We booked this approximately 2-3 months prior to arriving. We drove from Melbourne (both my husband and I taking a day off work) and arrived at 4pm, only to find out that they didn’t have our reservation and that they could not accommodate us for the second night. Initially the lady at reception said that nothing could be done and that we would just need to come back another time for the second night. We immediately requested a full refund, only to have this accepted 2 hours later at 6pm. Given the distance we have had to drive from Melbourne to Bendigo and back, as well as the time wasted there, we expected there would be some sort of compensation to encourage us to come back and even prevent us from having to publicly write this review. However, no compensation was offered. While we appreciate the options the staff offered, it is purely unrealistic for us to stay one night (already having wasted half a day), leave the next morning and organise another day off work to come back. It has been an extremely disappointing experience, especially since this was a wedding gift which we were very much looking forward to. For a business which offers such pricey and glamorous camping experience, the least they could offer is compensation for the significant mistake that occurred due to staff error.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Yaz610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Overall a great experience.

The good: Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Setting was beautiful and good spacing between tents. Note that there is a short walk over gravel paths from the car to the tents, so you might want to bring luggage you can carry instead of rolling suitcases. Tents were spacious and well decorated, the beds were incredibly comfortable. Fluffy cozy robes and plenty of towels. Tea & coffee facilities, wine glasses in the tent and a small mini fridge. We had included breakfast, which we had on both mornings. The menu is reduced, but still plenty of selection and delicious! We also ate dinner at the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food and wine. Staff were very attentive, bringing us blankets on the restaurant deck when it got a bit chilly during dinner. We also spent plenty of time on the deck outside our tent star-gazing or looking over the vineyard. A relaxing and fun weekend!

The not so good: Toilets didn't flush, and the light in the bathroom didn't work. Had to shower in the evenings by torchlight. There was also a wedding taking place, and they played very loud music until 11pm. Wish we had been informed ahead of time. Would avoid staying here if there is a wedding booked in as it is really very loud and you will not be able to sleep until the music stops!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C_S_L_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

We booked a Glamping Tent and dinner in the Restaurant for a birthday celebration. We had stayed at Yarra Valley previously and had a great experience. So we drove up from Melbourne expecting the same.
When we arrived we found that their was a wedding and were advised that the Restaurant was relocated into the Barrel a Room for the night. We were told it could be cold so best to take a jumper. We said that we had not been advised and were told we should have been...we were also told we could need a jumper because it was cold in there....we did not have with us because it was 30 degrees.
Any way we walked down to our tent and it was really nice and well prepared / clean etc
If you had luggage for more than one night it is quite a walk.
We arrived at the dinner location in the barrel to be nformed that there was a reduced menu....only three choices of entre and main. Once again no one told us and no opportunity to move dates or cancel...there was no vegetarian option and in the end my wife had two entries as there was no main of the three that was suitable. I had scallops for entree and they were the size of peas and in a heavy tomato based sauce. Very ordinary. My steak was very good and well cooked but the chips were almost raw inside.
One of the waitresses was lovely and clearly not happy about us not being advised we made sure that she new we weren’t in anyway critical of the waitresses but the management.
Balgownie is an expensive experience which left us pretty flat on this occasion. We certainly would have spent the money elsewhere and not made the trip had we known.

Room tip: Not near the outdoor toilets
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

Spent last night glamping in a bell tent on the winery. Tent spacious, bed super comfy, pretty hot as aircon unit not really working apart from vibrating bed throughout the night. No facilities for eating in tent (cldnt afford winery restaurant). Separate toilet and shower shared between 2 tents.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BBoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews