We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balgownie Estate Bendigo
Nearby Hotels
The Heritage Bendigo(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$100
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Place(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Resort Hotel Bendigo(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$114
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barclay On View(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$115
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo(Bendigo)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
41
20
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
20
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar dooryarra valleygrape vinesbell tentcheese platterlocal producelarge groupgreat weekendtwo nightscomfy bedovernight staycontinental breakfastwineryaccommodationspa
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 69 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very quiet, peaceful, comfortable accommodation. Loved the big bathroom, shower over the spa bath didn't worry us. We had amazing scones, jam and cream and I'm not even a sweet tooth.
A short trip to the Marong Hotel where we had some amazing food. In fact we ate too much and probably shouldn't have had the scones for afternoon tea!
We would have preferred a better quality bread for our toast, perhaps a local sourdough and I'm not sure why we got 3 slices for 2 people. Also, would have loved the jam we had with our scones not the sachet variety. Overall, a great place to stay for stressed people from the burbs.

Room Tip: Only two identical rooms available
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went here for lunch and could not fault the place. Had two of the gourmet pies and they were both amazing and served with delicious chutney (which we later purchased). Cellar door manager was very friendly and helpful in showing us the wines and the history. Left feeling very satisfied with two bottles of wine, cheese and a jar of chutney. Absolutely amazing

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Oceanbeauty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalgownieBendigo, Manager at Balgownie Estate Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for those kind words, our staff are keen to make your visit to Balgownie memorable for all the right reasons.
And yes that chutney is very special.
Hope to see you and your friends again soon.
Regards
Kathryn and the Balgownie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

On the recommendation of friends, ex-Victorians, in late October we visited the Bendigo region for the first time with the view of seeing the town and staying at a local winery. Bendigo was an eye opener with its wonderful old buildings and rich history and we were stunned by 'The Great Stupa of Universal Compassion' building currently under construction on the outskirts of town . We stayed overnight at the nearby Balgownie Estate winery in Maiden Gully in one of their two very well appointed units. Here we enjoyed a peaceful country evening cooking great steaks on the veranda BBQ and washing them down with a selection of the winery's very good vintages. Highly recommend this establishment on your next visit to Bendigo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our one night at Balgownie in Bendigo. Nice location, very quiet and amazing stars at night combined with the frogs calling in the dam down the way in the vineyard. Very good location for visiting Bendigo or any surrounding areas (in our case, Wedderburn the next day).

Nicely appointed cottage with a comfy bed, nice furniture, two televisions and pleasant décor. OK pillows (hard or soft are the only two choices) and nice linen. Quality toiletries provided. His and hers vanity units are a bonus. No separate toilet I always mark down.

Adequate continental breakfast provisions and lots to spend extra money on in the fridge and in the wine cellar if you want.

Cellar door hosts Alan and Kathryn were very friendly and offered to stay open longer for us to do a tasting all on our own plus had an excellent recommendation for dinner.

Far better than a motel. Country friendly hospitality in a nice location - give it a go.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for a 3 night weekend getaway with my girlfriend and absolutely loved it here.

Not far out of Bendigo but had the feeling of being in a remote location.

The rooms offered the feeling of luxury and the staff provided a very friendly service and accommodated to our top up requests.

Enjoyed some wine tasting and lunch at the cellar door, couldn't leave without buying some wine.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews