We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
31
51
15
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
31
51
15
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeysuckle cottage bedroom apartment free wifi was great double garage an extensive menu cable tv self contained good size excellent location stay there again city centre friendly service home away from home short stay bistro nash laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 108 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2018

Visited twice prior to Christmas, meal and service tops. Very busy but no long delays in meal being served.
Also attended a small function in the new room, closed off from the bar area, but huge window looking out onto main road. Ideal for private function, with delicious finger food served.

Room tip: Motel, apartment accommodation also available as well as great meal. Close to city.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lyne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment as a family while our house was being renovated. The National is well located and only a short drive into town.

The facilities of the apartment were good but it was a strange mix of renovated with old kitchen applicances and an outdated bathroom. However, everything works well for a self contained stay but there is no dishwasher.

This apartment is up a flight of stairs (no lift) and the shower is also up steps making the apartment is not very disability friendly. It was a struggle at times with our toddler.

The apartment is located directly above reception and there is a fair bit of road noise at night. However, what we struggled with most was that the sign is right outside the window of 2 of the bedrooms. The blinds blocked very little of this and the rooms were very bright at night. I brought this to the attention of reception at the time of checkout and I hope that something can be done to fix this issue - if not, I suggest you bring an eye mask!

The bistro is great for a pub meal but very busy so make sure you book.

All in all, although there were a few issues, we thought the apartment was great value and worked very well for our needs.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Allonsy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger B, Manager at National Hotel Complex, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

We booked into this hotel as it was near where we had an event to attend. The room was on the ground floor with a back door to reach the pool area quicker. The room was a nice size with a good size bathroom. There was a microwave in the room. There is a pub at the front but we didn't hear any noise from there. We did hear some noises through the night but not sure where they came from. We would stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Leesa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger B, Manager at National Hotel Complex, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Group of friends stayed at the Honeysuckle cottage. 3 nice sized bedrooms with 2 queens and 2 bunks in 2 rooms and 1 queen in the 3rd. Great little outdoor area with bbq. Kitchen dining and lounge had enough space aswell. Theres a bar with restaurant right on your door step. We took a cab into city centre it took us 5 mins to get there. Would definitely stay again whether with friends or partner

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank travel_bug8287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

I recently returned to Bendigo for work and decided to try the Apartments on High instead of the motel room.

I'm glad I did - for the price difference it was really great to have the separate sleeping area and lounge. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, the for longer stays the laundry would be fantastic, the bedroom spacious with plenty of storage space, kitchenette small but perfectly formed, the dining space more than adequate and the lounge area comfortable.

The only downside was the ants that had taken up residence! Not a great sign when Ant-Rid is supplied under the kitchen sink!! I found the floor in the lounge area sticky in places - unsure what it was......Ant-Rid maybe so I decided to keep my shoes on.

Overall - will definitely stay in the apartments on my next visit!

Room tip: Rooms towards the back of the complex have less road noise.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews