We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Nash's Honeysuckle Cottage with a large group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
National Hotel Complex
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed one night in the National Hotel Motel's Honeysuckle Cottage - self contained accommodation on the site. It was great, clean, bright, spacious and very reasonably priced. For a fully self-contained rental the kitchen was a bit under-provided for - no matches for the gas cooker (but the reception desk provided them without fuss), no salt & pepper, not a lot of kitchen cooking containers. Still, if you bring your own you will be very happy - and if you are planning on heating up pizza or having a BBQ the kitchen set up will be fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug_aegn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 87 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have been to "The Nash" a few times now for meals, but I must say, this last visit was the most enjoyable! We waited a little while for our food, but it was extremely busy, so quite understandable. The wait staff were very attentive and helpful. I ordered the seafood basket, and I must say it was the best seafood basket I have ever eaten other than a little restaurant on the coast. The thing that impressed me was that none of it was battered, all grilled. It is the perfect option for someone who wants a healthy seafood meal, with a lovely salad.

The atmosphere was very relaxing, and not overly loud considering how busy it was.
Well done, Nash, we will be coming back again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jowody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

last minute stay over at bendigo on way to mildura. Found rooms very comfy and clean and pool looks great for the warmer weather.Had dinner in bistro . Food scrumptous well ,presented and served quickly. Moved into bar had great nite with locals and young ones.

Room Tip: apartments on high look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The stay at the room was fair and the staff in the accommodation area were very nice. But the evening bar staff were very rude giving priority service to their regular drunks it appeared. The meal was very average. The bar area turned into a drunken night club after 9pm. They need to stop serving drunks. Will not be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was a bit nervous after reading review but unlike other reviewer found staff to be quite helpful & friendly. Rooms were quiet,dinner at the hotel was adequate & breakfast was served hot. Overall reasonable value I thought. Not 4 star but neither was the price - seems some peoples expectations far outweigh what they pay. I would certainly be staying here again when passing thru Bendigo

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clevertrever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My friend and I booked a slightly discounted rate for this motel via a group booking site. As soon as we arrived, the manager told us we would be required to pay extra in order to make up for the discounted rate (about $20) and was incredibly rude. We advised him that we would not be paying any extra. We told him that if he didn't agree with the discounted terms of the website then he should take his business off it.
Later that evening, it was quite chilly. I rang reception to ask for some more blankets. The manager answered and advised that he didn't have any spare. 5 mins later into the conversation he reported that he would have a look and see what he could come up with but he was sure he didn't have any spare and then he hung up on me.
30mins later, there was a knock on our door. The manager had located those elusive blankets and told us we needed to come to reception tomorrow morning at checkout as we would be required to pay the extra money for the room. We advised him that we would not be paying any extra.
The next morning, he and his wife were at reception and were arguing over $20 that they had agreed to discount for the website. They were extremely rude and we refused to pay any more money. Advised them that they can call the discount website company and speak to them about it but they refused.
I will never stay there again and advise anyone else who wishes to stay discount to rethink this business. It seems fine if you pay full price because they were quite pleasant to the people checking out after us.
The rooms are adequate but the service was terrible!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Megs033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
1.4 mi away
Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welcome Stranger Motel
Welcome Stranger Motel
#18 of 25 in Bendigo
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#9 of 25 in Bendigo
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#16 of 25 in Bendigo
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Complex

Address: 182-186 High St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly National Hotel Motel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range: $95 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — National Hotel Complex 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only a 1 km walk from the city centre and opposite the famous Central Deborah Goldmine and the Talking tram. The National offers an extensive range of accommodation options, ranging from 24 Motel Rooms including a range of Spa Suites, 12 x 1,2 & 3 bedroom apartments (deluxe, standards & self contained)& a 3 Bedroom Cottage (sleeps 10).Some of the Motel features include free WI-FI, Foxtel, BBQ, guest laundry, Breakfast or Dinner to your room, ample off street parking, outdoor pool & indoor Spa.Easy on-site access to our locally popular Bar, Bistro & Function Room Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your National Hotel Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing