We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allawah Boultons building rethink your stay”
Review of Allawah Bendigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allawah Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was moved from the Maisonettes to the Boultons Building If your offered this choice dont take it !! I must say the unit was clean and i mean it was clean !!!! BUT ITS SO BAD EVERY IN EVERY OTHER WAY The unit is so cold as the rooms are very high and the airconditioning is to small so on 30 deg all weekend and i still had to buy a fan heater to sleep theres parking in the "Lane" not a reserved spot and my car was hit by some other person trying to park no name left the hot water service is a constant heat model but it is to small to get hot shower right and the shower head is a cheap one the couch is a modern look but you cant sit and watch tv as there is no back to suport you the bedroom has one small lamp and there is no blinds to black out the light in there from the front rooms i could go on but its not worth it just drive back to melbourne and only stay in Bendigo for a day if that is your only accom option

Room Tip: just dont stay in this unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that somebody damaged your car during your stay.
It is a shame you did not take the time to contact us during your stay about the heating and HWS. Staff were available to come down to assist with the heating, maybe it was on the incorrect setting, and we have extra heaters for nights like Saturday night - it was particularly cold.
In regard to the HWS, it is a Rinnai Instanteous HWS in perfect working order.
I have actually resided in this particular apartment while renovating my house, so I am well aware of the apartment, it's amenities and it's liveability - I would have no hesitation in staying/living in that apartment again with my family of four.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here only one night, would have been happy if it was longer. character building, first class furnishings, linen, towels. Nice touch by staff having heating on for arriving guests on cold day. Mini bar wines good quality and reasonably priced.
Location very short walk to great restaurants and bars. Ample off street parking. Check in / checkout easy.

Room Tip: Just book so as you are not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It is great that you enjoyed your stay in Bendigo, and thank you for taking the time to review Fountain View Suites. Fountain View Suites are located in a magnificent example of Victorian architecture, located in the Arts Precinct of Bendigo - a perfect location to park your car and walk to everything Bendigo has on offer.
Hope to see you in Bendigo again, hopefully next time it is for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights in Room 6 over Easter. On arrival I was worried that it would be a bit small but the space is very well utilised and there was no sense of claustrophobia. It is a period building very well done up with good quality furnishings.

The building is behind WineBank, just across the street from the park and the art precinct.

Our main concern is that there were no table or chairs. We brought a wooden folding table and two chairs into the room from the spacious veranda, and then it all worked like a charm.

We did have a glass of wine on the veranda (private to guests) one evening, but over all it was too late in the season to enjoy al fresco drinking and dining anywhere.

The off-street parking was particularly handy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed on the Saturday night before NYE and it was quiet and peaceful. Great location, loved sitting on the verandah having a glass of wine before dinner. The room was comfortable with period details, bathroom was compact and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor would be quieter than ground floor rooms, although there's no lift - on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnskyWinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you Ansky Winslow for your time reviewing The Maisonettes.
I have to agree, the view from the verandah of The Maisonettes is great. It allows you to see a different side of Bendigo - the red bricks behind the hard plastered facades, the tall chimneys of the old gold smelters, the circular stair case, and not to forget the tall palm tree nestled in behind the commercial buildings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was run by Allawah which is associated with the Wine Bank on View Street and the Allawah Maisonettes, but these apartments are just a few shops down from the Wine Bar off a laneway. Great resoration of what was the Bank of NSW building. We stayed in apartment 3 which was up a set of external stairs (which were in need of repair). The building has been restored nicely, to a lovely 1 bedroom apartment with separate lounge / kitchen area. The kitchen has stove and full sized fridge and there is a washing machine as well. Very nicely set up and although we only stayed one night I could see this being a great spot for a longer stay, Parking in the adjacent carpark which is for residents and the Chiropracic clinic. Nice and quiet even though you are only a few doors down from the Wine Bank. I had a look at the Maisonetttes' behind the Wine Bank as you have to walk past to get to the Wine Bank toilets if you are dining there. I think the apartment we stayed in would be a better choice in terms of location. Being on View Street and close to the central fountain you are right in the centre of town and within walking distance of shops and gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review Chrissylou.
All of Allawah Bendigo's one bedroom apartments are all centrally located, and offer living rooms, full kitchens, laundry and queen sized beds. The one bedroom options available include the apartment at The Former Bank of NSW in View, another overlooking the Alexandra Fountain in the Cahill Chambers Building, a number near the train station in Wills Street and one more neighbouring the Sacred Heart Cathdral. You might like to try a different one next time you are in Bendigo.
And for the record - the timber landing has been repaired since your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

All the Maisonettes were full so I was offered the one bedroomed apartments in Wills Street and I must say I think the 1 rating given prior to this is very unfair. The accommodation was fresh and clean, the bed very comfortable, I really enjoyed the quality linen and slept very well.
The bathroom wasn't a problem for me.
Decor good, shower hot, drawers for all of my toiletries.
So many cupboards to choose from in which to put my case.
New kitchen comfortable sofa and a good air con/heater.
Really handy for the station and the centre of Bendigo. Two rooms for the price of one.
I chose it for the next two weeks I had to go back to Bendigo too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Claire, and I have to say - I agree with everything you wrote. The apartment offers everything you need for a short stay, in a fantastic location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed Friday and Saturday night. Didnt hear any noise from the Winebar. The room was very neat and clean as well as the outside and is good value. The staff were all very polite and helpful. Fantastic location walking distance to everything. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you Ali for your review. It is great that people take the time to give positive feedback.
Looking forward to booking you in, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Quest Schaller Hotel Bendigo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
487 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#16 of 25 in Bendigo
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
1.9 mi away
All Seasons Resort Hotel Bendigo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Bendigo

Address: 5 Mackenzie St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Allawah Maisonettes)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bendigo
Price Range: $91 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allawah Bendigo 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allawah Bendigo offers a large range of inner city accommodation. The options include bedsitters, suites, one & two bedroom apartments and a three bedroom house. Stay for a night, stay for a year or anywhere in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Allawah Bendigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing