We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and character”
Review of Allawah Bendigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allawah Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“History and character”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed on the Saturday night before NYE and it was quiet and peaceful. Great location, loved sitting on the verandah having a glass of wine before dinner. The room was comfortable with period details, bathroom was compact and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor would be quieter than ground floor rooms, although there's no lift - on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnskyWinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you Ansky Winslow for your time reviewing The Maisonettes.
I have to agree, the view from the verandah of The Maisonettes is great. It allows you to see a different side of Bendigo - the red bricks behind the hard plastered facades, the tall chimneys of the old gold smelters, the circular stair case, and not to forget the tall palm tree nestled in behind the commercial buildings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
58
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was run by Allawah which is associated with the Wine Bank on View Street and the Allawah Maisonettes, but these apartments are just a few shops down from the Wine Bar off a laneway. Great resoration of what was the Bank of NSW building. We stayed in apartment 3 which was up a set of external stairs (which were in need of repair). The building has been restored nicely, to a lovely 1 bedroom apartment with separate lounge / kitchen area. The kitchen has stove and full sized fridge and there is a washing machine as well. Very nicely set up and although we only stayed one night I could see this being a great spot for a longer stay, Parking in the adjacent carpark which is for residents and the Chiropracic clinic. Nice and quiet even though you are only a few doors down from the Wine Bank. I had a look at the Maisonetttes' behind the Wine Bank as you have to walk past to get to the Wine Bank toilets if you are dining there. I think the apartment we stayed in would be a better choice in terms of location. Being on View Street and close to the central fountain you are right in the centre of town and within walking distance of shops and gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review Chrissylou.
All of Allawah Bendigo's one bedroom apartments are all centrally located, and offer living rooms, full kitchens, laundry and queen sized beds. The one bedroom options available include the apartment at The Former Bank of NSW in View, another overlooking the Alexandra Fountain in the Cahill Chambers Building, a number near the train station in Wills Street and one more neighbouring the Sacred Heart Cathdral. You might like to try a different one next time you are in Bendigo.
And for the record - the timber landing has been repaired since your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

All the Maisonettes were full so I was offered the one bedroomed apartments in Wills Street and I must say I think the 1 rating given prior to this is very unfair. The accommodation was fresh and clean, the bed very comfortable, I really enjoyed the quality linen and slept very well.
The bathroom wasn't a problem for me.
Decor good, shower hot, drawers for all of my toiletries.
So many cupboards to choose from in which to put my case.
New kitchen comfortable sofa and a good air con/heater.
Really handy for the station and the centre of Bendigo. Two rooms for the price of one.
I chose it for the next two weeks I had to go back to Bendigo too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Claire, and I have to say - I agree with everything you wrote. The apartment offers everything you need for a short stay, in a fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbounre
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed Friday and Saturday night. Didnt hear any noise from the Winebar. The room was very neat and clean as well as the outside and is good value. The staff were all very polite and helpful. Fantastic location walking distance to everything. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you Ali for your review. It is great that people take the time to give positive feedback.
Looking forward to booking you in, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointing for the money. These flats are not the ones behind the Wine Bank, but seem to be 1 bedroom apartments or flats.
The kitchen and lounge when you first walk in are excellent, and the finishes superb. But it is all down hill from there. The bedroom is so small there is only room for 1 bedside table and lamp, and no room or place to put a suitcase. Ever considered putting the bed under the windows guys?
Then into the bathroom - a complete nightmare. You can fit one person in there if you have no equipment and you move sideways! There is absolutely nowhere to even put your toothbrush, let alone your makeup bag.
So with all your stuff on the floor, you shimmy sideways through a really narrow gap in the shower wall into quite a large shower. Sounds good? Some idiot put the small shower shelf immediately where your arm pit is when you wash your hair. So after you've figured out that if you twist the shower sideways you can actually lather your hair BUT all your stuff on the floor is now wet because all the water goes out the shower door.
So if you are wanting to stay somewhere nice in Bendigo for a special occasion that involves a good dress, makeup, etc, stay somewhere else. For $185 per night, you have a lot of choices.
I would suggest that Mark and Janine spend a night in there - they obviously have not.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review Catherine, it is a shame you were not able to tell Mark and I your feelings while you were here. The Will Street one bedroom apartments are a redevelopment of a solid brick 1960's block of flats offering self contained accommodation in the CBD. The kitchen provides cooktop, underbench oven, microwave, full sized fridge freezer and ample bench space. The living room offers a three seater leather couch, coffee table and TV, DVD and a large storage cupboard. The bedroom offers two generous sized wardrobes with hanging space, and a stack of shelves, a chest of drawers and storage space under the bed - many options for suitcase and clothes storage. Admitedly the entrance to the bathroom is narrow, but the bathroom itself is not small. The vanity cupboard offers both storage space, and a benchtop to allow you to place your make up bag.
The site was not a greenfield site and had it have been, the design would have included a larger doorway to the bathroom, but other than that the layout of these one bedroom apartments is very suited to their purpose @ $180.00 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really comfortable room nothing over the top. location unbeatable, close to wine bank which is a Bendigo must do. We will definenately stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Maisonettes.
Please note, it is common practise for our staff to state The Maisonettes are located behind Wine Bank to avoid any confusion.
In response to your issues - when the TV was checked by the staff it worked perfectly well, the only problem that they could find was that the remote was very sensitive.
The noise was not from Wine Bank guests, but in fact we had guests travelling together and staying in neighbouring rooms, they were moving from room to room.
The staff of Wine Bank were not cutting wood at 11.00pm.
Allawah Bendigo offer a range of properties, at a number of locations throughout Bendigo. The address listed on the website is the office address. The confirmation of reservation emailed to guests upon booking with out outlines the address to pick up keys, and the address at which the accommodation is located at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Iam actually writing from my room at this place..as Iam unable to sleep due to noise.
looked good in pictures..
website or anyone fails to mention that its at the rear of the wine bar, and is accessible to drunk people...who can hang about being as loud as they wish
Other points...1. no phone in rooms, probably so you can't complain about how utterly poor everything runs (see point 2,3,4,5) 2. Tv control doesn't work 3. Heater didn't work for most of the day 4. you wake up every 5 minutes, from noise from the bar, doors banging, staff deciding to cut up wood at 11pm..
and last 5. well all this is only a problem if u can actually find the place, as maisonettes aren't on address shown on web page. serious fail

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#13 of 25 in Bendigo
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Bendigo

Property: Allawah Bendigo
Address: 5 Mackenzie St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Allawah Maisonettes)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allawah Bendigo 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allawah Bendigo offers a large range of inner city accommodation. The options include bedsitters, suites, one & two bedroom apartments and a three bedroom house. Stay for a night, stay for a year or anywhere in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Allawah Bendigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing