We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Allawah Flats @ Wills Street””
Review of Allawah Bendigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allawah Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“"Allawah Flats @ Wills Street””
Reviewed October 25, 2012

All the Maisonettes were full so I was offered the one bedroomed apartments in Wills Street and I must say I think the 1 rating given prior to this is very unfair. The accommodation was fresh and clean, the bed very comfortable, I really enjoyed the quality linen and slept very well.
The bathroom wasn't a problem for me.
Decor good, shower hot, drawers for all of my toiletries.
So many cupboards to choose from in which to put my case.
New kitchen comfortable sofa and a good air con/heater.
Really handy for the station and the centre of Bendigo. Two rooms for the price of one.
I chose it for the next two weeks I had to go back to Bendigo too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Claire, and I have to say - I agree with everything you wrote. The apartment offers everything you need for a short stay, in a fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
57
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbounre
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed Friday and Saturday night. Didnt hear any noise from the Winebar. The room was very neat and clean as well as the outside and is good value. The staff were all very polite and helpful. Fantastic location walking distance to everything. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you Ali for your review. It is great that people take the time to give positive feedback.
Looking forward to booking you in, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointing for the money. These flats are not the ones behind the Wine Bank, but seem to be 1 bedroom apartments or flats.
The kitchen and lounge when you first walk in are excellent, and the finishes superb. But it is all down hill from there. The bedroom is so small there is only room for 1 bedside table and lamp, and no room or place to put a suitcase. Ever considered putting the bed under the windows guys?
Then into the bathroom - a complete nightmare. You can fit one person in there if you have no equipment and you move sideways! There is absolutely nowhere to even put your toothbrush, let alone your makeup bag.
So with all your stuff on the floor, you shimmy sideways through a really narrow gap in the shower wall into quite a large shower. Sounds good? Some idiot put the small shower shelf immediately where your arm pit is when you wash your hair. So after you've figured out that if you twist the shower sideways you can actually lather your hair BUT all your stuff on the floor is now wet because all the water goes out the shower door.
So if you are wanting to stay somewhere nice in Bendigo for a special occasion that involves a good dress, makeup, etc, stay somewhere else. For $185 per night, you have a lot of choices.
I would suggest that Mark and Janine spend a night in there - they obviously have not.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review Catherine, it is a shame you were not able to tell Mark and I your feelings while you were here. The Will Street one bedroom apartments are a redevelopment of a solid brick 1960's block of flats offering self contained accommodation in the CBD. The kitchen provides cooktop, underbench oven, microwave, full sized fridge freezer and ample bench space. The living room offers a three seater leather couch, coffee table and TV, DVD and a large storage cupboard. The bedroom offers two generous sized wardrobes with hanging space, and a stack of shelves, a chest of drawers and storage space under the bed - many options for suitcase and clothes storage. Admitedly the entrance to the bathroom is narrow, but the bathroom itself is not small. The vanity cupboard offers both storage space, and a benchtop to allow you to place your make up bag.
The site was not a greenfield site and had it have been, the design would have included a larger doorway to the bathroom, but other than that the layout of these one bedroom apartments is very suited to their purpose @ $180.00 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really comfortable room nothing over the top. location unbeatable, close to wine bank which is a Bendigo must do. We will definenately stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Manager at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Maisonettes.
Please note, it is common practise for our staff to state The Maisonettes are located behind Wine Bank to avoid any confusion.
In response to your issues - when the TV was checked by the staff it worked perfectly well, the only problem that they could find was that the remote was very sensitive.
The noise was not from Wine Bank guests, but in fact we had guests travelling together and staying in neighbouring rooms, they were moving from room to room.
The staff of Wine Bank were not cutting wood at 11.00pm.
Allawah Bendigo offer a range of properties, at a number of locations throughout Bendigo. The address listed on the website is the office address. The confirmation of reservation emailed to guests upon booking with out outlines the address to pick up keys, and the address at which the accommodation is located at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Iam actually writing from my room at this place..as Iam unable to sleep due to noise.
looked good in pictures..
website or anyone fails to mention that its at the rear of the wine bar, and is accessible to drunk people...who can hang about being as loud as they wish
Other points...1. no phone in rooms, probably so you can't complain about how utterly poor everything runs (see point 2,3,4,5) 2. Tv control doesn't work 3. Heater didn't work for most of the day 4. you wake up every 5 minutes, from noise from the bar, doors banging, staff deciding to cut up wood at 11pm..
and last 5. well all this is only a problem if u can actually find the place, as maisonettes aren't on address shown on web page. serious fail

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in an Executive suite for 2 nights over a holiday weekend and we were impressed. Outstanding location - walk to a plethora of eating options, Bendigo Art Gallery and town centre/retail. Room was huge (18' ceilings!) with an extremely comfortable King bed. Bathroom was very well appointed with high quality stone finishes, separate shower and spa tub however people over 5'8" may struggle with the height of the shower head. Fireplace was working and very effective on cold winter evenings. Great value for money and will definitely stay there again when next in Bendigo.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank felipe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Excellent standards of room with value for money, great food and wine and very friendly down to earth staff!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#13 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
1.9 mi away
Quality Resort All Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Bendigo

Property: Allawah Bendigo
Address: 5 Mackenzie St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Allawah Maisonettes)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allawah Bendigo 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allawah Bendigo offers a large range of inner city accommodation. The options include bedsitters, suites, one & two bedroom apartments and a three bedroom house. Stay for a night, stay for a year or anywhere in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Allawah Bendigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing