We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great range to suit most requirements” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allawah Bendigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allawah Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great range to suit most requirements”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stay with work regularly and would normally choose the maisonettes, Central location great value. I have also stayed at the fountain view suites and they are amazing. They also have one and two bedroom apartments which I have stayed in with my wife and friends. Modern fit out central can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. Allawah Bendigo certainly offers a range of accommodation within the Bendigo CBD. Often the properties are conversions of previously unused spaces. Our accommodation includes bedsitters (Maisonettes), Fountain View Suites, one & two bedroom apartments and a three bedroom house. See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
56
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We woke up thinking we were going to Beechworth, but somewhere along the way decided to head to Bendigo instead. We were so lucky to find the cozy Wine Bank, where we enjoyed dinner and some great Shiraz.

Our waitress recommended the maisonettes out in the back, which used to house the male staff members of the bank building in which the wine bar is now housed. What a cute little place to stay. Maybe because we were last minute we got room 4 or 5 (can't remember), for only $120, which I thought was fantastic. The bed was comfortable, everything was super clean, and the little kitchenette was fully stocked. There was a little kettle to make coffee in the morning and we enjoyed the veranda in the morning, along with the chorus of cathedral bells from local churches.

Only steps from a couple very cool bars, including basement Bar , which had a live local band. Very cool!

Loved it, loved the service, the quaintness, and had an overall excellent time. I will recommend this place to others traveling to Bendigo and will stay there next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Lovely review, thank you. It is fantastic to hear you had a great time, and that we will see you again.
Let it be noted, the $120.00 is the standard rate on a Friday and Saturday night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Allawah seems to operate "maisonettes", apartments and a house at various locations around Bendigo. When we booked a 1 bedroom apartment at $160 a night we expected it to be reasonably sized and centrally located in the arts precinct.

When we arrived we found the so-called Wills St. studios are a fairly cheaply renovated block of 6 small 1970s flats in Wills St. near the shopping mall and railway station. The outlook from our flat was of the very unappealing car park next door.

Inside, the flat was lit with cold blue/green tinged fluorescent lighting, the kitchen (advertised as 'full kitchen') was lacking in all but the most basic equipment and there wasn't even a bedside lamp in the bedroom. We ended up buying candles so that at least we could enjoy an evening in front of the telly in light something less redolent of Guantanamo Bay.

The bathroom is tiny and any care needs to be taken to ensure it doesn't flood as there is no floor waste.

On-site parking is limited.

After three nights we'd had enough, emailed the owner with our complaints and asked for a partial refund. After being initially refused this, the owners eventually conceded that the flat left a bit to be desired and refunded part of the tariff. Good for them and face saved all round. But at $160 in a regional town, better values can be had.

Not sure whether these are supposed to be serviced apartments, but in the three days we stayed, it wasn't serviced.

Quite possibly has better 1 bed apartments on offer and if they are available, request not to sent to Wills St. when you book.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StopTheWorld_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for your lengthy email and, review on Trip Advisor. Feedback is very valuable, and we have taken on board your comments, and made some changes. I wish to make comment that -
The one bedroom apartments at Wills Street, are within Bendigo's CBD, and we have never misrepresented their location.
Our confirmation of reservation makes mention of the fact that there was to be no servicing during your three day stay.
The carparking on site provides for up to seven cars, and as you mentioned, there are six apartments.
I would again, like to thank you for taking the time to provide the various forms of feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Allawah Maisonettes are very well located, right in the heart of View street in the old (1876) staff quarters of the Union Bank - which is now the Wine Bank.
The renovation is tasteful and the room (We has No 5) was very pleasant although small - a double bed, small kitchenette, door to a wardrobe, and that's it. The bathroom (as others have said) is very small, but functional and plenty of hot water, etc. Ants in the bathroom were a minor annoyance.
We were staying a Sunday night, and had no problems with noise or sleep. The off-street parking is convenient, and the Wine Bank is great fro a meal, a snack, decent coffee and (of course) a good selection of wine.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Make sure you are getting charged the price that you think - we stayed here and while the accommodation was new, clean and central - the prices listed on the website didn't match what we were charged. When I brought it to their attention I was told they hadn't put this particular apartment up on their website yet! Communication is part of the service people... still didn't get a refund or a response. Shame really and unfortunately enough of a sting to not recommend them in future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TakeTheGirlOutOfMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J9Bendigo, Owner at Allawah Bendigo, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Our booking procedure includes an emailed confirmation of reservation outlining where to pick up the keys, the property address, check in/ check out, payment details and cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed here earlier in the year for business, and it really is a very pretty location - they have some lovely roses.

The rooms are on the small side, being in an old bank which has been converted, they have been very clever in the conversion to accomodation. However, the bathroom was JUST big enough to somehow squeeze in a toilet, basin, and shower. Not sure how they did it, but they managed it!

On the plus side, you get some basic kitchen facilities so you can cook/heat up something basic. THink it had a microwave and fridge, sink, but no oven or stove.

It did get a little noisy early on one evening, since there was a group having a bbq and chit chat around the outdoor table which was directly through my bedroom window. Luckily they didn't stay up too late.

The meals and wine at the wine bank were disappointing, but i think they were doing some repairs or renevations to the kitchen at the time. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

The Maisonettes are situated directly behind the Wine Bank Bar and Restaurant on View Street. The toilets for this wine bar are situated along a walkway that goes right past all the Maisonettes rooms. This is a huge problem.

We stayed in room 4 and experienced noisy drunks walking, yelling and talking all the way to the toilets and back again. Some of these people stopped outside our window to smoke and talk, the smoke came into our room.

The flag stones that make up this walkway to the loo are the type that are noisy especially in the case of womens shoes. There are only 5 or 6 Maisonettes so all would be affected by this noise. One more thing! The internal stairs are the old wooden Victorian type which sound like big drums every time someone walks up or down.

The place was noisy all night and I slept only fitfully, it entirely ruined my weekend.

This place might be ok if you want to drink in the bar and then fall into bed. The 10am check out might hurt your head though.

  • Liked — good position
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank skyloadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#6 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#13 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allawah Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allawah Bendigo

Property: Allawah Bendigo
Address: 5 Mackenzie Street, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Allawah Maisonettes)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allawah Bendigo 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allawah Bendigo offers a large range of inner city accommodation. The options include bedsitters, suites, one & two bedroom apartments and a three bedroom house. Stay for a night, stay for a year or anywhere in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Allawah Bendigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing