We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horendous!!!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bendigo Gateway Motel
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horendous!!!!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arrived at the Gateway for a weekend away in Bendigo!!!

Didnt expect much from those terrible brown pictures, BUT THE WHOLE TOWN WAS BOOKED OUT!!!!

The room smelt as it was a smokers room, didnt have room service really, was really bright with the lights outside, me and hubby had to get that 70's blanket out to use it as a curtain as the blindes were damaged to the left side of the main bed!!

The shower head splashed everywhere on the ceiling, tiles and outside the shower, we told the care taker or the owner and he said just put a FACE WASHER OVER IT LMAO!!!

I couldnt find a hairdryer. I gave the owner a call and he said it should be were the taoster is!! toaster and hair right!!!!!! Anyway turns out it was stolen he assumed!!1 didnt suprise me the area wasnt the best aswell!!

Finally the bed!!!! the inner bathroom side I took and you might of gussed it, TERRIBLY SUNKEN IN!!!!!!!! the bed covers very much 80's The toilet was clean.

WAS NOISY FROM THE NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOURS! WALLS ARE HOLLOW!!

Room Tip: Drive away!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

As below, dusty, dirty, noisey, carparking was out on a side street. Dog barked all night, no cold water (as owner said, waterlines underneath roofing iron and heats with sun) shower to fill kettle and after entering the dark, smelly room I thought I would let some sun in and the blind fell off the window.
Best bit of all! Left room for 2 hours to find owner had entered room and turned off aircon! Thanks a bunch mate!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmadeelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bendigo hotels

Monbulk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This place was a disgrace. The place was filthy. We thought the large windows in the unit were frosted but they were just filthy. The window ledges behind the venetian blinds were thick with dead blowflies and dirt. the venetian blinds were broken and couldn't be closed. The only way to fill the kettle was by holding it under the shower rose, it wouldn't fit under the sink tap. Two lights didn't work. The owner's dog barked incessantly and the owner was disinclined to do anything about it. The interjoining walls between the units weren't soundproof, we could hear people in the next room urinating in their toilet. This is the motel from hell!

Room Tip: You would be better off sleeping in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonMonbulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Accommodation in Eaglehawk is relatively scarce but we spent 2 nights recently at the Gateway Motel as we were attending a function in Eaglehawk on the Saturday evening.

Upon arrival we were greeted in a friendly manner and given our room key, no problem.

The room was adequate for our needs but showing signs of age and could do with some TLC. Because the walls were thin it was easy to hear what was being said next door - particularly if voices were raised - but I guess that is typical of a lot of older motels. We both agreed that the QS bed was very comfortable and clean but it is not a non smoking motel so its hard to mask the odour of cigarettes. The settee in the room could have actually done with a clean to remove a few obvious stains.

It was very convenient to have the town shops within easy walking distance - a big plus for the motel.

If you want a comfortable bed and reasonably priced accommodation that is quite close to town then this would suit your needs.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms - no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tembomamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Accommodation was scarse in Bendigo and this was the last room available in the whole town. Any wonder!! $120.00 for a twin share, we thought because of the high price this wont be too bad. Apon arrival the carpet looked badly worn, stained and not vaccumed. There were dead flies and insects on the window sill. Bandaids stuck to the front door, blood smeared on the bathroom door. The basin was covered with hair. Mouldy showed curtains. I wiped over the benches with a anti bacterial wipe as to put some baby things onto and the wipe was black from grime...Also cobwebs hanging from the ceiling everwhere and to top it off white tail spiders....not very good when you have a 3 month old baby in the room. We felt like just driving home 3 hours and not worrying about the good money we had paid for this horrid room. On a possitive note the beds were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkin_soup57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,974 reviews
391 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

While the motel itself was satisfactory, a noisy female in the room next door meant that I had to summon the proprietor at 0100 in the wee small hours to quieten her down.

The proprietor appeared to be on first name terms with the noisy guest.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Noise from next door guest
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bendigo
3.6 mi away
Welcome Stranger Motel
Welcome Stranger Motel
#18 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandhurst Motor Inn Bendigo
2.5 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eaglehawk Motel
Eaglehawk Motel
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Heritage Bendigo
The Heritage Bendigo
#6 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Hills Motel
Golden Hills Motel
#21 of 25 in Bendigo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendigo Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendigo Gateway Motel

Property: Bendigo Gateway Motel
Address: 401 Eaglehawk Road, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3556, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Hotel Class:3 star — Bendigo Gateway Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bendigo Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing