We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brodie P
1 review
“Family holiday”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was a lovely place to stay. Kathie was very accommodating, providing us with a high chair and some kids books and toys. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mal2501
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Very comfortable with everything I needed”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Thanks Kathie for making my stay very easy and comfortable. I stayed in both units over the 6 weeks that I was working locally and both units had everything I needed. Great value and location, plenty of space and was a home away from home.
Would definitely stay again whether for work or holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaysanK
1 review
“SO COMFY, CLEAN AND EASY!”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I would 100% stay here again, it was super clean, VERY comfy, plenty of room and really easy to stay in, had everything you need, like a home away from home.

Bed were great, shower was great and it was warm.

The arrangements to get into the property were SUPER EASY and the owner was very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it felt like a home as it had everything one needs.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons14
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location..10 minutes walk to town centre”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Phyl and Mays is in a great location, we recently stayed with our daughter and her 2 young children. Our 3 bedroom accommodation was everything we had expected for our visit. A fresh, modern and bright interior, toys and books for the children, a very secure backyard for the family dog too. Easy walking distance to great cafes for breakfast, and visiting the Art Gallery. I would highly recommend a stay here and would return for any future visits to Ballarat.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Thank you, im really glad you enjoyed your stay, you're welcome back any time, Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would definitely stay again.”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Property was well maintained & in a excellent location. The heating was on when we arrived along with a bottle of wine. Very happy with our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Hi Fiona, thank you for your review, im glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay, kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chua js C
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was the second time that we stayed at PHYLS & MAY UNIT. The first time we stayed there was in Nov/Dec 2015 and we found the place so cosy, clean and comfortable that we opted to stay at PHYLS & MAY UNIT again in June 2016. Kathie is also a very nice, warm and accommodating owner who ensures we had a warm welcome when we came in June: the heater was switched on so we don't feel cold and a bottle of wine was waiting to warm our insides in the cold winter. She also gave us discounts to the Ballarat Wildlife where my boy had so much fun! Kathie also keeps the apartment impeccably clean. The apartment has everything you need away from home and it is a short walk to nearby supermarkets and the city centre, yet it is quiet and safe. We will definitely stay at PHYLS & MAY UNIT when we return to Ballarat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you so much Teresa for staying again with me. i'm so glad you managed to do a few more of the sights in Ballarat. Youre a lovely family and welcome to stay any time, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdmil
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This lovely home - half of a duplex house - was a perfect overnight stay for us when we went to view the exhibitions for the Ballarat International Foto Biennale. Although we had a car to get around, the house is conveniently located within walking distance of the centre of Ballarat. It was comfortably furnished with everything we needed to feel right at home. The other half of the house is also available for rental. To rent both would be ideal for a small family reunion or other group get-together. The only problem was that our stay was too short.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and great value for money.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing