We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
Nearby Hotels
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$87
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ballarat Premier Apartments(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sovereign Hill Hotel(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seymours on Lydiard(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$104
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
48
40
13
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
40
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdip poolgeorge hotellane waylydiard storiginal buildingquiet roomundercover parkingrooms are largedefinitely stay here againoff street parkingmini barexcellent stayone night stayvisit ballarattrevormysteriesnoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 105 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Great place to stay in the middle of beautiful Ballarat, rooms very nice, but what a disapointment with the night club music being heard to 4am...we were told about the night club on arrival, but didn't think it was going to be so loud...Breakfast far to expensive
went to resturant Nibble and natter had a great breakfast for $12....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeceeVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed one night and found the queen bed awful - sagging and totally uncomfortable for a single person let alone two. My partner moved to the single bed at about 2 am with a sore back. I also hate the use of synthetic blankets that feel like foam rubber. They make you feel so hot and sweaty. Can't believe a four star place in Ballarat would not be into pure wool blankets. Puts me off ever using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caravanaddict, Owner at Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2010

Firstly we appreciate the feed back. We have now found that the steel frame of quite expensive beds (which are only 2 years old) have not sufficient bracing in the middle section and have slightly dipped. All beds are being retificied and strengthend this week. Re: the velour blankets we chose these not on a cost basis as they are more expesive than wool. Our supplier recommended them as superior to wool (which we have always used in past motels we have owned) indicating that thay were lighter but superior in warmth. We were also aware that most 5 star properties do ue this type for the above reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We decided to take a spontaneous trip to Ballarat and find accomodation when we got there. By absolute fluke this was the first place we phoned and they had availabilty so we stayed there. They have recently renovated and it looks very classy. The rooms are very elegant, and comfortable and are plush without being over-the-top. Even in the standard rooms, they seem to have thought of every detail and the service was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again and happily recommend it to others.

Its in great proximity to cinemas and restaurants and is in a beautiful street of heritage buildings.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussietraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Anywhere else and this hotel would shine! It's great, the building is superb, the renovation is top class, the rooms are large, clean and fitted as well as anywhere we've seen. The parking, although a bit of adventure to find is almost as close to your rooms as a motel and very well set up - other than our door keys not opening the gate and constantly having to press the intercom bell instead to gain access.

There were only a couple of things that let this place down in my esteem.

1) The queen bed was not supportive enough and I found that I had to sleep near the edge to stop rolling into the centre.
2) The George is 2 doors up and the nightclub was clearly to be heard doof-doofing from 1am until 4:30am (funnily enough we didn't hear it before 1am?)
3) The breakfast is overly expensive. For 2 adults and 1 child for what we consider a fairly normal breakfast was going to set us back $60...it did smell really good as I walked past a platter being delivered as we headed out to find something cheaper...but $15 is my limit and it has to be a sit-down in a restaurant affair for that money. Usually when you pay over $200 a night for a room - the breakfast is usually included I find.

But I must say, the staff here are number one. You wont find better.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank backpaqer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This hotel is beautiful. The brilliant rejuvenation of this old building makes it second to none. The decor is elegant and stunning! Their high class staff are so polite and happy to be at work!
The Wine Bar is a must - the tapas menu will not disappoint, everyone will be able to find something they love. You will be able to tell that each dish is carefully prepared. You will also notice the effort that has gone into choosing their wine list.
I will be a return guest for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tanyamcalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews