We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican in town”
Review of zaragosa

zaragosa
Ranked #211 of 313 Restaurants in Ballarat
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican in town”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Lovely Mexican and Spanish food.The Fajitas are as good as you can get and the Spanish Potato dish is a specialty (forgot the correct name).
The indoor courtyard area is nice and sedate but the bar area is a bit noisy for the old guys.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Peter631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Probably the worst customer service i have ever experienced, in front of my closest friends and family left me feeling embarrassed. Zaragosa was a place for me and my friends to go every few weeks to catch up, but after the shocking service we are definitely not returning here again! Absolutely disgusted. To add to it, candles weren't lit, we were forced to sit crowded next to others and tables weren't even wiped. On the other side the food was nice and enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrentonMorvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a good find - thanks to tripadvisor”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The food was really enjoyable. The Turkish delight special was fantastic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GB_Perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Wow! Zaragosa ballarat is simply the best! The service was absolutely brilliant the waitresses were friendly and chatty and assisted in every way possible! The food was delicious! You couldn't go past the tapas and the variety of drinks made choosing one very very hard! Margarita!!! I read the previous comment which talks about food handling... And I can tell you most restaurants you go to don't wear gloves. Wearing a glove dosent stop germs. I thought Zaragosa was very clean and the chefs whom I did see looked very tidy and hygienic ... Zaragosa sets the standard ballarat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was good, but....”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I visited with my husband and sister when visiting Ballarat on Saturday February 18th. We were sat at a table near the bar and I have a birds eye view of the preparation area of the kitchen. I saw Chef John touching food with his hands, TWICE. The first time he scooped food from a metal mixing bowl onto a plate using his ungloved hand. If that wasn't enough he picked up some onion that was trailing out of an entree bowl and put it back into the plate, this plate was sitting underneath the warming light and this happened to be MINE. My guests did not want me to make a fuss there and then so I said that I would put it on trip advisor seeing as though this is where we got the recommendation to go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed zaragosa also viewed

 
Ballarat, Victoria
Ballarat, Victoria
 

Been to zaragosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing