We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of the rooms - excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Lovely big rooms, really well-appointed for the price. I stayed in a King Spa room - the spa was an older style but fine. Very good value for money. Is in a quiet area over 2km out of the main part of Ballarat, so you will need a car unless you're happy to put in a lot of walking - Ballarat is quite a big city.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Causten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 639 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed one night only en route to holiday. Arrived very late, but nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. The room was clean, tidy and excellent value. Walking distance to Sovereign Hill. A real bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I have stayed in quite a few motels in my time and I have to say this is one of the best. Unbelievable value! A modern motel opposite Sovereign Hill and about 2 kms from the heart of town, this little gem is well worth every penny.

The Good: Everything. Large rooms, very modern, big comfortable bed, Foxtel, amazing bathroom that puts a lot of the fancy 4 and 5 star hotels to shame. Friendly service, close to some major tourist attractions. The price!

The Bad: I had a room close to the road so I guess that traffic noise could be classed as a negative, albeit minor. Perhaps the distance to the town centre, but being a motel, I assume a quick drive is not a concern to most.

I was very impressed with this motel, especially for the price. The room was better than the Hilton I stayed in the following night. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone going to Ballarat.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveInWestOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We went to stay at this place early September 2010 in a King Spa Suite. The owner who greeted us at the reception and checked us in was really friendly and nice. Definitely one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at! The rate we paid was AUD129 per night.

Looks very simple and humble on the outside when you drove in but as soon as you walked into the room, you are absolutely wow-ed!! The room was extremely new, clean and trendy! Every piece of the furnitures in that room is in immaculate condition, even the kettle! They also have adjustable lights in the bedroom. We had a jacuzzi in our bathroom which was very very amazing! Weather was a bit cold when we were there so the jacuzzi was just perfect after a long day of tour! The bed was so comfortable, as well as the pillows. The bathroom was so clean and white. Has all necessary vanity items there (shower cap, bubble bath, shampoo, conditioner, etc.). The room was cleaned every day and I am very very impressed with their cleaning standard! They even wrapped the cutleries in hygienic packs!! Light breakfast was included in the room rate everyday, which I found great because otherwise we had to drove around to find food in the morning which wouldn't be convenient. Not too far from supermarket, took us about 15-20 minutes to drive there with our rental car.

I have to be honest, I was a bit skeptical when I looked at the outside of the hotel, it wasn't horrible but it was very simple and I didn't expect this sort of facilities at all! But the saying is right: Don't judge the book by its cover!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights and found it to well presented, spacious and a functional layout. Staff friendly enough - don't be put off by the phone ringing everytime you go into reception; it's their doorbell!

Some noise transference between rooms such as loud TVs, water usage and loud conversations, but tolerable.

Close to a couple of dining choices - we went to zagames which is a bistro style family restaurant and 250m down the road. Next door is a petrol station if you need snacks.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moxnat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The location was good, being very close to Sovereign Hill.

It was a nice hotel - very nice bath and good value if you have kids, as it has extra room.
In off season the owner might give you a discounted rate if you ask.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed here overnight in July with my wife. We were in Ballarat to see a specialist and needed somewhere to lay our heads for the night.
We were both amazed, when we opened the door to see a stylish, extremely modern and immaculately clean, good-sized room with a huge bathroom, comfortable king size bed and flat screen (with free cable) tv. For the cost (we paid $105 Australian - possibly was on special?) it was fantastic and as good as other far more expensive hotels we have stayed at (e.g Hilton, Mercure, Medina).
We had the room set back from the road, so traffic noise was not an issue, had a great nights sleep and vowed that we would be back!
Phenomenal value...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerleitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballarat
0.1 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ballarat
701 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#4 of 33 in Ballarat
221 reviews
9.3 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#6 of 33 in Ballarat
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites

Address: 525 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ballarat
#2 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#3 Family Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: $98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Ballarat motel, only 100m from the renowned attraction of Sovereign Hill and close to the town centre of Ballarat. Welcome to the Best Western Ballarat Suites, close to Ballarat Wildlife Park, the Eureka Centre, Lake Wendouree and the Botanical Gardens. Guests staying at this Ballarat motel will also be close to the local golf course, shopping centre and restaurants. BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites is newly built and provides luxurious four-star accommodation. All rooms are non-smoking and some have separate living rooms and bedrooms with king beds and spa bath, FOXTEL, in-room movies and high speed free wifi. For friendly and knowledgeable staff and a convenient location in Ballarat, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ballarat
Ballarat Best Western
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing