We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ballarat Suites is situated on Main Rd, Ballarat, virtually opposite Sovereign Hill and the Gold Museum in Ballarat, and about 3 kilometres fron the Eureka Stockade Interactive Museum in Ballarat East. I stayed in the King Spa room, comprising of a kitchenette/lounge room and seperate bedroom. By definition the King Spa room provided a great King size bed, comfy and firm and a plunge spa in the bathroom. In fact the spa is so big that my conscience wouldn't allow me to use it..since the world has become more aware of water usage etc., it just seemed like an unnecessary decandence. The bathroom also spacious, provides a shower that I was more than happy to utilise.
Nearby to the property there are fish & chips, chinese food, coffee shop and Zagame's Hotel, a bit further down the road, about a kilometre, is the red Lion Hotel. Both pubs have food, beer (of course), pokies and a TAB.
Only negative, Ballarat Suites is about 3 kilometres from the Ballarat CBD, definately Taxi distance if you're going out for a couple of sips!!
My room was one of the older rooms on the property, nicely refurbished, clean and comfortable, I'd have no hesitation in recommeding this hotel to anyone wish to visit Ballarat

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanMac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 640 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would have given this motel a higher rating, but was let down by the fact that my booking included a complementary light breakfast, but I was told in the morning that I had arrived too late (around 7:30pm, and the owners were preoccupied with a TV program) to organise this. In retrospect, perhaps they could have offered me some money back for the breakfast component of the booking.

Room Tip: The lady at reception said the first-floor rooms were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catdon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Pros:
Modern rooms
Good views
Great service
Very close to Sovereign Hill, The Gold Museum, restaurants/pubs and servos.
Very good air con/heating

Cons
The king size mattress was made up of two single beds which made it uncomfortable where the beds joined together.
A lounge was needed instead of two single chairs.
The fridge became dangerously hot as there wasnt enough ventilation in the cupboard.
The walls made very loud noises when it was windy, which resulted in many nights of disrupted sleep.
A bug was found in the bed one night, as well as many strands of hair stuck to the quilt as there was no quilt cover.
Shower was spacious, although the shower head needs to be placed at the long end of the shower as this will prevent water from spraying out all over the bathroom floor. The shower head also needed to be placed higher as those taller people have to bend to fit under the shower head.

Overall, the Best Western was an appealing place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emilylouise18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed overnight 18 July. What a treat! We would have stayed longer, except that the weather was terrible. The room, or should I say suite, was fantastic. Modern and spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated. Very friendly reception, which means a lot after a long day of driving. The best on our driving tour of Victoria. Zest restaurant, in walking distance, is a great place to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmr1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Had no booking and managed to get an interconnecting bedroom, since there were 5 of us. Got a rollaway. Friendly staff. Have stayed here before and will stay again. Clean and modern rooms. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We Stayed overnight in this wonderful room in January, is was extremely comfortable, the staff were very friendly, there was free Wifi, the amenities in the room were by far the best I have experienced when stating at a motel, after a long day at Sovereign Hill it was perfect.

Room Tip: Room was very clean and the staff were very friendly loved it would go back again and again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here with the family for a weekend away in Ballarat, we paid $190 per room for 3 rooms by booking direct with the hotel, only to find out later that we could have got the same 4.5 star rooms via the Best Western website for only $140! No hotel in Ballarat is worth paying any more than that. The hotel was fairly new, the rooms all clean and tidy, bathrooms were spotless and modern. I would happily stay there again, but wouldn't pay any more than $140.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballarat
0.1 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ballarat
702 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#4 of 33 in Ballarat
221 reviews
9.3 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#6 of 33 in Ballarat
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites

Address: 525 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ballarat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
#2 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#3 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: $97 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Ballarat motel, only 100m from the renowned attraction of Sovereign Hill and close to the town centre of Ballarat. Welcome to the Best Western Ballarat Suites, close to Ballarat Wildlife Park, the Eureka Centre, Lake Wendouree and the Botanical Gardens. Guests staying at this Ballarat motel will also be close to the local golf course, shopping centre and restaurants. BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites is newly built and provides luxurious four-star accommodation. All rooms are non-smoking and some have separate living rooms and bedrooms with king beds and spa bath, FOXTEL, in-room movies and high speed free wifi. For friendly and knowledgeable staff and a convenient location in Ballarat, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ballarat
Ballarat Best Western
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing