We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new place to stay in Ballarat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our new place to stay in Ballarat.”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Travelled with my wife and 2 yr old son on a spur of the moment holiday - booked direct with hotel. Stayed in a twin share room for 4 nights. From the outside the hotel, as others have commented, its not that attractive and having read the reviews regarding the darkness of the rooms I was a tad concerned. The intent of this holiday was to spend time in a town which my wife and I enjoy visiting but also just tune out & relax in the hotel room. This objective was admirably met by the Comfort Inn & Suites.

Our room had two queen size beds, a generous cupboard, bar fridge, desk, flatscreen tv, two chairs, a table and the ensuite. Nonetheless we did not feel crowded or cramped, there was still room to move and we never felt crowded. The ensuite had enough room for all 3 of us at the same time if the 2 yr old insisted on making cleaning his teeth a family activity! The furnishings were very comfortable, both beds/mattresses were firm but comfortable. The bar fridge was a slightly bigger one that I've encountered for similar hotel rooms, we were able to store upto 4 1.25 litre softdrink bottles plus other liquids and food stuffs in it comfortably. Usual tea/coffee facilities - large kettle - 8 cups? - and a microwave (which was a nice touch but one we didn't use). One thing that we appreciated was excess of pillows our room was provided with - enough to prop yourself up while watching tv or reading and plenty left over to place on the floor in case the young gentleman rolled over the blocking pillow and ended up on the floor while sleeping (if you weren't paying attention).

As far as the lighting in the room went, our room's windows were east facing so received plenty of sun in the morning but yes if you didn't have the lights on by the afternoon it could be dark. However the lighting was not obtrusive either, there was no central 'main' light instead there were 3 wall mounted lights and two bedside lights - all individually controlled, rarely did we have more than 2 or 3 lights on at any one time in the late afternoon or evening. I did walk past several open rooms during our stay and would suggest that a lack of natural light could be an issue particularly for the ground floor rooms regardless of aspect...

The hotel is located on Bakery Hill just over the road from a range of restaurants, including McDonalds, Nandos and numerous others. Its a 10 minute walk (family-speed) maximum to Lydiard St (the center? of the Ballarat CBD), same, if not less to Supermarkets and it has off street parking. So its location is great, apart from visits to Sovereign Hill and Lake Wendouree we left the car behind and walked.

Suprisingly for a place of this size (21 rooms?) it does run to a indoor, heated pool. We tried it twice, first time it wasn't heated - but they just had the pool person in looking at that and was taking some time to warm up. Second time it was fine for a brief dip, I thought it was nice and warm, my wife thought it was still too cool and my son loved it!

The service received was very good. We arrived early and were able to check in immediately. I had a timing issue of paying for the stay in full and they accomodated me in a friendly manner. At one stage during our stay my wife was juggling a stroller and the 2 yr old and a staff member appeared out of nowhere to assist. Room was cleaned very well each day, until the final day we always had more towels than we actually needed, toiletries were provided & replenished daily (a hit and miss affair in some places I've stayed)

While the hotel offers breakfast and a limited range of meals we never bothered to access due its location to so many other eating facilities.

The main cons would be the exterior appearance (a bit drab), lack of any view - (we had a view of a camping gear carpark and the property backs onto a wasteland used for parking by other tenants) and access to natural light but these are subjective and the importance depends on your reasons for staying. As a recreational base for exploring Ballarat and its environs then this is pretty good.

We've previously stayed, several times, at the Mid-City at Ballarat which also has a great location and offers a conveniant buffet breakfast however for a few dollars more the Comfort Inn & Suites provides a much more comfortable and friendly stay. My wife and myself were impressed and satisfied with our rooms amenities and enjoyed our comfortable stay. Will try for this Hotel on our next stay in Ballarat.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms if natural light is a concern for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonGov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear LeonGov,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wondeful review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback.

I am glad to hear you found our facitlies and service satisfying, we strive to provide our customers with optimal service and make their time with us as smooth and relaxing as possible.

The front of the property is in need of a spruce and I am looking into brightening it up with some beautiful bold plants to give it a more welcoming feel.

Thank you again for your review, I have passed on your kind words to all staff and I hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    64
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
61
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We found the staff wonderful and very helpful. The motel looked like a converted block of 60's units with covered external stairs. This concerned me as my mother is elderly and there were several trip hazards associated with them. The room was clean and recently refurbished, but lacked character and at $200 a night we expected something more.(Especially after all the good reviews).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.
I have since passed on your kind words to all the staff and I am happy to hear that you had such positive encounters with our staff.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the exterior of the property, the property is in accordance with the theme of historical Ballarat and Bakery Hill however it does have a modern edge. The weekend you came across our property was a peak weekend therefore rates were applied to match surrounding properties.
Thank you again for your review, I am sorry you decided not to stay at our property so you could provide a more accurate review as I am sure you would of had a relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was my favorite place to stay on my road trip with my boyfriend for finishing year 12 and not wanting to go to schoolies.
The staff were friendly and very helpful with finding fuel for me :P, a nice young family. The receptionist was polite.
The room was clean and very well furnished. I was so glad we were there for two nights.
I would love to go there again ^.^!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spannahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Spannahhh,

Thank you very much for your incredibly kind comments and feedback.

I am so pleased your stay with us was enjoyable and your wonderful experience has prompted you to post the feedback.

Yes, our staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble for our guests. We believe we have the best staff in Ballarat, so thank you for acknowledging this.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Our official check in time was after 14.00 but when we arrived early at 11.30, a room was quickly found for us. We stayed on the second floor in a spacious, clean and comfortable room with a good-sized lounge area. The room was decorated to a high standard. There was some traffic noise but this is to be expected in any city centre hotel. The bed was large and comfortable. There was a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, minibar, flat screen TV and airconditioning. We did not make use of the pool but it looked good!
The central location enabled us to walk into the town centre within a few minutes and allowed us to drive to Sovereign hill in a short time.
We would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed 1 night at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Ballarat in November 2011, We had a luxury suite with spa bath. Very large suite, nice modern decor and exceptionally clean. Breakfast to the room was on time and well presented. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would recommend to anyone visiting the lovely city of Ballarat. This is top class accommodation and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Generally we ask for a room away from the laundry or anywhere where there may be noise during the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am completely thrilled by the fantastic review you have given us and am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Here at the Comfort Inn & Suites City Views we pride ourselves on making our guests stays as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. In relation to our breakfasts I am proud to inform you that we source the freshest produce from local suppliers to deliver you delicious meals.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Beds too hard
Folding bed legs legs broken in middle fell to the floor when sat on it
Dining table leg broken and poor condition
Too many tv channels, u have to flip though repeated tuned Chanel's and takes forever
Loo seat broken, won't stay up
Breakfast delivered with no cultlery on 1st day
Location central though
$200 a night better value else where

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopydoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

I was very sorry to read that you had some issues during your stay with us.
As I am sure you can appreciate bedding is incredibley personal preference and unfortunately there is no mattress that suits all sleeping patterns and preferences.
With incidents relating to your breakfast and table legs we welcome all of our guests to bring this to the reception staff's attention as if we aren't informed we cannot ammend the issue.
WIth our property located so centrally it certainly does have a lot of benefits for our travellers.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Spent a night here whilst visiting Sovereign Hill. It's close to the town centre so good for walking around the town, which has retained much of its old character. It's a 5 minute drive to Sovereign Hill.
Plenty of restaurants around. We ordered the room service breakfast which was good.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious but rather dark and gloomy, but no problem for 1 night. Had inverting air conditioner, which we used to heat the room as it was rather cold when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
In relation to our breakfast service we pride ourselves on buying fresh and top quality produce and make everything to order and we are thrilled that you enyoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
0.4 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#10 of 33 in Ballarat
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites City Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites City Views

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Address: 101 Curtis St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
#5 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn & Suites City Views 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites City Views is one of Ballarat's newest contemporary properties located in the heart of the city on Historic Bakery Hill.The Four Star property is perfectly positioned within the central business district across from the Bridge Mall shopping precint and within walking distance to restaurants, hotels, day spas, antique shops, the art gallery, cinema and theatre.Soverign Hill, the Wildlife Park and Lake Wendouree are only a five minute drive away.The beautifully appointed rooms feature all the modern comforts, including wireless broadband internet and free cable T.V.The property also features an indoor heated pool, guest laundry and DVD players for hire.The Comfort Inn & Suites City Views is affordable luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites City Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat
Ballarat Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing