We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Central location, friendly staff”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Our official check in time was after 14.00 but when we arrived early at 11.30, a room was quickly found for us. We stayed on the second floor in a spacious, clean and comfortable room with a good-sized lounge area. The room was decorated to a high standard. There was some traffic noise but this is to be expected in any city centre hotel. The bed was large and comfortable. There was a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, minibar, flat screen TV and airconditioning. We did not make use of the pool but it looked good!
The central location enabled us to walk into the town centre within a few minutes and allowed us to drive to Sovereign hill in a short time.
We would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    63
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
61
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed 1 night at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Ballarat in November 2011, We had a luxury suite with spa bath. Very large suite, nice modern decor and exceptionally clean. Breakfast to the room was on time and well presented. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would recommend to anyone visiting the lovely city of Ballarat. This is top class accommodation and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Generally we ask for a room away from the laundry or anywhere where there may be noise during the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am completely thrilled by the fantastic review you have given us and am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Here at the Comfort Inn & Suites City Views we pride ourselves on making our guests stays as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. In relation to our breakfasts I am proud to inform you that we source the freshest produce from local suppliers to deliver you delicious meals.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Beds too hard
Folding bed legs legs broken in middle fell to the floor when sat on it
Dining table leg broken and poor condition
Too many tv channels, u have to flip though repeated tuned Chanel's and takes forever
Loo seat broken, won't stay up
Breakfast delivered with no cultlery on 1st day
Location central though
$200 a night better value else where

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopydoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

I was very sorry to read that you had some issues during your stay with us.
As I am sure you can appreciate bedding is incredibley personal preference and unfortunately there is no mattress that suits all sleeping patterns and preferences.
With incidents relating to your breakfast and table legs we welcome all of our guests to bring this to the reception staff's attention as if we aren't informed we cannot ammend the issue.
WIth our property located so centrally it certainly does have a lot of benefits for our travellers.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Spent a night here whilst visiting Sovereign Hill. It's close to the town centre so good for walking around the town, which has retained much of its old character. It's a 5 minute drive to Sovereign Hill.
Plenty of restaurants around. We ordered the room service breakfast which was good.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious but rather dark and gloomy, but no problem for 1 night. Had inverting air conditioner, which we used to heat the room as it was rather cold when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
In relation to our breakfast service we pride ourselves on buying fresh and top quality produce and make everything to order and we are thrilled that you enyoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We used this hotel primarily to visit Sovereign Hill (we got discounted tickets). The delux room was large, well furnished, very clean and had a very efficient air-conditioning unit. This was very useful as the Ballarat weather chose to be cold, wet and rainy during our visit and we used the unit to warm up the room!
The hotel is ideally suited to explore Ballarat, a charming city, and it is only a short walk to Soveriegn Hill.
Breakfast was served promptly in our room and was of a very good quality.
The hotel staff were very friendly, very informative and they made us feel very welcome
On the down side, the hotel swimming pool is small and does not have changing rooms; this could be a bit of a problem as you have to walk through the car park to reach it. However, the spa bath was lovely and especially so after spending the day walking around a cold, wet open air museum.
If I were to visit Ballarat again I would cerainly stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Go for a delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your recent visit to Ballarat despite the chilly weather we are often subject to here in Ballarat! We have gained a significant amount of feedback regarding installing a changing room in the pool and we are looking into the idea of installing a beach themed change room.
We hope to see you again in the future and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maffra, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

we have stayed her a number of times now since 2007 we have have nothing but praise for the allways frendly staff and the clean and immaculate rooms the spa is allways ince after a long trip from gippsland.
most certainly will be staying again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your fabulous review we appreciate our customers taking the time to do so!
Being the regular guests you are we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Used this place as a stopover. Rang them whilst wife driving and was very impressed by the response when I asked for a discount. Stayed in a deluxe 2br family room and it was very clean and comfortable. We had paid over $100 more for a room in Melbourne with a similar star rating but this place absolutely crapped on that one. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcjmjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are glad we were able to comfortably accommodate you during your brief visit to Ballarat. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a luxurious experience and are overjoyed that you found our services superior to that of a Melbourne Hotel! We hope you can come to Ballarat again and enjoy our services.
Thanks for the remarkable review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
0.7 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
0.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites City Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites City Views

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Address: 101 Curtis St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
#5 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn & Suites City Views 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites City Views is one of Ballarat's newest contemporary properties located in the heart of the city on Historic Bakery Hill.The Four Star property is perfectly positioned within the central business district across from the Bridge Mall shopping precint and within walking distance to restaurants, hotels, day spas, antique shops, the art gallery, cinema and theatre.Soverign Hill, the Wildlife Park and Lake Wendouree are only a five minute drive away.The beautifully appointed rooms feature all the modern comforts, including wireless broadband internet and free cable T.V.The property also features an indoor heated pool, guest laundry and DVD players for hire.The Comfort Inn & Suites City Views is affordable luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites City Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat
Ballarat Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing